Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Operating Systems

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-05-2012, 07:15 AM   #26
TheStu
Moderator
Mobile Devices & Gadgets
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New Cumberland, PA
Posts: 11,168
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViRGE View Post
So I'm just dinking with Start8 right now; is it me or does it not implement hot corners correctly? If you actually go to the very bottom left corner of your screen, you can't bring the Start8 menu up. You have to actually be over the icon to use it, whereas the real start menu was far more forgiving since it treated that as a hot corner.
You might want to go into the settings for Start8, there is a switch in there to disable the new Win8 hot corners, and that might be what is causing your problem.

Regarding the guy railing against the evil capitalists that deign to charge for their work... Stardock is an established company that has been making software for Windows for years and years, and has you know, a staff. I don't know about all the free options out there, but I would imagine that a fair number of them are from 1-2 man shops (if they are shops at all) that just banged out the code and then put it on the web. I am not saying that Stardock's solution is better, but it is worth $5, and the fact that there are free alternatives speaks more about the devs of the alternatives than it does about Stardock. Charging for your work is not a crime, and the presence of free software does not degrade the qualities or status of paid software. I would rather see a wide variety of reasonably priced, good software, then deal with the status quo, which is 98% free crap, and 2% overpriced software.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfenn View Post
The 6770M can play Crysis 2, for suitably small values of play
TheStu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 07:26 AM   #27
WelshBloke
Lifer
 
WelshBloke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 15,330
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gaidin43 View Post
... Again they lost a customer.
Given that you wanted it for free I'm not seeing that they lost anything really.
__________________
...and the more we drink, the more we sing Calon Lan.
WelshBloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 08:11 AM   #28
pmv
Golden Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,184
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gaidin43 View Post
I will NEVER buy software like this little "tweak"!!!!! It is never worth the money and the developer just is getting greedy and wants money. It should be 100% free, always. I only use freeware for system type items, the only system thing I have ever bought was true image 2012 which doesn't work with windows 8 and they won't upgrade me for free so I will move on to a free version software that replaces it and never buy from them again.

To put it simply windows should have included this in the first place and now people want to make a buck off it when they should be giving it away or when there are other free options.
Oh come on! This is just silly!

I personally agree that windows 8 should have had the start menu in the first place, but that's not the fault of these guys! They presumably put significant work into this, they are perfectly entitled to charge a fee for their efforts (and its a pretty small fee). Pay for it or not, nobody is forcing you!

Mind you, I think I've decided to go for 7 and avoid 8. For me I don't think the benefits are worth it compared to losing aero and the start menu, and I just resent having that hideiously ugly and dumbed-down Metro FrankenGUI (YMMV) present on my machine even if I won't be using it much. And I am indeed concerned that third-party start-menu fixes might stop working somewhere down the line.
pmv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 08:34 AM   #29
corkyg
Moderator
Peripherals
 
corkyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 23,863
Default

Once Start 8 is installed, you can make the classic Win 7 start the default opener. To go back and forth between Win 8's "Metro" and the Start 8 menu, just tap the Windows logo key. Very slick.
__________________
CorkyG - Tucson, AZ

In my view you cannot claim to have seen something until you have photographed it.... Emile Zola
corkyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 08:41 AM   #30
oldsmoboat
Elite Member
 
oldsmoboat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Kaliforniastan
Posts: 46,242
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by corkyg View Post
Once Start 8 is installed, you can make the classic Win 7 start the default opener. To go back and forth between Win 8's "Metro" and the Start 8 menu, just tap the Windows logo key. Very slick.
I can't use Meto becasue of my resolution but I do use the Win 7 theme.

I was running Vista and wanted to upgrade. Wind 8 for $40 and Start8 for $5seemd a better solution than paying $199 for Win 7.
oldsmoboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 10:08 AM   #31
abaez
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 7,147
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetGuySC View Post
Here is one not on the list. Just downloaded it today and so far I really like it. It combines a start menu with some of the Windows 8 features.

https://www.pokki.com/
Tried this and really like it.
abaez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 07:12 PM   #32
oldsmoboat
Elite Member
 
oldsmoboat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Kaliforniastan
Posts: 46,242
Default

Start8
Can I make metro go away altogether when moving my cursor to the right? The context menu comes up showing Search, Share, Start, etc.
__________________
For A Friend

It's not the odds that guide me, it's the stakes
oldsmoboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 07:21 PM   #33
HeXen
Diamond Member
 
HeXen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5,891
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldsmoboat View Post
Start8
Can I make metro go away altogether when moving my cursor to the right? The context menu comes up showing Search, Share, Start, etc.
yes, under control select disable hot corners then select disable charms.
__________________
Some words that more American's need to learn so as not to become a burden onto others nor ones self.

