Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > CPUs and Overclocking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-07-2012, 09:38 AM   #1
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 26,113
Default legitreviews.com

I searched for A10-4600M, and was led to a page on legitreviews.com.

Now when I attempt to close the page, it brings up a dialog box asking me if I really want to leave the page. I REALLY DISLIKE those "page trap" dialogs.

IMHO, no legit web site would ever use those. Thus, "Legit"reviews isn't so legit in my book.

http://www.legitreviews.com/article/1931/1/

Edit: MAYBE HACKED. DO NOT CLICK.

Edit: Reported to be fixed?
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec

Last edited by VirtualLarry; 11-07-2012 at 04:04 PM.
VirtualLarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 09:42 AM   #2
inf64
Platinum Member
 
inf64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,064
Default

It's legit. They probably just don't want you to leave without clicking on some ads I guess . Don't worry about it.
__________________
ShintaiDK:"There will be no APU in PS4 and Xbox720."
ShintaiDK:"No quadchannel either.[in Kaveri]"
CHADBOGA:"Because he[OBR] is a great man."
inf64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 09:45 AM   #3
Idontcare
Administrator
Elite Member
 
Idontcare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: 台北市
Posts: 20,492
Default

I think they've been hacked:



^ that is what I get when I go to your link.

I don't know what that toolkit does, but Norton blocked it and I was able to close the page without getting the popup you got. You may be infected since you got the pop-up.
Idontcare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 09:45 AM   #4
Jaydip
Diamond Member
 
Jaydip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3,294
Default

No such issue here
__________________
Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit || i7 4770K @ 4.2 with CM V6-GT || MSI Z87 GD 65||MSI Gaming N780 TF 3GD5/OC GeForce GTX 780|| Corsair Vengeance 16GB 1600 || WD Cavier Black 1TB FAEX X2|| HAF-X || Corsair TX750 V2 ||AL MX 5021E || DELL U2713HM||SideWinder X4||Razer DA
Jaydip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 09:47 AM   #5
inf64
Platinum Member
 
inf64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,064
Default

Wow IDC,good thing I haven't clicked on it :O. My AVG free might have failed for the 1st time,who knows
__________________
ShintaiDK:"There will be no APU in PS4 and Xbox720."
ShintaiDK:"No quadchannel either.[in Kaveri]"
CHADBOGA:"Because he[OBR] is a great man."
inf64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 09:57 AM   #6
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 26,113
Default

Ok, that's a little scary, IDC. I don't run an AV on this box. Is Waterfox 13.0 vulnerable? Flash Player (dunno what version I'm running)?

Any way to know how to check for infection?

http://www.symantec.com/security_res...jsp?asid=24092

Symantec claims you should download and run their "Norton Power Eraser", which I did, and it came up clean, except for "Hosts", but I know I modified my hosts file manually, so that's not a problem.
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec

Last edited by VirtualLarry; 11-07-2012 at 10:05 AM.
VirtualLarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 09:58 AM   #7
ShintaiDK
Lifer
 
ShintaiDK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 11,123
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VirtualLarry View Post
Ok, that's a little scary, IDC. I don't run an AV on this box. Is Waterfox 13.0 vulnerable? Flash Player (dunno what version I'm running)?

Any way to know how to check for infection?
MS Security essentials is free.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Idontcare
Competition is good at driving the pace of innovation, but it is an inefficient mechanism (R&D expenditures summed across a given industry) for generating the innovation.
ShintaiDK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 10:00 AM   #8
Zstream
Platinum Member
 
Zstream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,091
Default

Every now and then I get an ad from Anandtech that takes up the entire page.... *shrug*
Zstream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 10:00 AM   #9
Jaydip
Diamond Member
 
Jaydip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3,294
Default

I find this quite good http://www.malwarebytes.org/
__________________
Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit || i7 4770K @ 4.2 with CM V6-GT || MSI Z87 GD 65||MSI Gaming N780 TF 3GD5/OC GeForce GTX 780|| Corsair Vengeance 16GB 1600 || WD Cavier Black 1TB FAEX X2|| HAF-X || Corsair TX750 V2 ||AL MX 5021E || DELL U2713HM||SideWinder X4||Razer DA
Jaydip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 10:12 AM   #10
thebigbolgna
Diamond Member
 
thebigbolgna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: In da woods
Posts: 5,226
Default

Chrome warns me of malware when I click the link....
__________________
PC: Intel i7-4770k 4.5GHz | MSI Z97-GD65 | MSI 7970 Xfire 1150/1475 | 8GB DDR3-1866 | Yamakasi DS270SE 27" 1440p |
HTPC: Intel i3-4150 | MSI H81 ITX | MSI GTX 760 ITX 2GB | 8GB DDR3-1333 |
Tablets: Galaxy Tab S 8.4 + Dell Venue 11 Pro (i5-4300y | 128GB | 4GB)
Phone: iPhone 5s 64GB
Console: PS4
thebigbolgna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 10:18 AM   #11
Idontcare
Administrator
Elite Member
 
Idontcare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: 台北市
Posts: 20,492
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VirtualLarry View Post
Ok, that's a little scary, IDC. I don't run an AV on this box. Is Waterfox 13.0 vulnerable? Flash Player (dunno what version I'm running)?

Any way to know how to check for infection?

http://www.symantec.com/security_res...jsp?asid=24092

Symantec claims you should download and run their "Norton Power Eraser", which I did, and it came up clean, except for "Hosts", but I know I modified my hosts file manually, so that's not a problem.
You did exactly what I would do (download the free cleaner and give it a go), if it came up clean then I would personally conclude my system was clean.

You will know if it isn't clean if you start getting browser hijacks (redirects).

