Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Video Cards and Graphics

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-06-2012, 12:31 PM   #1
PatrickCah
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 21
Default Crysis 1 performance with GTX 670

Hi,

CPU: i5 2500K
8Gb RAM
GTX 670
Samsung 256GB HD

Performance is not great with the above mentioned card. The settings are all maxed out with 4AA. I have set an aggressive fan profile to prevent the card reaching 70C and down-clocking.
It is the reference EVGA model. I experience stuttering at times and slowdown. I can't monitor the GPU as Precision X doesn't work in 64 bit applications. In the past stuttering occurred when my old card was overheating.
Some people claim that the game is CPU limited or just badly optimised. I get a 50-60 FPS much of the time but the minute action heats up there is slow down.
Anyone else getting similar frame rates or any suggestions how to improve performance?

Many thanks.
PatrickCah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 12:40 PM   #2
DrBoss
Senior Member
 
DrBoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 383
Default

Are you running in DX 10? If so, don't waste you time. It is poorly optimized, as is Crysis in 64bit.

I suggest you run the game in DX 9 and 32bit and make use of this custom config. Great image quality, great performance.

Please note: The memory settings in <SystemBudget> should be tailored to your particular system/gpu

PHP Code:
CRYSIS
DX 9 
ULTRA
v 1.08
_______________________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________________
con_restricted
=0
sys_spec_Full
=4
_________________________________________________
<SystemBudget>________
sys_budget_sysmem
=4096
sys_budget_videomem
=1792
sys_budget_numdrawcalls
=3000
sys_budget_frametime
=50

r_MotionBlurShutterSpeed
=0.04
r_MotionBlurFrameTimeScale
=1
__________________________________________
<Antialiasing&Filtering>_____
r_FSAA
=1
r_FSAA_samples
=8
r_FSAA_quality
=2
r_TexMaxAnisotropy
=0
r_UseEdgeAA
=2
__________________________________________________
<Misc.>______________
e_screenshot_file_format
=jpg
e_screenshot_height
=1200
e_screenshot_quality
=100
e_screenshot_width
=1920
r_displayinfo
=0
r_MultiGPU
=2
r_driver
=DX9
______________________________________________
<ObjectDetails>__________
e_detail_materials_view_dist_xy
=4096
e_detail_materials_view_dist_z
=256
e_lods
=1
e_lod_ratio
=10
e_terrain_occlusion_culling_max_dist
=1000
e_vegetation_sprites_distance_ratio
=1.7
e_view_dist_ratio
=80
e_view_dist_ratio_detail
=60
e_view_dist_ratio_vegetation
=60
sys_flash_curve_tess_error
=1
________________________________________________
<Particles>____________
e_particles_lod
=1
e_particles_max_emitter_draw_screen
=48
e_particles_thread
=1
e_particles_quality
=4
e_max_entity_lights
=20
e_water_ocean_soft_particles
=1
r_UseSoftParticles
=1
_________________________________________________
<Physics>_____________
e_cull_veg_activation
=70
e_foliage_wind_activation_dist
=30
e_phys_ocean_cell
=0.2
es_MaxPhysDist
=100
es_MaxPhysDistInvisible
=25
p_max_MC_iters
=7000
sys_physics_CPU
=1
___________________________________________
<PostProcessingEffects>_____
cl_hitblur
=0
g_battleDust_enable
=1
g_battleRange
=100
r_ColorGrading
=1
r_ColorGradingFilters
=1
r_Coronas
=1
r_DepthOfField
=2
r_Flares
=1
r_MotionBlur
=0
r_sunshafts
=1
r_WaterGodRays
=1
r_UsePom
=1
_____________________________________________
<Shaders&Lighting>________
r_HDRBrightOffset
=8
r_HDRlevel
=0.75
r_HDRRendering
=2
r_SSAO
=1
r_SSAO_amount
=0.4
r_SSAO_blur
=4
r_SSAO_blurriness
=1
r_SSAO_darkening
=1
r_SSAO_quality
=2
r_SSAO_radius
=2
_________________________________________________
<Shadows>_____________
e_shadows_cast_view_dist_ratio
=0.8
e_shadows_from_terrain_in_all_lods
=1
e_shadows_max_texture_size
=1024
e_shadows_on_alpha_blended
=1
e_terrain_ao
=1
r_ShadowBlur
=3
r_ShadowJittering
=2
r_TerrainAO_FadeDist
=3
_________________________________________________
<Textures>____________
r_DetailDistance
=14
r_DynTexMaxSize
=100
r_EnvCMResolution
=2
r_EnvTexResolution
=3
r_EnvTexUpdateInterval
=0.025
r_TexAtlasSize
=2048
r_TexResolution
=0
r_TextureLodDistanceRatio
=0
r_TextureLodMaxLod
=0
r_TexturesFilteringQuality
=0
r_ReflectionsQuality
=3
r_VegetationSpritesTexRes
=128
_____________________________________________
<VolumetricEffects>_______
r_Beams
=3
r_BeamsDistFactor
=0.1
r_BeamsMaxSlices
=250
_______________________________________________
<WaterEffects>__________
e_recursion_view_dist_ratio
=0.15
e_water_ocean_fft
=1
q_ShaderWater
=3
r_WaterCaustics
=1
r_WaterReflections
=1
r_WaterReflectionsMinVisiblePixelsUpdate
=3
r_WaterReflectionsQuality
=3
r_WaterRefractions
=1
r_WaterUpdateDistance
=-1
r_WaterUpdateFactor
=0.01
________________________________________________
<Mountains>____________
e_terrain_lod_ratio
=1
e_terrain_normal_map
=0
e_terrain_texture_lod_ratio
=1
r_TexturesStreaming
=0

