Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Computer Help

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-11-2012, 10:39 PM   #1
AC0014
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 8
Question Issues after new mobo install

I bought a replacement mobo for my dell xps 8300 on ebay, but as soon as I installed it I began experiencing problems that I never experienced with my old mobo. Stuff like hangs with windows explorer and windows update. The monitor also takes time to get a signal before I get to see the Windows 7 splash screen or pc desktop. Keep in mind everything in the pc is stock except for an updated 775W psu.
I then decided to reinstall windows to see if that would fix anything. It didn't. The problems persist. I ran chkdsk and memtest+ and everything came back with 0 errors. My cpu passed prime95 stressing and my gpu was able to handle furmark burn in. Any help and/or advice would be great. If more info is needed just say the word. Thanks again!!
AC0014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 03:10 AM   #2
fuzzimba
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Default

ya man! i have same problem as yours...any one knows solution for these kind of problems...
fuzzimba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 09:21 AM   #3
denis280
Platinum Member
 
denis280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Shawinigan Québec Canada
Posts: 2,758
Default

What kind of new mobo.
denis280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 11:32 AM   #4
Steltek
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,502
Default

I think that the pertinent question that needs to be asked is, first of all, why exactly did you have to replace your original motherboard? Have you gone back and snugged down all of the cables? Did you do a clean Windows install after replacing the motherboard, or did you just use the prior Windows install?

I'd also recommend downloading a hard disk utility from the manufacturer's website and running a check on the hard drive just to be sure it isn't failing. Also, from an elevated command prompt, run SFC /SCANNOW to see if you have corrupted system files.

Last edited by Steltek; 11-07-2012 at 11:37 AM.
Steltek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.