Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Security

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-18-2012, 08:32 AM   #1
Herkulese
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,151
Default Running Bitdefender Total Security 2013 with SuperAntiSpyware - Good or Bad???

I know that the vast majority here seem to hold Kaspersky in much higher regard than Bitdefender, but that is what I have, and that is because when I did my research, I found Bitdefender rated highest in several reviews.

I also have SuperAntiSpyware Pro, and would like to use it with Bitdefender, but am concerned that they may conflict. Many say that SAS is Spyware, and not an AV, so it shouldn't be a problem. I am given to understand that the free version of SAS is on demand only, and hence not an issue, but I want to run the Pro version live.

Will this cause any issues?

Thanks for any and all help,
Herk
Herkulese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 04:33 PM   #2
Slugbait
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 3,626
Default

From http://www.superantispyware.com/
Quote:
Designed not to conflict with your existing anti-spyware or anti-virus solution!
So yeah, you should be fine.
__________________
Yes, I'm going crazy, but at least I'm not going alone...
Slugbait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 09:29 AM   #3
Herkulese
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slugbait View Post
From http://www.superantispyware.com/So yeah, you should be fine.
I checked and as you stated, I should be good to go.

I will go ahead and install the SAS Pro, run it live, and see what happens. It is a small risk, as I have incremental images of my setup that I can go back to if anything gets hosed up. Makes it nice to be able to do a lot of experimenting.

I will try to remember to post back after using it for a week or so. I am old though, so I might forget. LOL
Herkulese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 09:10 AM   #4
Herkulese
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,151
Default

After running BD Total Security 2013 and SAS Live together for a week or so, I have to say that my system became very sluggish, so I reimaged back to just prior to installing SAS Pro, and it was back to running like it is supposed to.

Now I am running BD Total Security 2013 with Malwarebytes Pro - Live, and all seems OK after several days.

I will post back..................
Herkulese is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.