Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Video Cards and Graphics

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-05-2012, 10:44 PM   #26
Haserath
Senior Member
 
Haserath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 701
Default

It'll be interesting to see some pics. When is the release date, or has it not been announced yet?
Haserath is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 10:50 PM   #27
frozentundra123456
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,666
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SPBHM View Post
http://www.hardware.fr/articles/880-...rma-ii-oa.html

Crysis 2 have over 20% gain for the 8350
Even with a 20% increase, it would still be below any quad intel. Any dual core, even the i3 is starting to suffer in the newer games though.
frozentundra123456 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 11:10 PM   #28
RussianSensation
Elite Member
 
RussianSensation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 13,929
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SPBHM View Post
http://www.hardware.fr/articles/880-...rma-ii-oa.html

Crysis 2 have over 20% gain for the 8350
That's impressive. However, i5-2500K is 56% faster than 8150. Next year, Intel will have Haswell. I am pretty sure Intel CPUs will have a substantial lead in this game, although if you look at GPU benchmarks at VHQ, it makes no difference as the game will be 99.9% GPU limited in the foreseeable future. Unless you can afford GTX790 SLI, the FX8350 CPU limitation would not really be a factor I bet at vhq.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Haserath View Post
It'll be interesting to see some pics. When is the release date, or has it not been announced yet?
February 2013 supposedly.
__________________
i5 2500k | Asus P8P67 Rev.3 | Sapphire Dual-X HD7970 1150/1800 1.174V CFX | G.Skill Sniper 8GB DDR3-1600 1.5V
SeaSonic Platinum 1000W | OCZ Vertex 3 120GB + HITACHI 7K1000.B 1TB | Windows 7
Westinghouse 37" 1080P | X-Fi Platinum | Logitech Z5300E 5.1

Last edited by RussianSensation; 11-05-2012 at 11:14 PM.
RussianSensation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 11:44 PM   #29
tviceman
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,473
Default

It is weird seeing the gtx680 closing the gap so significantly when moving up from 1080p to 1440p. Looks like a driver bug. Still though, the 7970GE is strong. The benchmarks indicate it is going to bring everything to it's knee's like Crysis 1 did when it first came out.

Last edited by tviceman; 11-05-2012 at 11:47 PM.
tviceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 12:07 AM   #30
VulgarDisplay
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,312
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tviceman View Post
It is weird seeing the gtx680 closing the gap so significantly when moving up from 1080p to 1440p. Looks like a driver bug. Still though, the 7970GE is strong. The benchmarks indicate it is going to bring everything to it's knee's like Crysis 1 did when it first came out.
It's kinda hard to say really how demanding the game is going to be on Very High without being able to see the actual settings. Very High Quality could have some crazy AA setting like 8xSSAA or something which would bring all these cards to their knees.

Or maybe it's a whole new level of flat surface tesselation added on Very High quality and there will be no visual difference to high quality for tesselation. Perhaps someone who got in the beta could clarify what the different graphics options are, but they would probably violate some NDA.
VulgarDisplay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 12:40 AM   #31
SPBHM
Platinum Member
 
SPBHM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,082
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RussianSensation View Post
That's impressive. However, i5-2500K is 56% faster than 8150. Next year, Intel will have Haswell. I am pretty sure Intel CPUs will have a substantial lead in this game, although if you look at GPU benchmarks at VHQ, it makes no difference as the game will be 99.9% GPU limited in the foreseeable future. Unless you can afford GTX790 SLI, the FX8350 CPU limitation would not really be a factor I bet at vhq.



February 2013 supposedly.

the thing is, you don't need to play in very high, the game looks decent even in low, and it's pretty easy on the GPU in low... so even with a 7850 or lower the CPU can make a difference in low-medium, if you are aiming for super smooth or responsive gameplay...


but I expect the 8350 to be significantly faster than the 8150, considering the difference in Crysis 2 at least...

but still, maybe the final game will be easier on the CPU or something...
SPBHM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 12:48 AM   #32
brandon888
Senior Member
 
brandon888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 512
Default

some people said few weeks ago ...." GTX 660 TI is overkill for 1080P " .... LMAO ....
brandon888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 01:22 AM   #33
MTDEW
Diamond Member
 
MTDEW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Central PA
Posts: 3,869
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brandon888 View Post
some people said few weeks ago ...." GTX 660 TI is overkill for 1080P " .... LMAO ....
It's probably that Top Secret Tessellated Toad Tech killing performance...LOL

This info confirms my decision to wait for the the next generation of GPU's b4 upgrading since i don't think the current gen GPUs were enough of a performance leap from last gen to justify upgrading, especially the lower end like the 660ti.

