Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > PC Gaming

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-06-2012, 01:02 PM   #1
KaOTiK
Lifer
 
KaOTiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: FL
Posts: 10,884
Default 11/06/12 Steam Midweek Madness: Magic The Gathering 2013 50% off, GTA 4 75% off

Magic The Gathering Duels of the Planeswalkers 2013 $4.99 50% off
MtG DotP 2013 expansion DLC $2.49 50% off

Grand Theft Auto 4 Complete Edition $7.49 75% off
GTA 4 $4.99 75% off
GTA 4 Episodes from Liberty City $4.99 75% off
KaOTiK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 01:05 PM   #2
EDUSAN
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,281
Default

not interested

btw... did US change the hour? i was waiting for your post 1 hour ago
EDUSAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 01:07 PM   #3
KaOTiK
Lifer
 
KaOTiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: FL
Posts: 10,884
Default

Yes, we had daylight savings time over the weekend, we fell back an hour.
KaOTiK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 03:29 PM   #4
Dahak
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,692
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaOTiK View Post
Grand Theft Auto 4 Complete Edition $7.49 75% off
GTA 4 $4.99 75% off
GTA 4 Episodes from Liberty City $4.99 75% off
hmm tempting..... steam hurts my wallet
__________________
Why does the Universe go to all the bother of existing? - Stephen Hawking

Procrastination is the art of keeping up with last week.
Dahak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 02:16 AM   #5
Kalmah
Diamond Member
 
Kalmah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,622
Default

I grabbed the GTA4 complete. I'm wondering if I should plug my controller in for this one?
__________________
Jump on my sword now, evil! For I won't be so gentle!
Kalmah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 12:06 PM   #6
mazeroth
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,718
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kalmah View Post
I grabbed the GTA4 complete. I'm wondering if I should plug my controller in for this one?
Hell no! Keyboard and mouse, trust me. The aiming with a keyboard and mouse is an absolute must if you ask me. That's why they have "auto-lock" on consoles because you can't aim for shit.

Be ready for one of the best gaming experiences ever.
__________________
i5 2500k, PNY GTX 770, Shimian 27" IPS 2560x1440

http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=47880
mazeroth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 12:11 PM   #7
Dankk
Diamond Member
 
Dankk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mormonville, Utah
Posts: 5,253
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kalmah View Post
I grabbed the GTA4 complete. I'm wondering if I should plug my controller in for this one?
Keyboard and mouse work perfectly fine in GTA4, unless you really prefer a controller.
__________________
AMD FX-8350 4.2GHz | HIS Radeon iPower IceQ X R9 290X
MSI 990FXA-GD80 (V2) | G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600
Kingston HyperX 120GB SSD | Toshiba DT01ACA200 2TB HD
SeaSonic M12II Bronze 620W PSU

Steam
Dankk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 01:17 PM   #8
Kalmah
Diamond Member
 
Kalmah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,622
Default

Thanks guys. Mouse and keyboard it is.
__________________
Jump on my sword now, evil! For I won't be so gentle!
Kalmah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 07:16 PM   #9
Kalmah
Diamond Member
 
Kalmah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,622
Default

Wow, to play GTA4 I have to be logged into Steam, Games for Windows Live, and Rockstar Social Club all at the same time. I'm not one to complain about stuff like this... but jesus fucking christ.

EDIT: Now on update #2 of games for windows live. I've had to restart the game twice now to install all this crap.

EDIt 2: Games for windows live just stopped responding while updating. I've spent nearly an hour creating accounts, restarting and updating since the game was initially installed. I should have pirated this pos.

I'm sure the game is good but this is ridiculous.
__________________
Jump on my sword now, evil! For I won't be so gentle!

Last edited by Kalmah; 11-07-2012 at 07:21 PM.
Kalmah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 07:24 PM   #10
KaOTiK
Lifer
 
KaOTiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: FL
Posts: 10,884
Default

Ahh the wonders of GFWL
KaOTiK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 09:51 PM   #11
QueBert
Lifer
 
QueBert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 20,210
Default

JEBUS the GTA complete pack is 32 gigs, ughs.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by TridenT View Post
No, no, they exist. I've seen them.

