Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Merchandise and Shopping > Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-06-2012, 08:19 AM   #1
PokerGuy
Diamond Member
 
PokerGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 9,856
Default Warm/Hot: Cyberpower 1200VA UPS - $99 @ Microcenter

I was in need of a good UPS backup for my PC's and found this deal. Not bad at all for $99.

http://www.microcenter.com/product/2...l_Connectivity

$50 less than newegg, $30 less than I've seen it elsewhere. No rebates or any other hassles. The usb and serial connectivity is great, I like that it can gracefully shut things down when power starts getting low.
PokerGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 08:30 AM   #2
kleinkinstein
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Closet
Posts: 823
Default

I've been nothing but impressed with Cyberpower units. Much better built than APC and more software features too. Probably better still would only be a high-end Eaton unit. But man-o-man are those spendy.
kleinkinstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 08:54 AM   #3
PingSpike
Lifer
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 20,351
Default

I'm thinking of getting one for my main rig, already have one for my little server. One thing that really annoys me about UPSes are the annoying loud beeping alarm when the power goes out. On my old cyberpower there didn't seem to be any easy way to disable it, it was loud and annoying and useless, I already knew the power was out anyway....all it did was drive me nuts while I looked for a flashlight.
__________________
Error reading poptart in Drive A: Delete kids y/n?
PingSpike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 09:11 AM   #4
kleinkinstein
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Closet
Posts: 823
Default

Programmable on the new version of the PowerPanel software.
kleinkinstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 10:13 AM   #5
PokerGuy
Diamond Member
 
PokerGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 9,856
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PingSpike View Post
I'm thinking of getting one for my main rig, already have one for my little server. One thing that really annoys me about UPSes are the annoying loud beeping alarm when the power goes out. On my old cyberpower there didn't seem to be any easy way to disable it, it was loud and annoying and useless, I already knew the power was out anyway....all it did was drive me nuts while I looked for a flashlight.
I agree, that incessant beeping is annoying as all hell. Fortunately, there's a setting to disable that alarm now in the power panel.
PokerGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 11:44 AM   #6
qliveur
Diamond Member
 
qliveur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: B.F.E.
Posts: 3,491
Default

Be aware that simulated sine wave UPSes like this one might not be compatible with active-PFC PSUs, which is why CyberPower started producing the PFC line that produces a pure sine wave.

YMMV.
__________________
"Mind your wants, 'cause there's someone that wants your mind." -George Clinton
qliveur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 11:55 AM   #7
mshan
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 7,869
Default

Do any of these Cyberpower units have a low level hum or buzz while operating?

And any major difference vs. the ones with the LCD screen on them?
mshan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 12:45 PM   #8
SunRey
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,264
Default

Thank You!
__________________
SunRey
SunRey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 02:08 PM   #9
PokerGuy
Diamond Member
 
PokerGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 9,856
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mshan View Post
Do any of these Cyberpower units have a low level hum or buzz while operating?

And any major difference vs. the ones with the LCD screen on them?
I don't know if others have a buzz or humm to them, but mine does not. It just pretty much sits there quietly.

I previously had an APC one that had an LCD on it. It's very nice/useful to be able to see the current status, wattage draw, battery status and so forth on the LCD, but I don't think it's worth paying a big premium for. You get all the same information (and a lot more) through the power panel on a PC connected to the device by USB cable.
PokerGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 02:09 PM   #10
PokerGuy
Diamond Member
 
PokerGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 9,856
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SunRey View Post
Thank You!
No problem, I've gotten lots of good deals over the years from here, glad to be able to share a good deal with others.
PokerGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 02:29 PM   #11
hansmuff
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 596
Default

I've been happy with CyberPower. One of the lower-end units, a -500 of some sort, once was completely destroyed due to a nearby lightning strike. Every peripheral connected to it was fine, every peripheral not connected to it got zapped badly. I was quite impressed by that.
hansmuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 06:42 PM   #12
bradley
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 2,897
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by qliveur View Post
Be aware that simulated sine wave UPSes like this one might not be compatible with active-PFC PSUs, which is why CyberPower started producing the PFC line that produces a pure sine wave.