The other one you could try is superantispyware which a free trial for their pro edition, install that just to give your system a once-over.

When I was visiting some, uh, questionable websites it was able to find stuff that was causing browser hijacks that Norton wasn't able to find. Just sayen Surfing the web is like being in college and it is the weekend, protection is key.
Idontcare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 10:21 AM   #12
AdamK47
Lifer
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 10,797
Default

Whenever I come across one of those dialog prompts I immediately kill the browser process. Any input from a dialog could be inviting trouble.
__________________
Intel Core i7 5960X - Asus Rampage V Extreme - 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 - Four Nvidia GTX 980s in 4-Way SLI - 256GB Samsung 850 Pro SSD - Five 1TB Samsung 840 EVO SSDs in 5TB RAID-0 - 6TB Seagate 7200RPM HDD - Pioneer BDR-206 BD-RW - Corsair Obsidian 750D case - Thermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate cooler - Corsair AX1500i power supply - Razer BlackWidow Ultimate keyboard - CST LaserTRAC 2545W trackball - BenQ BL3200PT monitor - Shure SRH1440 headphones - Windows 8.1 Pro x64
AdamK47 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 10:39 AM   #13
Idontcare
Administrator
Elite Member
 
Idontcare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: 台北市
Posts: 20,492
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamK47 View Post
Whenever I come across one of those dialog prompts I immediately kill the browser process. Any input from a dialog could be inviting trouble.
I'm of the exact same school of thought. Just because the dialogue boxes are labeled "cancel" or "ok" doesn't mean you aren't actually agreeing to "go ahead and install your root-kit, I accept".

The label on the button and the action that comes from clicking the button are not required to be the same, you just hope they are.

Instead, pull open task manager and deep-6 the PID for the browser itself.
Idontcare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 11:20 AM   #14
Majic 7
Senior Member
 
Majic 7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 635
Default

Took a chance on my new install of Widows 8 and clicked on the link. No pop up, no warning from defender or Malwarebytes Pro. I do have every security option except in private browsing ticked. I just had to see if 8 and IE10 does make a difference. Scanned with both Defender and MB Pro and nothing showed up. I finally have something that uses 8 threads, Defender was going over 80% on all threads occasionally, usually about 50%.
__________________
Asus Z97 PRO, 4790K , 16GB Corsair V 1066C9 ram, 160GB G2 + Samsung 830 + WD640, Titan ACX, W8 64, Corsair 600T, Corsair H70, Dell U3011, W8.1 64

Last edited by Majic 7; 11-07-2012 at 11:54 AM.
Majic 7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 11:58 AM   #15
kowalabearhugs
Member
 
kowalabearhugs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 142
Default

I run AdBlocker, Ghostery and NoScript. Pages load much faster and I maintain a lil more privacy. Many popups are javascript based - NoScript simply removes these scripts sans the items in my whitelist. Temporary and permanent whitelisting is available.
__________________
www.mattkowal.net : Heatware
kowalabearhugs is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 03:38 PM   #16
kaos kid
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 63366
Posts: 97
Default

It was an Ad Server exploit. They have deleted the old Ad Server and Database and have installed new. All should be fine now.
__________________
Heat
------------------------------
"at that point, I had the right to remain silent, but not the ability..."

--Ron "Tater Salad" White
kaos kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 03:40 PM   #17
blastingcap
Diamond Member
 
blastingcap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5,870
Default

In the future you guys may want to contact infected sites ASAP alerting them of problems, so fewer people will get infected.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoFox View Post
We had to suffer polygonal boobs for a decade because of selfish corporate reasons.
Main: 3570K + R9 290 + 16GB 1866 + AsRock Extreme4 Z77 + Eyefinity 5760x1080 eIPS
blastingcap is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 03:56 PM   #18
kaos kid
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 63366
Posts: 97
Default

I just ran "virustotal" scan for "LegitReviews.com"and it came up clean 0/31

So feel free to go back and check out the reviews!
__________________
Heat
------------------------------
"at that point, I had the right to remain silent, but not the ability..."

--Ron "Tater Salad" White
kaos kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 05:30 PM   #19
Idontcare
Administrator
Elite Member
 
Idontcare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: 台北市
Posts: 20,492
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VirtualLarry View Post
Edit: Reported to be fixed?
I don't get the norton warning now when I visit their site or your link in the OP. Looks like they fixed it

And hopefully they suffer no long-term effects in terms of negative publicity because of the ad breach, legitreviews is legit Vigilance is key though, this is what being a community is all about, so I'm glad to see it came up for discussion versus no one bothering to warn each other of the situation
Idontcare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 05:38 PM   #20
Aikouka
Lifer
 
Aikouka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 24,644
Default

I recall Anandtech having at least one malevolent ad in its rotation before. Most sites use third party ad rotation services, which appear to not be infallible.
Aikouka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 09:27 PM   #21
podspi
Golden Member
 
podspi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 1,712
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zstream View Post
Every now and then I get an ad from Anandtech that takes up the entire page.... *shrug*

This has been driving me nuts lately. Is there anywhere we can complain about these, since I assume AT isn't serving these on purpose?
podspi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 09:21 AM   #22
ViRGE
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
ViRGE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 30,233
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aikouka View Post
I recall Anandtech having at least one malevolent ad in its rotation before. Most sites use third party ad rotation services, which appear to not be infallible.
AnandTech has had worse than that. They had their ad servers hacked in 2010.
__________________
ViRGE
Team Anandtech: Assimilating a computer near you!
GameStop - An upscale specialized pawnshop that happens to sell new games on the side
Todd the Wraith: On Fruit Bowls - I hope they prove [to be] as delicious as the farmers who grew them
ViRGE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.