Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Video Cards and Graphics

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-06-2012, 04:56 AM   #51
Olikan
Golden Member
 
Olikan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,826
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boxleitnerb View Post
The trailers look 1000x better than what is in the alpha.
Trailers/tech demos, love to cherry pick high detailed scenes
Olikan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 06:03 AM   #52
aaksheytalwar
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3,137
Default

Comparing 2 6970s to one 7970 ghz isn't too wise. Sure, I would take the 7970 ghz anyday. However, that doesn't mean it is a real upgrade. If you have 2 6900s then you should consider 2 7900s. That is always the case.
__________________
3770k @ 4.3 with H100i, Asus Z77 Deluxe, Samsung 30nm 4x4gb ddr3 @ 1866 9-9-9-28 1T, MSI R9 290 Gaming 4G, Coolermaster Silent Pro Hybrid 1300 watts, Crucial M4 512gb, 3x Seagate 7200.14 3TB each
aaksheytalwar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 06:35 AM   #53
skipsneeky2
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,659
Default

Nice to see a game that maxed out at 1080p is gonna choke at 30fps with the best gpus period,makes the purchase of my gtx670 for my 1440x900 monitor actually not look to bad,its more then likely still gonna run maybe 45fps average,maybe 50 at vhq?

The freaking medium quality benchmarks in the cpu results are using a gtx690 and its just playable,wow.
skipsneeky2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 06:55 AM   #54
Durvelle27
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 4,102
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aaksheytalwar View Post
Comparing 2 6970s to one 7970 ghz isn't too wise. Sure, I would take the 7970 ghz anyday. However, that doesn't mean it is a real upgrade. If you have 2 6900s then you should consider 2 7900s. That is always the case.
2x HD 6970's vs HD 7970 GHZ

http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/515?vs=618
Durvelle27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 07:06 AM   #55
Grooveriding
Diamond Member
 
Grooveriding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto, CA
Posts: 6,362
Default

I have the alpha, needless to say, it is not impressive looking currently. More so when you consider how badly it performs. Maxed out I get about 15-20FPS... It looks just like Crysis 2 (not that great).

Will post some screens. It is an alpha confined to multiplayer, so hopefully the full game delivers. Still is onerous that it looks not all that great and performs just horribly. For context, BF3 looks a hell of a lot better than this game does currently.
__________________
5960X @ 4.5 | X99 Deluxe | 16GB 2600 GSkill DDR4 | 780ti SLI | Evo 500GB Raid 0 | Dell U3011 | EVGA 1300W G2
under custom water
Grooveriding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 07:13 AM   #56
Keysplayr
Elite Member
 
Keysplayr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 19,877
Default

It's only the Alpha folks, don't get too dissappointed. I'm sure optimizations have to be made.
__________________
Member of Nvidia Focus Group
NVIDIA Focus Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time
to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the Members.

i5 2500K Asus P-Z68-V/Gen3 GTX980 SLI
Keysplayr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 07:38 AM   #57
MTDEW
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Central PA
Posts: 4,007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aaksheytalwar View Post
Comparing 2 6970s to one 7970 ghz isn't too wise. Sure, I would take the 7970 ghz anyday. However, that doesn't mean it is a real upgrade. If you have 2 6900s then you should consider 2 7900s. That is always the case.
Actually, that is my point also. (so we're seeing it the same way)
Until a single card can kick the crap outta my two cards, Im not upgrading.
When new titles are released, waiting for x-fire drivers sucks.
That's why i'll never buy a dual gpu card, since you can never turn x-fire/sli off if needed.

Hopefully Keys is right and there are more optimizations to be done and performance will really improve for the beta.

I was another one who was also under the impression that this was going to be a Nvidia TWIMTBP optimized title.
But it does look like AMD is doing a good job with it so far.
Except for the current lack of x-fire support of course.
__________________
Win7 64bit / 2600k @ 4.6ghz / Asus P8Z68-V Pro / 16gb GSkill DDR3 1600 / Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X / Corsair HX850w / Samsung 830 SSD / WD Black HDDs / CM HAF X / YAMAKASI CATLEAP Q270 SE 27" 2560X1440 + Tempered glass
MTDEW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 08:14 AM   #58
boxleitnerb
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,523
Default

Of course you can turn of CF/SLI even on dual gpu cards.
boxleitnerb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 08:35 AM   #59
Insomniator
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: jersey
Posts: 5,147
Default

I don't care if performance improves, I just hope the game looks better than Crysis 2 (which isn't the case right now).