YMMV.
For people affected by Sandy, it also won't be able to power off of a generator. I'm waiting for a good deal on the PFC line, I hope this Black Friday.
bradley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 07:48 PM   #13
qliveur
Diamond Member
 
qliveur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: B.F.E.
Posts: 3,491
Default

I got my CP1000PFCLCD for $99 a couple of years ago.

It hasn't been that cheap since.
__________________
"Mind your wants, 'cause there's someone that wants your mind." -George Clinton
qliveur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 09:04 PM   #14
NAC
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 858
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bradley View Post
For people affected by Sandy, it also won't be able to power off of a generator. I'm waiting for a good deal on the PFC line, I hope this Black Friday.
Really?

I thought that the input frequency is what is important for running one of these off a generator, and if the output waveform is simulated or not only impacts if the computer powersupply would accept it. This model and the cheapest PFC model I looked at both have input frequency of 57Hz - 63Hz.
NAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 12:58 AM   #15
thecoolnessrune
Diamond Member
 
thecoolnessrune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Stoughton, WI
Posts: 8,314
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NAC View Post
Really?

I thought that the input frequency is what is important for running one of these off a generator, and if the output waveform is simulated or not only impacts if the computer powersupply would accept it. This model and the cheapest PFC model I looked at both have input frequency of 57Hz - 63Hz.
Yep, It's the input frequency that matters. Most UPS's (the above included) share the same frequency handling as the output of generators (+/-5% on 60Hz). That being said, the power coming from generators is often very noisy and full of harmonics. That's why most UPS setups that are designed to run off of standby generator are the Online variety instead of Interactive variety. Portable Generators produce some of the worst power quality as far as delivery is concerned, so if this UPS is going to be interacting with a generator often, or integrated into some household Automatic Transfer system, it is worth moving to an Online unit like an Eaton hybrid / online generator or a full house online Generator (like an APC On-Line SmartUPS or Symmetra unit). An online generator separates the input and output entirely by converting the incoming AC to DC and then the DC to a pure sine wave. That way regardless of the type or quality of the power coming in, you can be certain that the power coming out is clean as can be expected.

But all being said, I suppose that's beyond this conversation. Any such units are many many times more than this unit is.

Top protect my plasma television and computer, I bought an APC SMT1500 used for $200. Its line interactive but when the power goes off (once or twice a month) the TV or computer doesn't even notice a hiccup (heck, the power in battery mode is cleaner than in standard mode because of the pure sine wave it generates off battery power.)
__________________
Sabrina Online!
Jay Naylor Illustrations! (Language and some situations NSFW)

I'm for poop.
thecoolnessrune is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 02:43 AM   #16
qliveur
Diamond Member
 
qliveur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: B.F.E.
Posts: 3,491
Default

^Informative post.

The CyberPower PFC line is supposed to be able to run off of a generator, though I don't profess to know as much about this as you do.
__________________
"Mind your wants, 'cause there's someone that wants your mind." -George Clinton
qliveur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 06:27 AM   #17
PingSpike
Lifer
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 20,351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by qliveur View Post
Be aware that simulated sine wave UPSes like this one might not be compatible with active-PFC PSUs, which is why CyberPower started producing the PFC line that produces a pure sine wave.

YMMV.
Hmmm, not sure if mine has this issue or not. I'm pretty sure this is the PSU I'm using:
Enchance ENP-5150GH
http://www.enhanceusa.com/file/72_specification.pdf
__________________
Error reading poptart in Drive A: Delete kids y/n?
PingSpike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 06:34 AM   #18
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 25,618
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PingSpike View Post
Hmmm, not sure if mine has this issue or not. I'm pretty sure this is the PSU I'm using:
Enchance ENP-5150GH
http://www.enhanceusa.com/file/72_specification.pdf
That's what I have in my server, with 10 2TB HDs.

