Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > CPUs and Overclocking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-05-2012, 02:36 PM   #76
Ajay
Platinum Member
 
Ajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: NH, USA
Posts: 2,166
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boxleitnerb View Post
Thanks. Pfft, no 8 cores/16 threads, which means no big-advanced F@H WUs for a massive PPD
__________________
Asus P6T V2 Deluxe Ci7 970 @ 4.2GHz w/HT, Corsair H100i, 2x240GB SanDisk Extreme RAID0, 2x WD VR 300GB RAID0, MSI GTX 680 PE @ 1110MHz, 12GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1600, Corair 850HX, Corsair 800D case. Win7 x64 Ultimate. Dell U2412M.
Heatware

Last edited by Ajay; 12-14-2012 at 12:19 PM. Reason: dyslexia edit
Ajay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 12:22 AM   #77
dragantoe
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 610
Default

will haswell be compatible with a z77 board?
dragantoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 12:35 AM   #78
ViRGE
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
ViRGE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 30,275
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dragantoe View Post
will haswell be compatible with a z77 board?
No. Haswell gets a new socket.
__________________
ViRGE
Team Anandtech: Assimilating a computer near you!
GameStop - An upscale specialized pawnshop that happens to sell new games on the side
Todd the Wraith: On Fruit Bowls - I hope they prove [to be] as delicious as the farmers who grew them
ViRGE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 03:18 AM   #79
boxleitnerb
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,529
Default

As for cores:
4 vs. 2 I get, 6 vs. 4 I kind of get. But 8 vs. 6?

Looking at Xeons, the highest clocked 6-core runs at 3.3 GHz, the highest clocked 8-core at the same TDP runs at 2.7 GHz. Even assuming perfect scaling that is a measly 9% performance advantage with the 8-core chip. Not worth it.
boxleitnerb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 08:41 AM   #80
DBGT
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: BH
Posts: 2
Default

looool
DBGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 08:45 AM   #81
DBGT
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: BH
Posts: 2
Default

@kleinkinstein

loool
DBGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 06:46 PM   #82
SunRe
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 48
Default

Hi, my first post here. You probably already seen this news about Ivy Bridge Xeons spotted in the wild. They do seem to be 10 cores / 20 threads chips so I see no reason for the Ivy Bridge E not to have at least 8 or even 10 cores active. I guess 10 ivy bridge cores could successfully compete with the mainstream Haswell...

And considering that Intel will probably start to roll-out the big guns Ivy Bridge Xeon first, that is the 10 core versions, we will probably soon get the new Ivy E on desktop just in time to compete with Haswell.

edit: anyhow, what I mean is that Intel seems to have enough headroom to make Ivy Bridge E appealing to professionals and enthusiasts by virtue of its multicore capabilities until Haswell E shows up in 2014.

Last edited by SunRe; 12-16-2012 at 07:49 PM.
SunRe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 03:23 PM   #83
Ajay
Platinum Member
 
Ajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: NH, USA
Posts: 2,166
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boxleitnerb View Post
As for cores:
4 vs. 2 I get, 6 vs. 4 I kind of get. But 8 vs. 6?

Looking at Xeons, the highest clocked 6-core runs at 3.3 GHz, the highest clocked 8-core at the same TDP runs at 2.7 GHz. Even assuming perfect scaling that is a measly 9% performance advantage with the 8-core chip. Not worth it.
Well, if it were an -E series, there would be overclocking opportunities, especially with custom LC. If I could afford such a rig, I would be able to afford a good custom H2O cooling setup and be able to push higher clocks. Plus, IBV-EP is actually looking pretty good for 10 cores on an ES sample, to bad it's not going to happen. Again though, this is in the context for F@H, which is highly parallel.
__________________
Asus P6T V2 Deluxe Ci7 970 @ 4.2GHz w/HT, Corsair H100i, 2x240GB SanDisk Extreme RAID0, 2x WD VR 300GB RAID0, MSI GTX 680 PE @ 1110MHz, 12GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1600, Corair 850HX, Corsair 800D case. Win7 x64 Ultimate. Dell U2412M.
Heatware
Ajay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 08:21 PM   #84
Lepton87
Golden Member
 
Lepton87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Poland(EU)
Posts: 1,946
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boxleitnerb View Post
As for cores:
4 vs. 2 I get, 6 vs. 4 I kind of get. But 8 vs. 6?