"Moderation" "Self discipline" "Willpower" "Responsibility" "Think ahead" "Independent"
HeXen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 07:23 PM   #34
ViRGE
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
ViRGE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 30,087
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldsmoboat View Post
Start8
Can I make metro go away altogether when moving my cursor to the right? The context menu comes up showing Search, Share, Start, etc.
That's the Charms bar. If you disable the hot corners then the Charms bar shouldn't come up.
__________________
ViRGE
Team Anandtech: Assimilating a computer near you!
GameStop - An upscale specialized pawnshop that happens to sell new games on the side
Todd the Wraith: On Fruit Bowls - I hope they prove [to be] as delicious as the farmers who grew them
ViRGE is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 07:57 PM   #35
SandEagle
Lifer
 
SandEagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Middle East Side
Posts: 16,409
Default

20% off Start8:
WK1-CWIC-UVLL-XMLD
__________________
Fear is what keeps you alive. Never not be afraid.

Free Palestein
SandEagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 09:01 PM   #36
oldsmoboat
Elite Member
 
oldsmoboat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Kaliforniastan
Posts: 46,242
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HeXen View Post
yes, under control select disable hot corners then select disable charms.
Thank you!
__________________
For A Friend

It's not the odds that guide me, it's the stakes
oldsmoboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 09:33 PM   #37
capeconsultant
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 454
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SandEagle View Post
20% off Start8:
WK1-CWIC-UVLL-XMLD
thanks. Going to buy it now!
__________________
Mac mini - 2.3ghz - core i7-16GB Ram | 24 inch Dell IPS monitor | OCZ Vector 512GB SSD | 2TB WD External | CapeWP.com
capeconsultant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 10:46 PM   #38
stevech
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 203
Default

(as a mouse/keyboard user) How Microsoftish: sell you Win8. Then you pay even more to get it back to what you had with Win 7.
stevech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 10:54 PM   #39
zokudu
Diamond Member
 
zokudu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,162
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SandEagle View Post
20% off Start8:
WK1-CWIC-UVLL-XMLD
Doh, bought it ~3 hours ago.
__________________
AMD FX-8320 | XFX Radeon HD7970 | Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 | 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws | Crucial m4 128 GB | Windows 8 x64 Professional
13" Retina Macbook Pro | i5-4258U | 8GB RAM | 256GB SSD
Steam | Xbox | last.fm | Heat
I like my women how I like my filesystems...FAT and 16
zokudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 11:43 PM   #40
QueBert
Lifer
 
QueBert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 19,973
Default

imho $5 is the perfect price for Start8, honestly I wouldn't have considered buying it even if it was only just $10. I see Stardock making a killing off it. I wonder how many copies they've already sold.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by TridenT View Post
No, no, they exist. I've seen them.

They're not usually like hot-hot, but they're like hit it and quit it able.
QueBert is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 05:30 AM   #41
TheStu
Moderator
Mobile Devices & Gadgets
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New Cumberland, PA
Posts: 11,168
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by QueBert View Post
imho $5 is the perfect price for Start8, honestly I wouldn't have considered buying it even if it was only just $10. I see Stardock making a killing off it. I wonder how many copies they've already sold.
Seriously, $5 and they give you a trial to find out if it works for you. At $5, it was a no-brainer and a guaranteed buy. I tried ClassicShell as well, and Start8 just feels nicer to me.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfenn View Post
The 6770M can play Crysis 2, for suitably small values of play
TheStu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 06:04 AM   #42
ViRGE
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
ViRGE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 30,087
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheStu View Post
Seriously, $5 and they give you a trial to find out if it works for you. At $5, it was a no-brainer and a guaranteed buy. I tried ClassicShell as well, and Start8 just feels nicer to me.
Start8 is definitely a more complete and accurate recreation of Win7's start menu. Classic Shell is a very good approximation for the price, but it's clearly a skin on something that was originally intended to recreate Win2K's start menu.
__________________
ViRGE
Team Anandtech: Assimilating a computer near you!
GameStop - An upscale specialized pawnshop that happens to sell new games on the side
Todd the Wraith: On Fruit Bowls - I hope they prove [to be] as delicious as the farmers who grew them
ViRGE is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 01:02 PM   #43
hasu
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 675
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GnatGoSplat View Post
I didn't care for ClassicStart from ClassicShell, because it looks and works differently from the Win7 Start Menu that I'm used to. Is there a skin to make it more authentic?
I am using ClassicShell with Windows 8. It is very similar to Windows 7 Start menu and works perfectly for that matter.