I want to see another jump in graphics like crysis 1, even if it takes me 3 years to get a GPU that can play it!

BTW performance didn't seem that terrible on my GTX560ti 448.
Insomniator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 08:56 AM   #60
Lepton87
Golden Member
 
Lepton87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Poland(EU)
Posts: 1,754
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MTDEW View Post
Actually, that is my point also. (so we're seeing it the same way)
Until a single card can kick the crap outta my two cards, Im not upgrading.
When new titles are released, waiting for x-fire drivers sucks.
.
My sentiments exactly except I have 4 GPUs, I'm in for a long wait it seems.
__________________
5820K stock right now,ASUS ROG Rampage V, 16GB DDR4 2667 4 channels,Noctua NH-D14, Gigabyte GTX Titan SLI, 2x Corsair MX100 256 in Raid 0, 2xSeagate 3TB 7200RPM in RAID 0, Sandforce 2 120GB + 2TB WD Caviar Green, Seagate 1TB 7200RPM, BE Quiet 1200W, dell u2711
Lepton87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 08:57 AM   #61
MTDEW
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Central PA
Posts: 4,007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boxleitnerb View Post
Of course you can turn of CF/SLI even on dual gpu cards.
I mean literally remove one card from the equasion.
Ive seen microstutters in multi card configs that could only be cured by totally removing a card, when just disabling it in CP doesn't fix the issue.
Cant remember if it was sli or x-fire though, ive had so many throughout the yrs. (i think they were 7800GTs)

All i know is, i remember it drove me nuts!
Even if i disabled the x-fire/sli i got worse performance on a single GPU until i physically removed one card.
Anyway, nobody cares about my personal vid card preferences anyway.

So, back OT.
I'm disappointed to read some first hand experience with the game that its not that visually stunning and doesn't even match BF3's visuals.
The vids i've seen made it look terrific.
So are we looking at another one of those deals where the preview footage isn't going to accurately reflect the in-game visuals.

I'm sure Nvidia's performance will greatly improve since this is a big release.
Hopefully we'll see some next gen GPU's early next year that will offer great performance at max settings.
I haven't been reading enough to know any ETAs for new Nvidia or AMD hardware.
__________________
Win7 64bit / 2600k @ 4.6ghz / Asus P8Z68-V Pro / 16gb GSkill DDR3 1600 / Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X / Corsair HX850w / Samsung 830 SSD / WD Black HDDs / CM HAF X / YAMAKASI CATLEAP Q270 SE 27" 2560X1440 + Tempered glass
MTDEW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 08:57 AM   #62
SlowSpyder
Diamond Member
 
SlowSpyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 8,834
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spjut View Post
Ouch, this and the BF3 CPU test really show that AMD's lineup is aging fast(still playable enough though)

I think it shows more how even a midrange CPU is usually enough for a cutting edge game, GPU is generally your limiting factor. I have a Thuban a hair over 4GHz, their stock 1100T can do 50FPS, so I should expect at least that. But at VHQ settings, 1080P my 7970 is well under 30FPS.
__________________
Steve
FX 9370 / 7970 / ASRock 990FX Extreme 9
GO PACKERS!
SlowSpyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 09:09 AM   #63
NUSNA_Moebius
Golden Member
 
NUSNA_Moebius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 1,333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blastingcap View Post
Just because a game runs like crap doesn't mean it looks good. Like Grand Theft Auto's horrific performance on PCs.

For Crysis 3: If you turn down the settings to get 95% of the image quality, do you double your framerate? If so, that just means the max settings are resource hogs.
Most super high end games are like that these days, true enough, but often it's just an AA downgrade that is enough to get you much more acceptable performance. I also wonder if Crytek is over doing the tessellation again a la Crysis 2. Considering the 7770 is beating the 5850, it certainly looks so.