Looking at Xeons, the highest clocked 6-core runs at 3.3 GHz, the highest clocked 8-core at the same TDP runs at 2.7 GHz. Even assuming perfect scaling that is a measly 9% performance advantage with the 8-core chip. Not worth it.
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...mark,3348.html


Xeon is faster in MT threaded benchmarks then desktop EE and draws less power to boot. So what are you raving about? More cores is always a better way to extract MT performance than raising frequency, which hits a limit pretty fast. It even draws less power than 130W desktop processor. 150W vs 130W and still less power used. And all Xeon had to do to accomplish it is to give up a measly 200MHz. EE should be fully unlocked silicon like they used to be, now the best desktop part is a core harvested server silicon. PATHETIC.
Don't rely on TDP it says nothing about actual power use, just check that article. That 2.7GHz Xeon probably draws way less power then that 3.3GHz 6 core as even 3.1GHz 8 core draws less power than 3.3GHz SB-E. Granted they named it differently but I don't see any further differences.
__________________
5820K @4.25GHz cache ratio 1:1 (4250MHz) 34x125 1.275V,ASUS ROG Rampage V, 16GB DDR4 G.Skill 2667@2750MHz CL 15 4 channels,Noctua NH-D14(CUSTOM WC incoming), Gigabyte GTX Titan SLI, 2x Corsair MX100 256 in Raid 0, 2xSeagate 3TB 7200RPM in RAID 0, Sandforce 2 120GB, Sandforce 64GB, 2TB WD Caviar Green, Seagate 1TB 7200RPM,Seagate 500GB, Seagate 1TB USB 3.0, BE Quiet 1200W, dell u2711

Last edited by Lepton87; 12-17-2012 at 08:27 PM.
Lepton87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 09:07 PM   #85
Idontcare
Administrator
Elite Member
 
Idontcare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: 台北市
Posts: 20,513
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lepton87 View Post
Don't rely on TDP it says nothing about actual power use, just check that article.
There must be some correlation though, otherwise why not spec every desktop CPU to 140W or 35W and then if/when people complain about the matter they would just fall back to "TDP says nothing about actual power use".
Idontcare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 09:50 PM   #86
Lepton87
Golden Member
 
Lepton87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Poland(EU)
Posts: 1,946
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Idontcare View Post
There must be some correlation though, otherwise why not spec every desktop CPU to 140W or 35W and then if/when people complain about the matter they would just fall back to "TDP says nothing about actual power use".
It's just a value that should not be exceeded, Intel was just being very conservative with that Xeon, as we see it uses less power than 130W TDP desktop chips. Often higher TDP parts use less power then lower TDP parts. So you can't just compare TDPs between CPUs even from the same manufacturer and draw conclusion about actual power use. If a CPU uses more power then its TDP for an extended period of time then something is wrong. So in theory Intel could spec every desktop CPU to 140W TDP because that value wouldn't be exceeded. But why install cooling solution that can dissipate 140W of power if all you need is 65W/77W/95W.
__________________
5820K @4.25GHz cache ratio 1:1 (4250MHz) 34x125 1.275V,ASUS ROG Rampage V, 16GB DDR4 G.Skill 2667@2750MHz CL 15 4 channels,Noctua NH-D14(CUSTOM WC incoming), Gigabyte GTX Titan SLI, 2x Corsair MX100 256 in Raid 0, 2xSeagate 3TB 7200RPM in RAID 0, Sandforce 2 120GB, Sandforce 64GB, 2TB WD Caviar Green, Seagate 1TB 7200RPM,Seagate 500GB, Seagate 1TB USB 3.0, BE Quiet 1200W, dell u2711
Lepton87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 09:04 PM   #87
SunRe
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 48
Default

And surprise: 12 core Ivy Bridge-E is coming.