Although AMD and their new performance bundle looks tempting along with those massive 7950 overclocks everyone keeps posting here.
But it still looks like you'd need two of those cards for this game.
I need to learn to stay out of AT VC&G, it makes me "think" i need to upgrade more often than i actually do.
MTDEW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 01:22 AM   #34
moonbogg
Diamond Member
 
moonbogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,476
Default

Look at that 3930k beat the 2600k even at 200mhz less. That makes me happy. Too bad it won't matter without two GTX870's.
__________________
3930K @ 4.3 - 16GB DDR3 @ 1600 - 2X GTX 670 SLI(2GB) - SAMSUNG 830 SSD - 1920X1080 @ 120HZ - WINDOWS 8.1
moonbogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 01:40 AM   #35
aaksheytalwar
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3,116
Default

This is my experience with a relatively average Internet connection:

1080p
Everything V High/on except
Shading High
Shadows High
Water High
Post Processing High
I get avg 70s and 80s.

With the same settings and 1440p I get avg mid 50s to low 60s.

1080p is smoother but 1440p is playable as well.

Then at 1080p with high Rez textures off and everything V High
Except
Shading at High
And maybe 0-1 thing at high
I get avg 80+ as well.

So basically the next gen cards will manage 1080p maxed out at 50+ fps hopefully. Especially once paired with haswell.
__________________
3770k @ 4.3 with H100i, Asus Z77 Deluxe, Samsung 30nm 4x4gb ddr3 @ 1866 9-9-9-28 1T, MSI R9 290 Gaming 4G, Coolermaster Silent Pro Hybrid 1300 watts, Crucial M4 512gb, 3x Seagate 7200.14 3TB each
aaksheytalwar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 01:42 AM   #36
aaksheytalwar
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3,116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MTDEW View Post
It's probably that Top Secret Tessellated Toad Tech killing performance...LOL

This info confirms my decision to wait for the the next generation of GPU's b4 upgrading since i don't think the current gen GPUs were enough of a performance leap from last gen to justify upgrading, especially the lower end like the 660ti.

Although AMD and their new performance bundle looks tempting along with those massive 7950 overclocks everyone keeps posting here.
But it still looks like you'd need two of those cards for this game.
I need to learn to stay out of AT VC&G, it makes me "think" i need to upgrade more often than i actually do.
In the most recent games, especially with Tess and/or AA. A 7970 stock comes close to twice the performance of a 6950 unlocked. At least 65-90% faster where it really counts.
__________________
3770k @ 4.3 with H100i, Asus Z77 Deluxe, Samsung 30nm 4x4gb ddr3 @ 1866 9-9-9-28 1T, MSI R9 290 Gaming 4G, Coolermaster Silent Pro Hybrid 1300 watts, Crucial M4 512gb, 3x Seagate 7200.14 3TB each
aaksheytalwar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 01:46 AM   #37
CryHavoc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 973
Default

I can play crysis 2 at 1920 with the dx11 and tesellation packs using a core2 duo E8500 with 4gb of ram and an MSI Twin Frozr 6870 just fine and very playable.

Crysis 3 with graphics set to high on the rig above is unplayable
set to medium, its barely playable
set to low graphics, its only tolerable.

Crysis 3 will make anyone with an older system like mine, who wants to play it, upgrade to much better hardware.