  ___          _______     ___    _______   _______
 
|    \  __   |_______ )  /   \  |______   |______
 
|___ / /     |_______ )  \___________________
_______________________________________________________________________
=============================================================== 
__________________
.
.
Intel i7-2600k @4.4ghz (1.27V, offest -.05) |
Thermalright Archon | Shin-Etsu X23-7783D | ASUS Sabertooth P67 B3 | MSI GTX 670 Twin Frozr IV Power Edition | 8gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 | Corsair 850HX | Intel X25-M 160GB | WD Caviar Black 500gb | 2x WD Caviar Black 640gb | Pioneer BDR-206 | HT Omega eClaro 7.1 | Eizo SX2761w | Fractal Design Define XL

Onkyo TX-SR705 | 2x Klipsch RB-81 | 2x Klipsch RB-51 | Klipsch XL-23 | Outlaw Audio LFM-1 EX

Last edited by DrBoss; 11-06-2012 at 01:11 PM.
DrBoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 12:47 PM   #3
Termie
Diamond Member
 
Termie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,832
Default

Does this custom config actually look as good or better than DX10?

I happened to run Crysis 1 for the first time yesterday on my 3770k/670 just to see how it would do (I had uninstalled it long ago), and was surprised that it could not hold 60fps on Very High/4xAA. Definitely lower than a game like BF3.
__________________
Gaming (56W idle): i7-3770K@4.5 | CM Hyper 212+ | Asus Max V Gene | EVGA GTX 780 Ti | 16GB DDR3@1866
Samsung 830 256GB | Corsair PP 256GB | Samsung F4 2TB | Silverstone TJ08B-E | Seasonic X-650 | Dell U2713HM
Bench (42W idle): i7-4770K@4.4 | Asus Gryphon | HD 7870 | 16GB DDR3@1866 | Crucial M4 256GB | Win8.1
Is Windows 8.1 good for gamers? Get The Tech Buyer's Guru take: Windows 7 vs. Windows 8.1 in Games
Upgrading?
Browse the TBG Hot Deals Blog!
Termie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 12:50 PM   #4
DrBoss
Senior Member
 
DrBoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 383
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Termie View Post
Does this custom config actually look as good or better than DX10?

I happened to run Crysis 1 for the first time yesterday on my 3770k/670 just to see how it would do (I had uninstalled it long ago), and was surprised that it could not hold 60fps on Very High/4xAA. Definitely lower than a game like BF3.