I was playing Crysis 2 last night, and it's amazing how frivolous some of the "ultra" settings are in reference to the "extreme" when they are hardly noticeable and at a huge hit to the framerate. Frivolous graphics settings are not what I prefer PC games, when that fillrate could've gone into something more noticeable.
__________________
MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL! - Current muses: Ghost Recon: Phantoms, War Thunder, Firefall

Geezer computer - Phenom II x4 @ 2.8 GHz | Diamond ATi Radeon 5850 1 GB | 2 x 2 GB DDR3-1600 | MSI 770-C45 Mobo | Asus Xonar DS Sound card | Win7 64 | 1 TB HDD | LG 32" HDTV
NUSNA_Moebius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 10:15 AM   #64
AdamK47
Lifer
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 10,780
Default

The game seems to do well with hex cores.
__________________
Intel Core i7 5960X - Asus Rampage V Extreme - 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 - Four Nvidia GTX 980s in 4-Way SLI - 256GB Samsung 850 Pro SSD - Five 1TB Samsung 840 EVO SSDs in 5TB RAID-0 - 6TB Seagate 7200RPM HDD - Pioneer BDR-206 BD-RW - Corsair Obsidian 750D case - Thermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate cooler - Corsair AX1500i power supply - Razer BlackWidow Ultimate keyboard - CST LaserTRAC 2545W trackball - BenQ BL3200PT monitor - Shure SRH1440 headphones - Windows 8.1 Pro x64
AdamK47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 10:23 AM   #65
BD231
Diamond Member
 
BD231's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 9,528
Default

Thank god I didn't buy a 7970/680. Likely this game will be like the original crysis, pointlessly taxing on hardware.
__________________
2550k @ 4.7 - Gene-Z ROG - 7970 - 8gb @ 2133

DEATH TO GANGSTALKERS. MAY YOU ALL DIE A SLOW AND PAINFUL DEATH.
BD231 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 11:08 AM   #66
CryHavoc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 974
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toyota View Post
sorry but I do not believe that. my E8500 even at 3.8 was pegged in that game even a notch below max settings. and my oced gtx560 se is almost as fast as your 6870 and in no way shape or form is Crysis 2 fully playable on max DX11 settings and high res texture pack at 1920x1080. even my oced gtx570 would drop into the 30s in many spots on those settings.
I can video it and show you if you'd like.

I've installed both update packs, have the lastest updates to the game, run it on HIGH graphics settings at 1920x1080 and its completely playable for me.

I'm not saying I'm getting 60fps, but I'm sure not getting any stuttering.
__________________
My Heat
CryHavoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 11:27 AM   #67
Magic Carpet
Golden Member
 
Magic Carpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,824
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CryHavoc View Post
I can video it and show you if you'd like.

I've installed both update packs, have the lastest updates to the game, run it on HIGH graphics settings at 1920x1080 and its completely playable for me.

I'm not saying I'm getting 60fps, but I'm sure not getting any stuttering.
You only run the HIGH settings, that explains everything
Magic Carpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 11:35 AM   #68
tviceman
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,941
Default

I thought graphics of Crysis 2 were top-of-the-line once it got the DX11 features and high resolution texture pack. That said, the game itself was 3 steps backwards from Crysis and Warhead. The suit functions were integrated better, but the setup, story, and linear corridor disguised as broken highways and landscape made this game significantly inferior to the previous Crysis games. I will not be getting Crysis 3 unless it is more like the original and Warhead.
tviceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 11:47 AM   #69
DrBoss
Senior Member
 
DrBoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 383
Default

I will keep my fingers cross this game is the step forward (graphically) that the original Crysis was... but i have my doubts.

I also hope Crysis 3 gets back to the semi-open world of Crysis 1 instead of the defined corridors of Crysis 2.
__________________
.
.
Intel i7-2600k @4.4ghz (1.27V, offest -.05) |
Thermalright Archon | Shin-Etsu X23-7783D | ASUS Sabertooth P67 B3 | MSI GTX 670 Twin Frozr IV Power Edition | 8gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 | Corsair 850HX | Intel X25-M 160GB | WD Caviar Black 500gb | 2x WD Caviar Black 640gb | Pioneer BDR-206 | HT Omega eClaro 7.1 | Eizo SX2761w | Fractal Design Define XL

Onkyo TX-SR705 | 2x Klipsch RB-81 | 2x Klipsch RB-51 | Klipsch XL-23 | Outlaw Audio LFM-1 EX
DrBoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 11:50 AM   #70
CryHavoc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 974
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magic Carpet View Post
You only run the HIGH settings, that explains everything
exactly...and even at that setting, its just eye candy.