They're not usually like hot-hot, but they're like hit it and quit it able.
QueBert is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 09:54 PM   #12
shortylickens
No Lifer
 
shortylickens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 55,419
Default

That version of Magic kinda sucks. The program works well but the AI is basic and the deck editing is shit.
The Microprose version of magic is superior in gameplay but only works properly under Win98.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommo123 View Post
what? you came from your fathers balls but he didn't stop existing once he dropped his load
shortylickens is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 10:29 PM   #13
Dahak
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,692
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kalmah View Post
Wow, to play GTA4 I have to be logged into Steam, Games for Windows Live, and Rockstar Social Club all at the same time. I'm not one to complain about stuff like this... but jesus fucking christ.

EDIT: Now on update #2 of games for windows live. I've had to restart the game twice now to install all this crap.

EDIt 2: Games for windows live just stopped responding while updating. I've spent nearly an hour creating accounts, restarting and updating since the game was initially installed. I should have pirated this pos.

I'm sure the game is good but this is ridiculous.
if you dont want the headache of gfwl you can use xliveless from here
note i have not personally tried it my self
__________________
Why does the Universe go to all the bother of existing? - Stephen Hawking

Procrastination is the art of keeping up with last week.
Dahak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 12:37 AM   #14
QueBert
Lifer
 
QueBert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 20,210
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kalmah View Post
Wow, to play GTA4 I have to be logged into Steam, Games for Windows Live, and Rockstar Social Club all at the same time. I'm not one to complain about stuff like this... but jesus fucking christ.

EDIT: Now on update #2 of games for windows live. I've had to restart the game twice now to install all this crap.

EDIt 2: Games for windows live just stopped responding while updating. I've spent nearly an hour creating accounts, restarting and updating since the game was initially installed. I should have pirated this pos.

I'm sure the game is good but this is ridiculous.
It could be worse, off and on all day I've tried to play it. Every time I've gotten a failed to contact key server error. Apparently this isn't uncommon with games on sale, all they say is you'll end up getting a key sooner or later. It's always nice to buy a game and be unable to play it.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by TridenT View Post
No, no, they exist. I've seen them.

They're not usually like hot-hot, but they're like hit it and quit it able.

Last edited by QueBert; 11-08-2012 at 12:40 AM.
QueBert is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 01:36 AM   #15
Kalmah
Diamond Member
 
Kalmah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,622
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by QueBert View Post
JEBUS the GTA complete pack is 32 gigs, ughs.
Other than what I've been complaining about, the game is good. Definitely worth the price.
__________________
Jump on my sword now, evil! For I won't be so gentle!
Kalmah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 07:47 AM   #16
Dahak
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,692
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by QueBert View Post
It could be worse, off and on all day I've tried to play it. Every time I've gotten a failed to contact key server error. Apparently this isn't uncommon with games on sale, all they say is you'll end up getting a key sooner or later. It's always nice to buy a game and be unable to play it.
I ran into the cant connect to key server as well, but thats ok for me at the moment. i cant really play until the weekend, but yes it is annoying.
__________________
Why does the Universe go to all the bother of existing? - Stephen Hawking

Procrastination is the art of keeping up with last week.
Dahak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 07:52 AM   #17
shortylickens
No Lifer
 
shortylickens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 55,419
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by QueBert View Post
JEBUS the GTA complete pack is 32 gigs, ughs.
Shogun 2 is 30 gigs.
The demo is 6.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommo123 View Post
what? you came from your fathers balls but he didn't stop existing once he dropped his load
shortylickens is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 05:14 PM   #18
QueBert
Lifer
 
QueBert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 20,210
Default

awesome the key thing has been fixed, now as soon as the game launches it crashes. AHHH Windows 8 how I love you so.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by TridenT View Post
No, no, they exist. I've seen them.

They're not usually like hot-hot, but they're like hit it and quit it able.
QueBert is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 03:31 AM   #19
M0rphz0r
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shortylickens View Post
That version of Magic kinda sucks. The program works well but the AI is basic and the deck editing is shit.
The Microprose version of magic is superior in gameplay but only works properly under Win98.
I actually quite liked the MtG: Duels of the Planeswalkers games, despite their limitations, until I bought the latest expansion; now all the cards/decks I had unlocked have somehow become locked again.
M0rphz0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 11:31 AM   #20
Dahak
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,692
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by QueBert View Post
awesome the key thing has been fixed, now as soon as the game launches it crashes. AHHH Windows 8 how I love you so.
Booo, still get the key server error for me
__________________
Why does the Universe go to all the bother of existing? - Stephen Hawking

Procrastination is the art of keeping up with last week.
Dahak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
grand theft auto 4, magic the gathering, midweek madness, sale, steam

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.