Below is a post i made in another thread several months ago, but it is current to this discussion


back to the autoexec commands i posted above.
dx10 very high (defaults)


dx10 ultra (custom autoexec)


the custom conifig boasts
-significantly increased draw distance detail (check out the mountain in the distance)
-increased vegetation/foliage draw distance
-increased object draw distance
-more realistic shadows/lighting
-all the same god rays and particle effect

and 14.9 more FPS in this particular screen

the only thing that is missing is motion blur...

if your looking for higher FPS, that autoexec is the way to get them.
__________________
.
.
Intel i7-2600k @4.4ghz (1.27V, offest -.05) |
Thermalright Archon | Shin-Etsu X23-7783D | ASUS Sabertooth P67 B3 | MSI GTX 670 Twin Frozr IV Power Edition | 8gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 | Corsair 850HX | Intel X25-M 160GB | WD Caviar Black 500gb | 2x WD Caviar Black 640gb | Pioneer BDR-206 | HT Omega eClaro 7.1 | Eizo SX2761w | Fractal Design Define XL

Onkyo TX-SR705 | 2x Klipsch RB-81 | 2x Klipsch RB-51 | Klipsch XL-23 | Outlaw Audio LFM-1 EX
DrBoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 12:53 PM   #5
DrBoss
Senior Member
 
DrBoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 383
Default

The post above was a DX10 comparison between my config and the standard very high settings. The config looks just as good in DX9 and performs better (than DX10)

Contrast in my config is sightly exaggerated for more realistic shadows, which is why the assault rifle looks darker in the 2nd image.

Edit: It is also worth nothing that without DX10 you will not have object motion blur... which i could care less about, but some might want to hold onto that effect.
__________________
.
.
Intel i7-2600k @4.4ghz (1.27V, offest -.05) |
Thermalright Archon | Shin-Etsu X23-7783D | ASUS Sabertooth P67 B3 | MSI GTX 670 Twin Frozr IV Power Edition | 8gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 | Corsair 850HX | Intel X25-M 160GB | WD Caviar Black 500gb | 2x WD Caviar Black 640gb | Pioneer BDR-206 | HT Omega eClaro 7.1 | Eizo SX2761w | Fractal Design Define XL

Onkyo TX-SR705 | 2x Klipsch RB-81 | 2x Klipsch RB-51 | Klipsch XL-23 | Outlaw Audio LFM-1 EX

Last edited by DrBoss; 11-06-2012 at 01:12 PM.
DrBoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 12:59 PM   #6
DrBoss
Senior Member
 
DrBoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 383
Default

I would suggest reading through these threads.
http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?t=2259543
&
http://forums.anandtech.com/showthre...886&highlight=
__________________
.
.
Intel i7-2600k @4.4ghz (1.27V, offest -.05) |
Thermalright Archon | Shin-Etsu X23-7783D | ASUS Sabertooth P67 B3 | MSI GTX 670 Twin Frozr IV Power Edition | 8gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 | Corsair 850HX | Intel X25-M 160GB | WD Caviar Black 500gb | 2x WD Caviar Black 640gb | Pioneer BDR-206 | HT Omega eClaro 7.1 | Eizo SX2761w | Fractal Design Define XL

Onkyo TX-SR705 | 2x Klipsch RB-81 | 2x Klipsch RB-51 | Klipsch XL-23 | Outlaw Audio LFM-1 EX

Last edited by DrBoss; 11-06-2012 at 01:08 PM.
DrBoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 01:23 PM   #7
Majcric
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 515
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PatrickCah View Post
Hi,

CPU: i5 2500K
8Gb RAM
GTX 670
Samsung 256GB HD

Performance is not great with the above mentioned card. The settings are all maxed out with 4AA. I have set an aggressive fan profile to prevent the card reaching 70C and down-clocking.
It is the reference EVGA model. I experience stuttering at times and slowdown. I can't monitor the GPU as Precision X doesn't work in 64 bit applications. In the past stuttering occurred when my old card was overheating.
Some people claim that the game is CPU limited or just badly optimised. I get a 50-60 FPS much of the time but the minute action heats up there is slow down.
Anyone else getting similar frame rates or any suggestions how to improve performance?

