Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Computer Help

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-29-2012, 08:21 PM   #1
dann3312
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 9
Default New build, power comes on but no image on screen

Hi,

I am building my first computer and have got to the stage of booting but when i press the power button the screen shows nothing despite PSU, GPU, CPU cooler fans all spinning.

I have the following installed;

Asrock Z77 Extreme-4
i5-3570k
MSI Gtx 660
8gb (2x4gb) corsair vengeance
Lite-on 128gb ssd (LZT-128)
Antec 620WPSU
Cooler Master Elite 430

i installed everything pressed the power button and the fans started but no display was shown. do i need to put anything on the ssd or do something with the bios? obviously i dont know much about building computers

also the monitor i am using is a phillips 221E and it is connected via DVI to the graphics card

Last edited by dann3312; 10-29-2012 at 08:26 PM.
dann3312 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 08:26 PM   #2
MagnusTheBrewer
Lifer
 
MagnusTheBrewer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 17,152
Default

Do you get a post beep?
Is your monitor plugged into the GPU as opposed to the MB?
Is the aux. power line plugged into the GTX 660?
__________________
"We love you children"
"Oh, yes we do"
"Boiled, Fried and, Barbequed"
MagnusTheBrewer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 08:30 PM   #3
dann3312
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 9
Default

i do not get a post beep but the power LED on the case does come on.
yes plugged into the DVI port of the GPU
What is the aux. power line? i have the 6 pin cable plugged in to the GPU from the PSU

Last edited by dann3312; 10-29-2012 at 08:33 PM.
dann3312 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 08:36 PM   #4
MagnusTheBrewer
Lifer
 
MagnusTheBrewer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 17,152
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dann3312 View Post
i do not get a post beep but the power LED on the case does come on.
yes plugged into the DVI port
What is the aux. power line? i have the 6 pine plugged in from the PSU
Yes, the 6 pin is what I meant. Well, since none of the obvious possibilities are suspect, you need to start at the beginning. Do a minimal install with one stick of ram and no drives attached outside the case. Make sure the one stick of ram is in the correct slot for that configuration. Try to boot. If no joy, try the other stick of ram. Try to boot after the addition of each component.
__________________
"We love you children"
"Oh, yes we do"
"Boiled, Fried and, Barbequed"
MagnusTheBrewer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 08:46 PM   #5
dann3312
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MagnusTheBrewer View Post
Yes, the 6 pin is what I meant. Well, since none of the obvious possibilities are suspect, you need to start at the beginning. Do a minimal install with one stick of ram and no drives attached outside the case. Make sure the one stick of ram is in the correct slot for that configuration. Try to boot. If no joy, try the other stick of ram. Try to boot after the addition of each component.
OK so this time, with one stick of RAM (in the closest slot to the CPU) no SSD, no DVDRW, no GPU, the fans started then stopped and kept repeating this until i held the power button for 5 secs, same for both RAM sticks
dann3312 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 08:49 PM   #6
MagnusTheBrewer
Lifer
 
MagnusTheBrewer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 17,152
Default

Did you take it out of the case?
__________________
"We love you children"
"Oh, yes we do"
"Boiled, Fried and, Barbequed"
MagnusTheBrewer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 09:06 PM   #7
dann3312
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 9
Default

just took it out of case and still nothing, still fans just turning on and off
dann3312 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 09:09 PM   #8
MagnusTheBrewer
Lifer
 
MagnusTheBrewer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 17,152
Default

Well, we're running out of options. Have you tried resetting the CMOS?
__________________
"We love you children"
"Oh, yes we do"
"Boiled, Fried and, Barbequed"
MagnusTheBrewer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 09:11 PM   #9
dann3312
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 9
Default

nope, how do i do that?
dann3312 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 09:23 PM   #10
MagnusTheBrewer
Lifer
 
MagnusTheBrewer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 17,152
Default

Page 13 of your manual shows the jumper in the lower right corner of the MB.
__________________
"We love you children"
"Oh, yes we do"
"Boiled, Fried and, Barbequed"
MagnusTheBrewer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 09:26 PM   #11
MagnusTheBrewer
Lifer
 