There are many other user interface changes in Windows 8 (compared to Windows 7), which are more noticeable than the start button.
__________________
Rig#1: Phenom II 925 on GA-MA785GM-US2H, 8GB DDR2, Windows-7 Pro 64bit
Rig#2: Phenom II 1100T on GA-880GMA-USB3, 16GB DDR3, LinuxMint-64bit

Delphi for Linux-Lazarus-CodeTyphon
One who sleeps can be awakened, but not the one who pretends
hasu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 01:14 PM   #44
GnatGoSplat
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 1,142
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hasu View Post
I am using ClassicShell with Windows 8. It is very similar to Windows 7 Start menu and works perfectly for that matter.

There are many other user interface changes in Windows 8 (compared to Windows 7), which are more noticeable than the start button.
True, but Start8 isn't just similar, it appears to be an exact clone so I just like it better.
__________________
Knock softly, but firmly. I like soft firm knockers.
GnatGoSplat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 07:15 PM   #45
HeXen
Diamond Member
 
HeXen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5,891
Default

I thought Classicshell felt kinda bloated. Start8 felt more integrated, like it was there by default, but that's me. Historically, Stardock's stuff has seemed well coded, they must hire some awesome programmers to be contracted by MS to make dreamscene on Vista.
__________________
Some words that more American's need to learn so as not to become a burden onto others nor ones self.

"Moderation" "Self discipline" "Willpower" "Responsibility" "Think ahead" "Independent"
HeXen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 07:52 PM   #46
Compman55
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 932
Default

Nobody is talking about startisback

I find it like the real win 7 menu. On stardock's version I cannot place the my computer icon on the desktop or the user name icon. Usually when I right click the sub menu is not like win 7.
__________________
-Main: Fractal Arc Midi R2 | Z87-Pro | E3-1245V3 | 32GB | M500 240GB | Antec HCG-620m PSU | Win7x64 Pro | Dual Dell U2414H Borderless IPS Panels w/ MDS14 stand |
-HTPC: Mac mini | P7550 2.26 | 8GB | 500GB 7K500 | OS X 10.6.8 | Win7x64 Ultimate |
-Lappy: Dell Latitude D820 | C2D 2.0 | 2GB | 128GB Samsung 830 SSD | 15.4" WXGA | Win7 x86 Ultimate |
-Server: G2020 | 8GB | 500GB WD Black (OS)| 2x Seagate 4TB | 2x Segate 2TB |
Compman55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 09:05 PM   #47
ViRGE
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
ViRGE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 30,087
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Compman55 View Post
Nobody is talking about startisback

I find it like the real win 7 menu. On stardock's version I cannot place the my computer icon on the desktop or the user name icon. Usually when I right click the sub menu is not like win 7.
The computer icon on the desktop? That's not a start menu function, that's a desktop personalization function (which is still in Win8).
__________________
ViRGE
Team Anandtech: Assimilating a computer near you!
GameStop - An upscale specialized pawnshop that happens to sell new games on the side
Todd the Wraith: On Fruit Bowls - I hope they prove [to be] as delicious as the farmers who grew them
ViRGE is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 09:16 PM   #48
Steltek
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,482
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Compman55 View Post
Nobody is talking about startisback

I find it like the real win 7 menu. On stardock's version I cannot place the my computer icon on the desktop or the user name icon. Usually when I right click the sub menu is not like win 7.
Right-click on the desktop, select Personalize, and then select Change desktop Icons. Same as you'd do in Windows 7.

While startisback is looking very good, I've found it to be buggy -- it isn't as stable as Start8 at this point. I have no doubt the developer will get it ironed out eventually, though.

Last edited by Steltek; 11-06-2012 at 09:19 PM.
Steltek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 10:15 AM   #49
gaidin43
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 73
Default

It's NEVER worth the 5$ for something that should be free and will be built into windows 8 over time. NEVER buy software like this from hacks. It's free or nothing for most people.
gaidin43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 10:25 AM   #50
TheStu
Moderator
Mobile Devices & Gadgets
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New Cumberland, PA
Posts: 11,168
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gaidin43 View Post
It's NEVER worth the 5$ for something that should be free and will be built into windows 8 over time. NEVER buy software like this from hacks. It's free or nothing for most people.
It's NEVER worth the $40 for something that should be free and will be added to Windows 7 over time.

A: You don't know that MS will add the start menu back in. I am 50/50 on it, at least in the sense that neither would surprise me

B: You're willing to pay for Windows 8 (we assume), but not backup software that was never guaranteed to work with it, or an affordable utility from a well established Windows software house. What do you feel ok paying for?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfenn View Post
The 6770M can play Crysis 2, for suitably small values of play
TheStu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.