Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Consumer Electronics > Mobile Devices & Gadgets

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-19-2012, 03:18 PM   #1
Saint Nick
Lifer
 
Saint Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Land of Ooze
Posts: 17,693
Default Question Regarding "Unlocked" iPhone 4/4S

Hi all. I want to switch to Cricket for my cell phone provider as they offer $55/month unlimited everything with the iPhone 4/4S. Is there a difference between "factory unlocked" and "user unlocked" iPhone 4/4S? If so, would it make any difference when trying to activate that phone on Cricket?
__________________
Be kind; everyone is in the midst of a struggle. | heatware (64-0-0)
Saint Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 03:22 PM   #2
jpeyton
Moderator
SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 25,155
Default

Step 1: Cricket is CDMA, so you'll need a Verizon or Sprint iPhone to start.

Step 2: Get your iPhone flashed over to Cricket's network. Find a reputable Cricket dealer in your area and they'll flash your phone for a fee.

You don't need an unlocked GSM iPhone for Cricket because it isn't compatible with their network.

Personally I would go with Straight Talk's pre-paid $45/month unlimited everything plan instead. $10 less, it runs on AT&T's nationwide post-paid network (which has better coverage and speed than Cricket), and you can use any AT&T locked or unlocked device on it (including iPhones).

www.straighttalksim.com
www.straighttalk.com
jpeyton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 03:27 PM   #3
pm
Super Moderator
Mobile Devices & Gadgets
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 7,216
Default

I agree with everything jpeyton wrote... including the last paragraph.

Usually when people talk about unlocked iPhones, they mean GSM-network compatible unlocked iPhones. You don't want one of those, you want a Verizon/Sprint iPhone which has been flashed to Cricket's network.
pm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 03:36 PM   #4
God Mode
Platinum Member
 
God Mode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,902
Default

What data speed does straight talk have? Is it edge or do they limit speed after 1gb etc? Their site sucks.
God Mode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 03:37 PM   #5
Saint Nick
Lifer
 
Saint Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Land of Ooze
Posts: 17,693
Default

I'm confused now ... should I get a CDMA or a GSM phone for straight talk? Does it matter? Or do both CDMA and GSM have the $45/month deal? I guess I'll go poke around on the sites.
__________________
Be kind; everyone is in the midst of a struggle. | heatware (64-0-0)
Saint Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 03:42 PM   #6
Saint Nick
Lifer
 
Saint Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Land of Ooze
Posts: 17,693
Default

OK ... I think I get the gist of it. Echoing jpeyton...

1) I buy an AT&T compatible (GSM) iPhone 4/4S
2) Go to StraightTalk and port my number from VZW.
3) Profit?

At this point, does having it unlocked even matter?
__________________
Be kind; everyone is in the midst of a struggle. | heatware (64-0-0)
Saint Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 03:42 PM   #7
s44
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8,619
Default

Straight Talk is basically a 2gb cap. Only GSM smartphones will work.
s44 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 03:43 PM   #8
jpeyton
Moderator
SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 25,155
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by God Mode View Post
What data speed does straight talk have? Is it edge or do they limit speed after 1gb etc? Their site sucks.
It's everything but LTE, so that includes HSDPA if your phone supports it. Everything is routed through Straight Talk's proxy, but speeds are typical 3G/pseudo-4G.
jpeyton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 03:44 PM   #9
jpeyton
Moderator
SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 25,155
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Saint Nick View Post
At this point, does having it unlocked even matter?
Nope, it doesn't matter. Just order the AT&T-compatible microSIM from straighttalksim.com and pop it into an AT&T branded phone.
jpeyton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 03:46 PM   #10
Saint Nick
Lifer
 
Saint Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Land of Ooze
Posts: 17,693
Default

Thanks for suggesting StraightTalk too, jpeyton... I never knew about it
__________________
Be kind; everyone is in the midst of a struggle. | heatware (64-0-0)
Saint Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 11:35 AM   #11
Saint Nick
Lifer
 
Saint Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Land of Ooze
Posts: 17,693
Default

Hey guys, I just bought a 4S from a good dude here on AT. I don't need to bring my phone to the store for them to "activate" it, right? I can just order the SIM online??
__________________
Be kind; everyone is in the midst of a struggle. | heatware (64-0-0)
Saint Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 11:37 AM   #12
SAWYER
Lifer
 
SAWYER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 14,606
Default

order a sim and service card
SAWYER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 12:13 PM   #13
ImDonly1
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,144
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Saint Nick View Post
Hey guys, I just bought a 4S from a good dude here on AT. I don't need to bring my phone to the store for them to "activate" it, right? I can just order the SIM online??
Straight Talk doesn't have stores really. They sell their refill cards and phones at walmart, but they don't have real stores for support.
ImDonly1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 01:59 PM   #14
Saint Nick
Lifer
 
Saint Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Land of Ooze
Posts: 17,693
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ImDonly1 View Post
Straight Talk doesn't have stores really. They sell their refill cards and phones at walmart, but they don't have real stores for support.
Right, that's what I meant (bring it to Wal-Mart). I can't buy the SIMs at Wal-Mart?

Edit, no worries now. Just bought the micro SIM and service plan on the site.
__________________
Be kind; everyone is in the midst of a struggle. | heatware (64-0-0)

Last edited by Saint Nick; 11-07-2012 at 02:19 PM.
Saint Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 11:46 PM   #15
ImDonly1
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,144
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Saint Nick View Post
Right, that's what I meant (bring it to Wal-Mart). I can't buy the SIMs at Wal-Mart?

Edit, no worries now. Just bought the micro SIM and service plan on the site.
FYI, you could have used the coupon simsave and got the SIM and a $45 refill for a total of $45. This makes the sim free and only pay $45 for the refill.

Might be a little late now.
ImDonly1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 08:22 AM   #16
Saint Nick
Lifer
 
Saint Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Land of Ooze
Posts: 17,693
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ImDonly1 View Post
FYI, you could have used the coupon simsave and got the SIM and a $45 refill for a total of $45. This makes the sim free and only pay $45 for the refill.

Might be a little late now.
Actually I did use that coupon as I googled for a few before purchasing Cheers Donly
__________________
Be kind; everyone is in the midst of a struggle. | heatware (64-0-0)
Saint Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 09:26 AM   #17
Saint Nick
Lifer
 
Saint Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Land of Ooze
Posts: 17,693
Default

Sounds like I'm going to have to do some trickery to make it work great with Straight Talk. Apparently MMS doesn't work unless the phone is jail broken.
__________________
Be kind; everyone is in the midst of a struggle. | heatware (64-0-0)
Saint Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 06:06 PM   #18
SAWYER
Lifer
 
SAWYER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 14,606
Default

http://wiki.howardforums.com/index.p...ht_Talk_iPhone
SAWYER is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.