Many thanks.
I have similiar performance here. Hanging around 60 fps a lot of times but with intense action it can dip. (it wouldn't suprise me at all to see it dip in the lower 30's maybe even 20's on the last boss fight.)
__________________
N-zero case
Gigabyte P67x
i5 2500k @ stock
EVGA GTX 680 2gb
Corsair vegeance ram 4g
Corsair 650w PSU
WD 320g
Windows 7 64 bit ulimate
Majcric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 01:27 PM   #8
skipsneeky2
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,366
Default

Curious to see how well Crysis will run on my gtx670 and my stock clocked i5 2500 non k.

Run a lower then average resolution of 1440x900,won't doubt it will still drop into the 50's.

Never owned the game,i told myself when the demo can play at 60 fps on very high on a single gpu, i will buy the game and enjoy the fidelity of the graphics and the awesome gameplay.

I remember being blown away when i upgraded my 8800gts 512mb to the gtx280,i went from a average of 11 fps on very high no aa to about 22 at 1080p LOL and was about the last time i took the demo seriously for a while.

Last edited by skipsneeky2; 11-06-2012 at 01:29 PM.
skipsneeky2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 01:49 PM   #9
aaksheytalwar
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3,116
Default

A 670 can max out Crysis no higher than 1680x1050 no AA. Assuming it is oced past 680 performance. Even then you will get slowdowns every now and then. Alternately play at 1080p High no AA.
__________________
3770k @ 4.3 with H100i, Asus Z77 Deluxe, Samsung 30nm 4x4gb ddr3 @ 1866 9-9-9-28 1T, MSI R9 290 Gaming 4G, Coolermaster Silent Pro Hybrid 1300 watts, Crucial M4 512gb, 3x Seagate 7200.14 3TB each
aaksheytalwar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 01:53 PM   #10
Majcric
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 515
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aaksheytalwar View Post
A 670 can max out Crysis no higher than 1680x1050 no AA. Assuming it is oced past 680 performance. Even then you will get slowdowns every now and then. Alternately play at 1080p High no AA.

You're joking, right?
__________________
N-zero case
Gigabyte P67x
i5 2500k @ stock
EVGA GTX 680 2gb
Corsair vegeance ram 4g
Corsair 650w PSU
WD 320g
Windows 7 64 bit ulimate
Majcric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 01:55 PM   #11
aaksheytalwar
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3,116
Default

Nope. I have a 7970 past ghz and I get similar performance.
__________________
3770k @ 4.3 with H100i, Asus Z77 Deluxe, Samsung 30nm 4x4gb ddr3 @ 1866 9-9-9-28 1T, MSI R9 290 Gaming 4G, Coolermaster Silent Pro Hybrid 1300 watts, Crucial M4 512gb, 3x Seagate 7200.14 3TB each
aaksheytalwar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 01:55 PM   #12
DrBoss
Senior Member
 
DrBoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 383
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aaksheytalwar View Post
A 670 can max out Crysis no higher than 1680x1050 no AA. Assuming it is oced past 680 performance. Even then you will get slowdowns every now and then. Alternately play at 1080p High no AA.
With AA turned off, a 670 can certainly play Crysis 1 maxed at 1920x1200

This test was performed with my CPU at 4.4 GHz using a my custom Crysis config @ 1920x1200 with 8x AA
The FPS figure below represent the average FPS over 5 loops.