Please let me know if this UPS works for you.
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec
VirtualLarry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 06:47 AM   #19
bradley
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 2,897
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thecoolnessrune View Post

But all being said, I suppose that's beyond this conversation. Any such units are many many times more than this unit is.
Thanks for the information. Feel free to extrapolate. I do speak from experience however, as only my active-PFC worked off of my brother-in-law's generator during a 6-day outage, not his simulated sine-wave unit. Though there could be other factors at work here. I just hope he gives me back my unit, as he seems taken with it.
bradley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 07:44 AM   #20
fleshconsumed
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 3,677
Default

One, generators aside (never owned one), I have never had any problems running simulated wave UPS'es with active PFC power supplies, and even though the web is abuzz with warnings against it, surprisingly, there are very few (I'm almost tempted to say none) first hand accounts of simulated wave UPS'es not working with active PFC. So personally I'm convinced this is just a ploy to upsell you to more expensive pure sine UPS.

Two, isn't 1350VA model $89.99 at Costco? Although call first, availability may vary from store to store.
fleshconsumed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 08:18 AM   #21
jalaram
Lifer
 
jalaram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Toronto, CANADA
Posts: 12,904
Default

Unfortunately, MC is no longer so close to me, so with shipping, it's only $5 less than Amazon.
__________________
Take care,
JC

"My friends call me Keith, but you can call me John."-Keith Moon
Heatware: 2xx-0-0
jalaram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 08:20 AM   #22
Basilisk
Senior Member
 
Basilisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Medford, NJ
Posts: 774
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fleshconsumed View Post
...isn't 1350VA model $89.99 at Costco?
That's not listed on Costco's site, but I do recall some UPS being on their shelf and will check. I suspect that here in Sandy-landfall territory [NJ, DE, NY, CO], UPS's are no more on the shelves this week than generators are.

I've four UPS's around the house (TV[=Monitor], LAN, computer, stereo) so when we lost Power -- 5 minutes after I emailed that "Sandy" was abating and nothing hurt us -- I laughed and turned the TV back on (it always shuts-down during a UPS transition to battery)... and found my ISP (Comcast) had failed along with the Power. Sigh. [Comcast returned after 30 hrs.]

Powering LED light bulbs, the re-purposed UPS's kept lights on wherever I required them for the 40 hour outage.
__________________
Socrates is said to have advised, "By all means marry; if you get a good wife, you'll be happy. If you get a bad one, you'll become a philosopher." ... There's the question of which came first: philosophizing or being ill-tempered. Would being married to a philosopher turn a woman into a shrew?[WotD - Anu Garg]
Basilisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 08:46 AM   #23
bradley
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 2,897
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fleshconsumed View Post
One, generators aside (never owned one), I have never had any problems running simulated wave UPS'es with active PFC power supplies, and even though the web is abuzz with warnings against it, surprisingly, there are very few (I'm almost tempted to say none) first hand accounts of simulated wave UPS'es not working with active PFC. So personally I'm convinced this is just a ploy to upsell you to more expensive pure sine UPS.
I've never owned anything other than a pure sine wave UPS. However you will definitely find documented cases of cheaper square wave (or step sine wave) backups wreaking havoc with active PFC power supplies, in the form of whine/buzz, instability or even making them inoperable. I'd imagine this scenario would be made more probable depening on the voltage of your linesource, whether US or Europe, and the components of the actual power supply itself.

Fluctuations wrought by square waves could also damage (over time) sensitive equipment, including capacitors. Obviously, a pure sine wave backup should measure zero distortion meaning less electrical resistance and power consumption.

Last edited by bradley; 11-07-2012 at 08:59 AM. Reason: Add information
bradley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 09:41 AM   #24
PingSpike
Lifer
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 20,351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VirtualLarry View Post
That's what I have in my server, with 10 2TB HDs.

Please let me know if this UPS works for you.
Well, I was more asking if it would work for me first!

Regardless, I think I'll end up passing on this. Its a good deal but with shipping its pretty expensive when my main PC can get by on something for half as much.
__________________
Error reading poptart in Drive A: Delete kids y/n?
PingSpike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 10:10 AM   #25
PokerGuy
Diamond Member
 
PokerGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 9,856
Default

Some very good information in this thread, thanks guys. This UPS seems to work fine with the two PC's I have hooked up to it. To test it, I just unplugged the power cord to the UPS and the two PC's kept humming along happily for at least 20 mins. I'm sure I'll do more testing, but it seems fine right now.
PokerGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
1200va, cyberpower, ups

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.