Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Networking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-07-2012, 11:28 PM   #1
varunmehta11
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 59
Exclamation Signal/Coverage Reduced after flashing DD-WRT !

I've flashed DD-WRT v24-sp2(19519) in my Dlink DIR-600 H/W: B2 Wifi Router..
Ever since then I've noticed a reduction in Coverage/Signal strength as compared to the Dlink factory Firmware..
Am i missing some settings in DD-WRT to be made so that the Coverage/Signal strength gets increased atleast upto the earlier level(When i had Dlink firmware) ??
varunmehta11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 03:27 AM   #2
xylem
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: California
Posts: 618
Default

Just a guess, but the default power DD-WRT transmit power setting (TX Power) might be too low or too high to be optimal for the DIR-600 antenna.

More info: http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php...eless_settings
__________________
For you, I wish the best.
xylem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 06:27 AM   #3
varunmehta11
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 59
Question

The Default Transmit Power is 71mW.. Is it too high or low??
By the way, i had replaced the stock 2db antenna with an 8db antennae.. So do i have to change any settings for the new antenna ??

Last edited by varunmehta11; 11-08-2012 at 06:37 AM.
varunmehta11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 09:22 AM   #4
JackMDS
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
JackMDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 26,060
Default

I would not go with more than 71mW. In matter of fact try to reduce to 60mW it might that 71mW generated high Noise and the Signal to Noise Ratio is off.

Changing Antenna does not need special setting.

Otherwise if there is No real reason (i.e., need for special feature) revert back to the stock firmware.


__________________
Jack
Microsoft, MVP - Networking.
JackMDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 10:40 AM   #5
AnonymouseUser
Diamond Member
 
AnonymouseUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 8,329
Default

Try different TX power to see what works best: 28mW, 42mW, 56mW, 70mW, 84mW. You really shouldn't go higher than 84mW unless you know what you're doing as it could overheat and shorten the life of the unit. If there is no noticeable difference between those power settings, set it to 42mW and leave it.

Also be sure you're set to 40MHz Channel Width.
__________________
NSA Homeland Security PRISM Denial of service Malware Trojan Keylogger Cyber Command
2600 Backpack Phishing Rootkit Agro Eco terrorism Conventional weapon
Target Weapons grade Dirty bomb Enriched Nuclear Chemical Biological weapon Black out
Pressure Cooker Grid Power Smart Body scanner Electric Failure Ammonium nitrate Brown Out
Bridge Organized crime National security State emergency Security Breach Threat Standoff
SWAT Screening Virus Environmental Terrorist Dock
AnonymouseUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 11:28 AM   #6
JackMDS
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
JackMDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 26,060
Default

The 84mW max. is more a matter of physical/electronically protecting the device.

Devices that were Not engineered for High Signal output tend to Amp. the noise together with the Signal. Device with (example) 50mW output and low SNR will function better than devices with 84mW (or more) if the the SNR of the higher out put is off.

The average End-Users Wireless is designed and works at about 33-40mW, the sweet spot of many of them End-Users is about 60mW.


__________________
Jack
Microsoft, MVP - Networking.

Last edited by JackMDS; 11-08-2012 at 11:31 AM.
JackMDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 03:50 PM   #7
varunmehta11
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 59
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by JackMDS View Post
I would not go with more than 71mW. In matter of fact try to reduce to 60mW it might that 71mW generated high Noise and the Signal to Noise Ratio is off.

Changing Antenna does not need special setting.

Otherwise if there is No real reason (i.e., need for special feature) revert back to the stock firmware.


I've tried varies Transmit Values ,but still the coverage is lower compared to Dlink Stock Firmware..
The only reason I'm using DD-WRT is that i wanted to create another Guest Wifi Network with restrictions of Download and Upload Bandwidth, which is not possible in Stock Dlink Firmware..
varunmehta11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.