Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Distributed Computing

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-05-2012, 07:15 AM   #1
EagleKeeper
Discussion Club Moderator
Elite Member
 
EagleKeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Bumps west of Denver
Posts: 42,600
Default Rant - World Computing Grid scheduler

Noticed my stats graph had not really changed.

Looked at the running task list

6 tasks currently queued up and running
None less than 150 hrs
One 350 hours.
All have due dates from the 5th to the 10th

Now if a day is 24 hours long (except for this past Sunday) my calculations show that my poor lappy is tied up a minimum of 6 days to 15 days for just the two.

The lappy only has 2 CPU + the GPU.

By turkey day, all six tasks should be completed.
But why would I get handed/accept a 350 hour task that has a due date of the 8th.
__________________
F15 Air Superiority Fighter - Never has one been lost in aerial combat (104 kills)
EagleKeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 08:42 AM   #2
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 25,649
Default

You have six tasks running? But only two cores? Something's not right there.

What subproject are those long WUs from? Most WCG WUs for my 2.7Ghz G630 are around 5-8 hours each.
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec
VirtualLarry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 08:58 AM   #3
EagleKeeper
Discussion Club Moderator
Elite Member
 
EagleKeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Bumps west of Denver
Posts: 42,600
Default

Configuration switches running tasks every 30 minutes.
That has caused 2 "Active" and 2 "Waiting to Run". all 4 have time accrued.
Then there are 2 that are queued up with no time accrued.

Last month I saw a bunch of 45 minute tasks and a few of up to 48 hours.
I enabled the GPU usage as an experiment and now see the extra long times.
__________________
F15 Air Superiority Fighter - Never has one been lost in aerial combat (104 kills)
EagleKeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 12:43 PM   #4
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 25,649
Default

The laptop isn't overheating and throttling, is it?
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec
VirtualLarry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 01:37 PM   #5
EagleKeeper
Discussion Club Moderator
Elite Member
 
EagleKeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Bumps west of Denver
Posts: 42,600
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VirtualLarry View Post
The laptop isn't overheating and throttling, is it?
Will check. At present, it is usually just sitting on the table by the bed; used for 30-45 minutes in evening to respond to stuff that I should not touch at the clients.

AT is acceptable as long as not overused and no NSFW threads
__________________
F15 Air Superiority Fighter - Never has one been lost in aerial combat (104 kills)
EagleKeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 04:07 PM   #6
EagleKeeper
Discussion Club Moderator
Elite Member
 
EagleKeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Bumps west of Denver
Posts: 42,600
Default

no real heat on the lappy


As you can see I have 1000 hours of processing to do by tonight. with only 2 cores
__________________
F15 Air Superiority Fighter - Never has one been lost in aerial combat (104 kills)
EagleKeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 05:48 PM   #7
Rattledagger
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,956
Default

From the screenshot you're running BOINC v6.10.58, together with WCG's GPU-application all the estimates with these old v6-clients can initially get severely screwed-up until enough GPU-tasks has been crunched, so chances are they'll finish much earlier than estimated. For atleast CEP2 you're guaranteed it will finish after 12 hours, since all CEP2-tasks is terminated after 12 hours cpu-time.

Atleast at the time the GPU-application was released, most users running old v6-clients had much too short estimates since GPU was much faster than the original estimate. For you on the other hand the estimates seems to be much longer than initial, indicating your GPU is very weak.
__________________
"I make so many mistakes. But then just think of all the mistakes I don't make, although I might."
Rattledagger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 06:31 PM   #8
EagleKeeper
Discussion Club Moderator
Elite Member
 
EagleKeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Bumps west of Denver
Posts: 42,600
Default

CPU is an AMD E-450 at 1.65GHz
Graphics is an AMD Radeon 6320

I installed this Bionic client back in Jan.
__________________
F15 Air Superiority Fighter - Never has one been lost in aerial combat (104 kills)
EagleKeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 07:17 PM   #9
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 25,649
Default

AMD E-series really isn't worth running GPU tasks on. At the very least, I found that it bogged down the Windows GUI so badly that it made the computer unusable.
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec
VirtualLarry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 10:09 PM   #10
Kiska
Member
 
Kiska's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 135
Default

With the boinc version you are running it tends to miscalculate the run time of the workunits so I recommend you upgrade to a minimum 7.0.28 for more accurate time estimates
Kiska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 07:34 AM   #11
EagleKeeper
Discussion Club Moderator
Elite Member
 
EagleKeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Bumps west of Denver
Posts: 42,600
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VirtualLarry View Post
AMD E-series really isn't worth running GPU tasks on. At the very least, I found that it bogged down the Windows GUI so badly that it made the computer unusable.
This I have found. I go and shut off the GPU option because I could not even get a DVD to play properly. I will shut that option off permanently.

Also will post the task list this evening to see what 24 hrs of clock time is delivering.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kiska View Post
With the boinc version you are running it tends to miscalculate the run time of the workunits so I recommend you upgrade to a minimum 7.0.28 for more accurate time estimates
Will do
__________________
F15 Air Superiority Fighter - Never has one been lost in aerial combat (104 kills)
EagleKeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 05:18 PM   #12
EagleKeeper
Discussion Club Moderator
Elite Member
 
EagleKeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Bumps west of Denver
Posts: 42,600
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kiska View Post
With the boinc version you are running it tends to miscalculate the run time of the workunits so I recommend you upgrade to a minimum 7.0.28 for more accurate time estimates
6.10.58 is what is being presented to me by the BIONIC web site
__________________
F15 Air Superiority Fighter - Never has one been lost in aerial combat (104 kills)
EagleKeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 10:34 PM   #13
Kiska
Member
 
Kiska's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 135
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EagleKeeper View Post
6.10.58 is what is being presented to me by the BIONIC web site
Actually please uninstall and use this install:
64-bit: http://boinc.berkeley.edu/dl/boinc_7...ows_x86_64.exe
32-bit: http://boinc.berkeley.edu/dl/boinc_7...s_intelx86.exe

Last edited by Kiska; 11-06-2012 at 10:35 PM. Reason: quoting wrong
Kiska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 08:26 AM   #14
EagleKeeper
Discussion Club Moderator
Elite Member
 
EagleKeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Bumps west of Denver
Posts: 42,600
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kiska View Post
Now on my list for tonight - will keep everyone posted
__________________
F15 Air Superiority Fighter - Never has one been lost in aerial combat (104 kills)
EagleKeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.