MSI N670 PowerEdition: Core 1215 MHz | Memory 3005 MHz = 56.575 FPS

Eliminate AA, dump my custom config and use the built in Extreme settings, i bet you are still running around 60 average FPS... which is certainly playable.
__________________
.
.
Intel i7-2600k @4.4ghz (1.27V, offest -.05) |
Thermalright Archon | Shin-Etsu X23-7783D | ASUS Sabertooth P67 B3 | MSI GTX 670 Twin Frozr IV Power Edition | 8gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 | Corsair 850HX | Intel X25-M 160GB | WD Caviar Black 500gb | 2x WD Caviar Black 640gb | Pioneer BDR-206 | HT Omega eClaro 7.1 | Eizo SX2761w | Fractal Design Define XL

Onkyo TX-SR705 | 2x Klipsch RB-81 | 2x Klipsch RB-51 | Klipsch XL-23 | Outlaw Audio LFM-1 EX

Last edited by DrBoss; 11-06-2012 at 02:02 PM.
DrBoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 02:11 PM   #13
Insomniator
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: jersey
Posts: 4,660
Default

Forgetting optimization and how the game actually looks, do we know what exactly the engine is doing that makes todays top cards still choke on it?

Is it rendering way more lights or way more shadows than most engines, even if we can't notice it all?
Insomniator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 02:18 PM   #14
Deders
Senior Member
 
Deders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 705
Default

I've been playing Crysis quite happily on my sig at full detail with 8xAA 16xAF, maybe not 60fps but very playable (@1680). Suprised a 670 doesn't make a difference. Maybe it's because most of Crysis is on a single thread.

Interested to know what I'd have to change apart from the res to make that autoexec fit my computer, I presume the video memory budget would have to be around 1GB?

The one thing I remember looking different when playing Crysis with in DX9 with everything set to Very High was the geometary shaders on the final boss, but that was in XP, can anyone confirm if the boss looks the same this time around?
Deders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 02:27 PM   #15
Termie
Diamond Member
 
Termie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,832
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deders View Post
I've been playing Crysis quite happily on my sig at full detail with 8xAA 16xAF, maybe not 60fps but very playable (@1680). Suprised a 670 doesn't make a difference. Maybe it's because most of Crysis is on a single thread.

Interested to know what I'd have to change apart from the res to make that autoexec fit my computer, I presume the video memory budget would have to be around 1GB?

The one thing I remember looking different when playing Crysis with in DX9 with everything set to Very High was the geometary shaders on the final boss, but that was in XP, can anyone confirm if the boss looks the same this time around?
Welcome to the forums, Deders. Note that you cannot post a sig until you've made a certain number of posts, so it is not showing. List your specs if you'd like a response to your question above.

To the OP - I think you've received sufficient input to see that your performance on a GTX670 is quite normal.
__________________
Gaming (56W idle): i7-3770K@4.5 | CM Hyper 212+ | Asus Max V Gene | EVGA GTX 780 Ti | 16GB DDR3@1866
Samsung 830 256GB | Corsair PP 256GB | Samsung F4 2TB | Silverstone TJ08B-E | Seasonic X-650 | Dell U2713HM
Bench (42W idle): i7-4770K@4.4 | Asus Gryphon | HD 7870 | 16GB DDR3@1866 | Crucial M4 256GB | Win8.1
Is Windows 8.1 good for gamers? Get The Tech Buyer's Guru take: Windows 7 vs. Windows 8.1 in Games
Upgrading?
Browse the TBG Hot Deals Blog!

Last edited by Termie; 11-06-2012 at 04:41 PM.
Termie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 04:39 PM   #16
Deders
Senior Member
 
Deders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 705
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Termie View Post
Welcome to the forums, Deders. Note that you cannot post a sig until you've made a certain number of posts, so it is not showing. List your specs if you're like a response to your question above.

To the OP - I think you've received sufficient input to see that your performance on a GTX670 is quite normal.
Thanks, sorry I assumed I'd entered it weeks ago when I signed up.

This would be my sig if i was allowed one:

i5 750@3800 - MSI P55 GD65 - 4GB OCZ CL7 DDR3@1440 7-7-7-18 - Thermaltake Contac 29 - Be Quiet! Straight Power E9 500W - EVGA 560TI - X-FI Xtreme Gamer - Samsung 830 128GB - Spinpoint F3 1TB - WD Caviar Blue 640 - LG Flatron W2252TQ - Razer Deathadder.

how many posts do I need?
Deders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 05:36 PM   #17
PatrickCah
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 21
Default

Dr Boss,
Thanks a lot. It definitely works better in the 32 bit app.
However, I was unable to get your custom settings to work. I put theautoexec file in the main crysis directory. The settings are not applied in the game though.