Thusly, I have a core I5-3750k and an asus z77 pro board on the way from newegg.
Hopefully my trusty 6870 will be able to take advantage of the better mobo/cpu/8gb of ram and keep me from having to upgrade my vid card
__________________
My Heat
CryHavoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 01:47 AM   #38
biostud
Lifer
 
biostud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Aarhus, Denmark
Posts: 12,600
Default

A 2.8Ghz i5-760 slaughtering a 3.6Ghz 8150...
__________________
i5-750 @ 3.8Ghz | 4x2Gb | Gigabyte P55m-UD4 | Samsung EVO 500GB | 3TB HDD | Corsair AX860 | XFX 7990 | Corsair 550D | Achieva Shimian 2560x1440
Lappy: HP ProBook 6360B | i5-2410M | 256GB Crucial M4 | 4GB |
Sound: Cambridge Audio DacMagic | NAD-T750 | Dali Mentor Menuet | B&W ASW608
Camera: Nikon D5100 | Sigma 10-20mm f/4-5.6 + Nikkor 35mm f/1.8 + 85mm f/1.8G | Nissin Di600 | Phone: Lumia 920
biostud is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 01:49 AM   #39
CryHavoc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 973
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Haserath View Post
It'll be interesting to see some pics. When is the release date, or has it not been announced yet?
They sent out emails to "select" Origin members with a code to be able to download the closed beta.

I just downloaded and installed it on Sunday.
Its a GPU AND CPU monster.
__________________
My Heat
CryHavoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 02:16 AM   #40
toyota
Lifer
 
toyota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: time out
Posts: 11,677
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CryHavoc View Post
I can play crysis 2 at 1920 with the dx11 and tesellation packs using a core2 duo E8500 with 4gb of ram and an MSI Twin Frozr 6870 just fine and very playable.

Crysis 3 with graphics set to high on the rig above is unplayable
set to medium, its barely playable
set to low graphics, its only tolerable.

Crysis 3 will make anyone with an older system like mine, who wants to play it, upgrade to much better hardware.

Thusly, I have a core I5-3750k and an asus z77 pro board on the way from newegg.
Hopefully my trusty 6870 will be able to take advantage of the better mobo/cpu/8gb of ram and keep me from having to upgrade my vid card
sorry but I do not believe that. my E8500 even at 3.8 was pegged in that game even a notch below max settings. and my oced gtx560 se is almost as fast as your 6870 and in no way shape or form is Crysis 2 fully playable on max DX11 settings and high res texture pack at 1920x1080. even my oced gtx570 would drop into the 30s in many spots on those settings.
__________________
Windows 8.1 64 bit || 4770k@4.3 with Corsair A70 || ASUS Z87 Pro || MSI GTX780 TWIN FROZR || G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x4GB DDR3 1600 || Seagate SSHD 2TB || Corsair 500R || Corsair TX650 V2 || Sound Blaster Recon3D || Dell S2409W
toyota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 02:34 AM   #41
Skurge
Diamond Member
 
Skurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Namibia
Posts: 4,827
Default

Crossfire is working for me.

I haven't actually run Fraps, but at 6020x1080 and medium settings, It's compeltely playable. Haven't had any slow downs, pretty sure it's over 60FPS. Very high is unplayable obviously, I haven't tried medium yet.
__________________
Intel Core i7-4770K [stock]|MSI Z87-G45 Gaming|16GB DDR3-1600|Gigabyte R9 290 Windforce CF [stock]|Samsung SSD 840 Evo 500GB|Corsair AX860 PSU|Corsair 750D|Windows 8 Pro|Samsung S27A950D|Logitech G27 Racing Wheel|Nexus 5 32GB
Skurge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 02:43 AM   #42
Jacky60
Senior Member
 
Jacky60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 966
Default

Good news APART from wtf happened to 6990 performance-it's being beaten by single 6950 and 560 gtx?
__________________
4770K@4.7Ghz, 290 xfire 1100/1375 MSI Z87GD65 2133Mhz/840Pro256, EVGA G2 1300W, I7 920@4.0ghz, 6990x2, HAF 932,Vertex 2 50gb, 120GB SSD. 16GB 1600Mhz Hanns.G 28in Enermax Revolution+ 1250W
'He who goes in search of garden always look forlorn'
Jacky60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 02:44 AM   #43
aaksheytalwar
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3,116
Default

Is the beta smoother/faster?
__________________
3770k @ 4.3 with H100i, Asus Z77 Deluxe, Samsung 30nm 4x4gb ddr3 @ 1866 9-9-9-28 1T, MSI R9 290 Gaming 4G, Coolermaster Silent Pro Hybrid 1300 watts, Crucial M4 512gb, 3x Seagate 7200.14 3TB each
aaksheytalwar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 02:49 AM   #44
Silverforce11
Diamond Member
 
Silverforce11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,241
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blastingcap View Post
Just because a game runs like crap doesn't mean it looks good. Like Grand Theft Auto's horrific performance on PCs.