MagnusTheBrewer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 17,152
Default

Apparently, there's a reset button on the rear IO. You really need to read the manual before building.
__________________
"We love you children"
"Oh, yes we do"
"Boiled, Fried and, Barbequed"
MagnusTheBrewer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 09:33 PM   #12
dann3312
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 9
Default

haha sorry i feel extremely stupid, but what do i do with that?

thanks for the help so far
dann3312 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 09:35 PM   #13
dann3312
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 9
Default

yeah i have pressed the reset button next to the power button and the clear CMOS button on the rear IO
dann3312 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 09:53 PM   #14
C1
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,571
Default

Try using the VGA port for now to see what happens.
C1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 03:24 AM   #15
dann3312
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 9
Default

OK so I have tried many combinations of RAM and display cords and clearing CMOS. nothing has worked, just went to the asrock website to check compatibility of the RAM

http://www.asrock.com/mb/Intel/Z77%2...e4/?cat=Memory

im using cmz8gx3msa1600c9 and it does not appear to be on the list, is this likely to be the problem?
dann3312 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 06:06 AM   #16
SgtSmokeyMcPot
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6
Default

hey dann okay I had this same problem, but with a different setup. What I realized was the problem was that the graphics card was not getting enough power. Even though the fans and everything spins does not mean It has enough power.
You currently may be connecting the power supply to the card by 20 pin connector. There is a 24 pin connector(hopefully in power supply), which u need to connect to supply it with the extra power. Hope that solves your problem.
SgtSmokeyMcPot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 06:09 AM   #17
Steltek
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,479
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dann3312 View Post
OK so I have tried many combinations of RAM and display cords and clearing CMOS. nothing has worked, just went to the asrock website to check compatibility of the RAM

http://www.asrock.com/mb/Intel/Z77%2...e4/?cat=Memory

im using cmz8gx3msa1600c9 and it does not appear to be on the list, is this likely to be the problem?
It could very well be this. Not only is this module not in the Asrock memory compatibility list, but it also isn't listed as a compatible module in Corsair's own product finder for the Z77 Extreme4.

When you decide to build a system and pick a specific motherboard to build around, always check the memory compatibility list from the motherboard manufacturer before you purchase any memory modules. Or, at least check the memory manufacturer's website as they'll usually have a product wizard to help you screen for compatible modules. The memory manufacturer's compatibility lists aren't always 100% accurate, but it is far better than rolling the dice and just hoping what you bought will work.
Steltek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 04:00 AM   #18
dann3312
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 9
Default

Thanks to everyone who helped, it appeared to be the memory, so got that all fixed, was using it for a few days, was super happy with it, but then just now it switched itself off all of a sudden and wont turn back on.

when i press the power button the psu powers on, and anything connected directly to the psu (a case fan, hdd, optical drive) but nothing else works, no lights on mobo, no fans spinning, nothing. does this sound like a dead mobo?

EDIT: false alarm, somehow the 24pin came unplugged despite not moving the case and both side panels were securely fixed in place (WTF???)

Last edited by dann3312; 11-07-2012 at 04:30 AM.
dann3312 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 07:47 AM   #19
Steltek
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,479
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dann3312 View Post
Thanks to everyone who helped, it appeared to be the memory, so got that all fixed, was using it for a few days, was super happy with it, but then just now it switched itself off all of a sudden and wont turn back on.

when i press the power button the psu powers on, and anything connected directly to the psu (a case fan, hdd, optical drive) but nothing else works, no lights on mobo, no fans spinning, nothing. does this sound like a dead mobo?

EDIT: false alarm, somehow the 24pin came unplugged despite not moving the case and both side panels were securely fixed in place (WTF???)
You likely didn't have it all the way in the socket, and heat expansion from the electrical current probably nudged it out.

However, if you're going to have a problem, that is the kind to have (i.e. simple to diagnose, easy to fix...).
Steltek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.