SunRe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 10:25 PM   #88
podspi
Golden Member
 
podspi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 1,714
Default

I'm not surprised. I think that six-core ivy is going to have trouble keeping up with a quad Haskell in multithreaded code.
podspi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 11:32 PM   #89
AdamK47
Lifer
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 10,844
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SunRe View Post
Want!
__________________
Intel Core i7 5960X - Asus Rampage V Extreme - 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 - Four Nvidia GTX 980s in 4-Way SLI - 256GB Samsung 850 Pro SSD - Five 1TB Samsung 840 EVO SSDs in 5TB RAID-0 - 6TB Seagate 7200RPM HDD - Pioneer BDR-206 BD-RW - Corsair Obsidian 750D case - Thermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate cooler - Corsair AX1500i power supply - Razer BlackWidow Ultimate keyboard - CST LaserTRAC 2545W trackball - BenQ BL3200PT monitor - Shure SRH1440 headphones - Windows 8.1 Pro x64
AdamK47 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 11:44 PM   #90
Torn Mind
Platinum Member
 
Torn Mind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,317
Default

Will the 3980X have a TDP of 200W?

Oh, and tweakboy must be pleased.
__________________
SR061| Asrock H77M | 2x2GB G.Skill 1333Mhz NS RAM | PowerSpec TX-606 Case| 500GB 7200RPM Seagate Drive| Antec Eartwatts EA-500 (2006) | Asus DVD Burner | parallell and COM port header | Old Dell Keyboard
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=93090

Last edited by Torn Mind; 01-04-2013 at 11:46 PM.
Torn Mind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 12:45 AM   #91
bunnyfubbles
Lifer
 
bunnyfubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 11,992
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Torn Mind View Post
Will the 3980X have a TDP of 200W?

Oh, and tweakboy must be pleased.
maybe if they give it stupidly high clock rates.

For some reference, the 8 core Xeon E5-2687W is 3.1GHz base 3.8GHz Turbo and is 150W TDP
__________________
i7 3930K @ 4.7GHz + XSPC Raystorm/EX280/D5 | ASUS Sabertooth X79 | EVGA GeForce GTX780 | 4x4GB Samsung Green DDR3 @ 1866 CAS9 1.5v | 2x256GB Samsung 830 RAID-0 | 3 x 1.5TB Hitachi 7K3000 RAID-0 | 2 x 3TB Seagate 7200.14 RAID-0 | Windows 8.1 Pro Update 1 x64 | Creative X-Fi Titanium HD | Seasonic Platinum-1000 | Silverstone FT02B-WRI | BenQ XL2420T | Dell U2711 | Filco Majestouch-2 Tenkeyless Cherry MX Red | Razer Abyssus + Goliathus Speed | Beyerdynamic MMX300 / Astro A40 2013
bunnyfubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 02:04 AM   #92
moonbogg
Diamond Member
 
moonbogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,452
Default

12 cores is too much. I'll be going Haswell instead. No way can the clocks be decent with 12 cores. Now if they have a 6 core version that clocks high, then that would be good.
__________________
3930K @ 4.3 - 16GB DDR3 @ 1600 - 2X GTX 670 SLI(2GB) - SAMSUNG 830 SSD - 1920X1080 @ 120HZ - WINDOWS 8.1
moonbogg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 02:38 AM   #93
skipsneeky2
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,731
Default

Son of a monkeys uncle,i just installed a 3930k today and intels already phasing out the 6 core for a 8 and 12 core model. God is this chip gonna look belittled.

Wonder if that means that perhaps the 6 core ivy-e will be at a lower pricetag then current sb-e offerings?

Still love my 3930k even if intel wants to make it look like a paper weight next to the 12 core behemoths coming out this year.
skipsneeky2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 02:40 AM   #94
Intel17
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Earth.
Posts: 3,194
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skipsneeky2 View Post
Son of a monkeys uncle,i just installed a 3930k today and intels already phasing out the 6 core for a 8 and 12 core model. God is this chip gonna look belittled.

Wonder if that means that perhaps the 6 core ivy-e will be at a lower pricetag then current sb-e offerings?