However, HIGH settings on Crysis 3 on my older setup.... Fuggetaboutit
__________________
My Heat

Last edited by CryHavoc; 11-06-2012 at 04:12 PM.
CryHavoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 12:22 PM   #71
ShadowOfMyself
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4,223
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NUSNA_Moebius View Post
Most games are like that these days.
Fixed

Seriously, every game nowadays feels a lot like 3dmark, with pointless "Ultra" modes

And then we have crap like Ambient Occlusion which does nothing but cut your framerate in half... Yeah yeah, you can notice the difference if you stare at screenshots side by side, but while playing? Good luck with that

Nowadays I dont even care about the numbers reviews give us other than to compare cards, obviously... I mean, I dont look at reviews as an idea of what kind of performance I can expect because I know Ill be able to play the game twice as fast just by turning off one stupid option like AO

Generally though anything that has to do with shadows ends up being the main resource hog... Turn shadows down, max everything else, profit

Bet youll be able to play Crysis 3 just fine with 99% of the full graphics on any card above 7850 just by being smart
__________________
Let's say we're advanced enough in few thousands years. And we simply build a stick that's 2.5 LY long. And then simply move it 5 inches forward. It is fully testable.
ShadowOfMyself is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 04:24 PM   #72
RussianSensation
Elite Member
 
RussianSensation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 14,597
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BD231 View Post
Thank god I didn't buy a 7970/680. Likely this game will be like the original crysis, pointlessly taxing on hardware.
Crysis 1 was the best looking PC game when it launched, and remained so for years to come. It was finally challenged first by Metro 2033, later by BF3/Witcher 2. Until this day it remains easily in the top 10 best looking PC games. It was not properly optimized for multi-core CPUs, but its graphics were a generational leap forward at the time.

Crysis 3 from various videos on youtube and screenshots looks like the graphics barely improved from Crysis 2 but the performance of this game took a massive dive. From videos/screenshots, it's difficult to see why there is such a huge performance drop as the graphics are not a generational leap at all, not even compared to Crysis 1. So far I am not seeing amazing graphics that warrant 41 fps at 1080P on a GTX690 at vhq. In screenshots, even between Low and Very high quality, I cannot tell the difference. You can definitely tell the difference between Low and Very High in Crysis 1 / Warhead.

The other thing is it still has that washed out, motion blur galore, muddy look of Crysis 2 in those youtube videos. At this pace, I don't think Crytek will match what they did for the PC industry with the original game. Of course as this is still Alpha, I am going to wait for the final game but so far I am not impressed. Hard to imagine that they could improve graphics significantly from now until the game's launch in February 2013.
__________________
i5 2500k | Asus P8P67 Rev.3 | Sapphire Dual-X HD7970 1150/1800 1.174V CFX | G.Skill Sniper 8GB DDR3-1600 1.5V
SeaSonic Platinum 1000W | OCZ Vertex 3 120GB + HITACHI 7K1000.B 1TB | Windows 7
Westinghouse 37" 1080P | X-Fi Platinum | Logitech Z5300E 5.1

Last edited by RussianSensation; 11-06-2012 at 04:37 PM.
RussianSensation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 04:47 PM   #73
blackened23
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 8,556
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrBoss View Post
I will keep my fingers cross this game is the step forward (graphically) that the original Crysis was... but i have my doubts.

I also hope Crysis 3 gets back to the semi-open world of Crysis 1 instead of the defined corridors of Crysis 2.
I just want the game to be as good as crysis 1 or warhead, I don't care so much about the graphics being miles ahead of crysis 2.

Crysis 2 was just a weak game in comparison to C1 or WH, I hope they go back to making good games - and not linear corridor shooters AKA crysis 2.
blackened23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 04:50 PM   #74
TechBoyJK
Lifer
 
TechBoyJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 13,529
Default

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hmy0jhexvdw&feature=plcp

Full match playthrough.

720p - Low Settings with HD textures.
AMD Phenon II 965 w 1GB 560.
__________________
Originally posted by: n0cmonkey
You're being difficult. You have not provided us with the information we need to troubleshoot the problem. You have not given us errors, you're vague about where the problem is, you are not answering the questions we ask. In short, you DON'T KNOW HOW TO THINK. Give back that piece of paper you think makes your intelligent, apologize, destroy your computer and go live in the woods kid.
TechBoyJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 05:08 PM   #75
SPBHM
Platinum Member
 
SPBHM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,493
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TechBoyJK View Post
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hmy0jhexvdw&feature=plcp

Full match playthrough.

720p - Low Settings with HD textures.
AMD Phenon II 965 w 1GB 560.

this videos doesn't add much, you can't really tell how it's performing when there is no clear way to know the framerate, and when the PC is also performing the video recording
SPBHM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.