For Crysis 3: If you turn down the settings to get 95% of the image quality, do you double your framerate? If so, that just means the max settings are resource hogs.
This. But reviews will emphasize the max settings for the next 5 years or so heh.

BF3 high vs ultra, hardly any difference. Graphics get diminishing returns really quick when textures are maxed.
__________________

Rig 1: 3570K | Z77 E4 | Crossfire R290 | 840 250GB + 840EVO 250GB | 8GB G.Skill Ares 2133 | OCZ 850W Gold+ | Nanoxia DS1 | Ghetto Water
Hobby: Mobile Game Dev & Cryptocoin day-trader
Silverforce11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 03:11 AM   #45
Shakabutt
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 84
Default

Lol at the people crying SLI 780's and other extraterestrial performance machine.

Dudes the game looks identical and in some cases even worse than Crysis 2 .... where exactly is the visual advantage for such shoddy perfoamance huh ?

I think its either an unoptimized alpha (most likely) or they did a shit job at coding their game wich seems unlikelly since its the same damn engine like crysis 2 .... and again after playing it it looks no better to me than crysis 2, it actually looks worse...but maybe thats the shit job the art departament did on it.

Last edited by Shakabutt; 11-06-2012 at 03:13 AM.
Shakabutt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 03:19 AM   #46
boxleitnerb
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,450
Default

This alpha is not about graphics, it's about testing the multiplayer infrastructure (servers etc.). The trailers look 1000x better than what is in the alpha.
boxleitnerb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 03:33 AM   #47
Skurge
Diamond Member
 
Skurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Namibia
Posts: 4,827
Default

I found the lighting to be the best part though. Really good.
__________________
Intel Core i7-4770K [stock]|MSI Z87-G45 Gaming|16GB DDR3-1600|Gigabyte R9 290 Windforce CF [stock]|Samsung SSD 840 Evo 500GB|Corsair AX860 PSU|Corsair 750D|Windows 8 Pro|Samsung S27A950D|Logitech G27 Racing Wheel|Nexus 5 32GB
Skurge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 03:43 AM   #48
Silverforce11
Diamond Member
 
Silverforce11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,241
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skurge View Post
I found the lighting to be the best part though. Really good.
Which is not obvious at all in screenshots.
__________________

Rig 1: 3570K | Z77 E4 | Crossfire R290 | 840 250GB + 840EVO 250GB | 8GB G.Skill Ares 2133 | OCZ 850W Gold+ | Nanoxia DS1 | Ghetto Water
Hobby: Mobile Game Dev & Cryptocoin day-trader
Silverforce11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 03:49 AM   #49
brandon888
Senior Member
 
brandon888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 512
Default

how thsi game on same engine like cryisis 2 has will be such a hog ???? it's like compare BF3 to MOH .... both use same engine and run mostly similar ... but this ? wtf is this ? same engine and 200% more demanding ? if it will have to be cry engine 4.0 that's different story ;/

my prediction .... just 20-25% more demanding then crysis 2 ... + TXAA which have to be faster ( and is faster) Then msaa
brandon888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 04:35 AM   #50
MTDEW
Diamond Member
 
MTDEW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Central PA
Posts: 3,869
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aaksheytalwar View Post
In the most recent games, especially with Tess and/or AA. A 7970 stock comes close to twice the performance of a 6950 unlocked. At least 65-90% faster where it really counts.
I guess that is my bad for not being more clear.
I'm running two unlocked/OCed 6950's in x-fire (basically two 6970's...see sig)
So upgrading to a 7950/7970 isn't worth it for me, so i decided to skip this generation.
Although as i admitted it is hard not to.

I have a 2500k @ 4.6ghz/ 16bg ram / GTX 470 pc here too that needs a GPU upgrade...LOL
But she never seems to care if i enable AA or not on her rig, so I'm trying to wait and upgrade my rig and give her my old GPU's.
Instead of wasting money upgrading both pc's GPU's.

Now someone looking to build a new pc, its a no-brainer to grab a current gen card especially with the recent AMD price/performance deals.
MTDEW is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.