Still love my 3930k even if intel wants to make it look like a paper weight next to the 12 core behemoths coming out this year.
12 core is for Xeon lineup only. I wouldn't expect more than 8 cores for desktop, if even that.
Intel17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 02:48 AM   #95
skipsneeky2
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,731
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Intel17 View Post
12 core is for Xeon lineup only. I wouldn't expect more than 8 cores for desktop, if even that.
LOL,i saw the 8 core xeons on newegg and was tripping out at their insane price tag,i honestly swear the people posting their reviews on newegg are simply stroking their e-penis.

Cheapest 8 core xeon currently is the 2ghz E5-2650 at $1,100 Those 12 core chips are gonna be a whopper of a price tag.
skipsneeky2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 04:00 AM   #96
boxleitnerb
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,529
Default

6 cores vor Ivy-E probably. I just hope they increase clocks a bit. 4 GHz baseclock for the best model or so.
boxleitnerb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 05:12 AM   #97
moonbogg
Diamond Member
 
moonbogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,452
Default

If the 6 core Ivy-E's have good temps (unlike current models) then they might OC like absolute crazy. It might make sense in that case to get an Ivy-E instead of haswell if you are already on 2011. I'm dying for this stuff to hit the market.
__________________
3930K @ 4.3 - 16GB DDR3 @ 1600 - 2X GTX 670 SLI(2GB) - SAMSUNG 830 SSD - 1920X1080 @ 120HZ - WINDOWS 8.1
moonbogg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 06:00 AM   #98
bunnyfubbles
Lifer
 
bunnyfubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 11,992
Default

yeah, I'm pretty curious how the Ivy-E lineup will flesh out. Native 6 core options? 8, 10, 12 core at the upper end?

12 core does sound too good to be true if its taking this long to get a full 8 core i7 in the 3980X. However I'd be ecstatic to get a 10 core and still very happy with at least an 8 core in an Ivy-E in Q3. A native 6 core Ivy would also be interesting depending on how Haswell does.
__________________
i7 3930K @ 4.7GHz + XSPC Raystorm/EX280/D5 | ASUS Sabertooth X79 | EVGA GeForce GTX780 | 4x4GB Samsung Green DDR3 @ 1866 CAS9 1.5v | 2x256GB Samsung 830 RAID-0 | 3 x 1.5TB Hitachi 7K3000 RAID-0 | 2 x 3TB Seagate 7200.14 RAID-0 | Windows 8.1 Pro Update 1 x64 | Creative X-Fi Titanium HD | Seasonic Platinum-1000 | Silverstone FT02B-WRI | BenQ XL2420T | Dell U2711 | Filco Majestouch-2 Tenkeyless Cherry MX Red | Razer Abyssus + Goliathus Speed | Beyerdynamic MMX300 / Astro A40 2013
bunnyfubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 06:37 AM   #99
BrightCandle
Diamond Member
 
BrightCandle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,763
Default

I can justify 6 cores with slightly lower overclock no problem, I get benefits in certain workloads where it makes a big difference. The question is really if at 8/10/12 I can still get similar clock speeds while overclocked? I have a custom water loop and pretty soon I'll be able to deal with well over 350W from the CPU if needed so I wonder if they would clock that high regardless of required cooling or they just wouldn't clock high at all.
__________________
I no longer frequent these forums.
BrightCandle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 08:09 AM   #100
Bubba77
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 35
Default

The question i keep asking myself is if im building now or soon, Should i go 2011 or wait for haswell. I like the idea of sandy-e with an upgrade to ivy-e. Ive had the build itch for months and was waiting for haswell.

Main purpose is gaming but money is not a concern. Not considering price/performance im wondering which platform id be better served by. I have nehalem so i can hold out a while
__________________
i7 4770k stock/asRock exteme 4 z87
Corsair H60 watercooler/16GB 1866 memory
AMD 7970 OC/Corsair Force GS 360GB SSD
Seagate Barracuda 2TB/Corsair HX850 PS
Antec 1200 V3
Bubba77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.