Thanks.
PatrickCah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 05:37 PM   #18
Deders
Senior Member
 
Deders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 705
Default

It needs to be in Crysis/Game
Deders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 05:48 PM   #19
Termie
Diamond Member
 
Termie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,832
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deders View Post
Thanks, sorry I assumed I'd entered it weeks ago when I signed up.

This would be my sig if i was allowed one:

i5 750@3800 - MSI P55 GD65 - 4GB OCZ CL7 DDR3@1440 7-7-7-18 - Thermaltake Contac 29 - Be Quiet! Straight Power E9 500W - EVGA 560TI - X-FI Xtreme Gamer - Samsung 830 128GB - Spinpoint F3 1TB - WD Caviar Blue 640 - LG Flatron W2252TQ - Razer Deathadder.

how many posts do I need?
I think it might be either 10 or 20. Others may know for sure.

The thing about Crysis is that it's a very "smooth" engine. If you're playing at 1680x1050, 8xAA, VH, you are probably well below 60fps (maybe 30?). It would still be playable. I played it last night at 1920x1200, 4xAA, VH, and was averaging about 55fps.
__________________
Gaming (56W idle): i7-3770K@4.5 | CM Hyper 212+ | Asus Max V Gene | EVGA GTX 780 Ti | 16GB DDR3@1866
Samsung 830 256GB | Corsair PP 256GB | Samsung F4 2TB | Silverstone TJ08B-E | Seasonic X-650 | Dell U2713HM
Bench (42W idle): i7-4770K@4.4 | Asus Gryphon | HD 7870 | 16GB DDR3@1866 | Crucial M4 256GB | Win8.1
Is Windows 8.1 good for gamers? Get The Tech Buyer's Guru take: Windows 7 vs. Windows 8.1 in Games
Upgrading?
Browse the TBG Hot Deals Blog!
Termie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 06:15 PM   #20
xcal237
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 98
Default

idk about you guys but i played crysis warhead on vhigh 8xaa no problem... does that count or is this only for crysis 1?

edit - i also have a gtx 670
xcal237 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 06:33 PM   #21
Deders
Senior Member
 
Deders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 705
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Termie View Post
I think it might be either 10 or 20. Others may know for sure.

The thing about Crysis is that it's a very "smooth" engine. If you're playing at 1680x1050, 8xAA, VH, you are probably well below 60fps (maybe 30?). It would still be playable. I played it last night at 1920x1200, 4xAA, VH, and was averaging about 55fps.
Just played through the 1st level where the 1st CPU benchmark is played out and averaged at about 40+fps, only went down to about 35 when there was lots of action. THis was with Triple buffering enabled though as without it would lock around 30 if there was any action.

Like you say I'd still count this as playable, and if the op (or anyone) can play through the game with better performance than this it's probably not worth waiting till hardware allows constant 60FPS+.
Deders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 09:52 AM   #22
Pottuvoi
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Insomniator View Post
Forgetting optimization and how the game actually looks, do we know what exactly the engine is doing that makes todays top cards still choke on it?

Is it rendering way more lights or way more shadows than most engines, even if we can't notice it all?
It's using forward rendering to do it and not in an optimal way.
Cryengine 3 is a big leap forward in terms of quality for performance.

It's good to remember that engines are lot more than simply add lights and shadow.
Cryengine2 was over million lines of code, there are many things that can be less than optimal.
Pottuvoi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 11:46 AM   #23
Magic Carpet
Golden Member
 
Magic Carpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,786
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pottuvoi View Post
It's using forward rendering to do it and not in an optimal way.
Cryengine 3 is a big leap forward in terms of quality for performance.

It's good to remember that engines are lot more than simply add lights and shadow.
Cryengine2 was over million lines of code, there are many things that can be less than optimal.
Agreed. Here is a nice article on what has been improved since the original Crysis.
Magic Carpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.