Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Software for Windows

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-05-2012, 10:51 PM   #1
ManBearPig
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 9,117
Default How would I center an image in MS paint?

Lets say I have an image, and want to center it over a (white) square of a certain size...how would I go about doing that without just guessing?
ManBearPig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 11:55 PM   #2
C1
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,616
Default

May not be an easy question to answer. What if the image is irregular shape? What then is meant by centered (ie, theoretical center of gravity; or center from physical sides)?

If it is a software application like photoshop, then put up a grid and use that or using a set/grid of concentric circles in the square as reference, center the image suitably.

In paint, paste the image into a square that is the canvas, then use the cursor to minimize the canvas (usually by holding shift key).

Last edited by C1; 11-05-2012 at 11:59 PM.
C1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 12:18 AM   #3
ManBearPig
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 9,117
Default

Appreciate the response. Program is paint. The image is just an icon, which is a circle. I want borders around it, though. So I don't want to just minimize the canvas. Maybe I should just use a different program lol.
ManBearPig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 07:30 AM   #4
EagleKeeper
Discussion Club Moderator
Elite Member
 
EagleKeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Bumps west of Denver
Posts: 42,600
Default

Icon has a dimension of X by Y pixels

In Paint; size the canvas to the pixel size of your icon plus the overall size of the border.
The grid size is shown as you size the canvas.
Then draw the border first.

Then open a second copy of Paint
Load and copy the icon.

Switch to the first copy
Paste the icon into the canvas
Drag/move the icon to the proper location before releasing the mouse.
__________________
F15 Air Superiority Fighter - Never has one been lost in aerial combat (104 kills)
EagleKeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 08:10 AM   #5
lxskllr
Lifer
 
lxskllr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 38,440
Default

I either eyeball it, or use a grid. Checkout Paint.NET. It may not solve your immediate problem, but it's a great package that bridges the difference between PS and MSPaint. Alternatively, you could use Gimp, but that can be a bit much for simple editing.

http://www.getpaint.net/
lxskllr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 08:38 PM   #6
ManBearPig
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 9,117
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lxskllr View Post
I either eyeball it, or use a grid. Checkout Paint.NET. It may not solve your immediate problem, but it's a great package that bridges the difference between PS and MSPaint. Alternatively, you could use Gimp, but that can be a bit much for simple editing.

http://www.getpaint.net/
Oooooooooooooh, thanks for that program, looks cool. Appreciate the advice, everyone!

Question...using paint.net, how can i either like, make the logo the foreground and lay it over a square background, or just somehow add extra space around the logo and have it be one layer? I cant figure out how to do anything in this little square on the screen.

Thanks all!
ManBearPig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 08:43 PM   #7
lxskllr
Lifer
 
lxskllr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 38,440
Default

I'm not in Windows, but look for something that looks like import as layer, and bring in the image you want. Resize as necessary, then merge layers. I haven't used it in a long time, but I'd be very surprised if that sequence wasn't in there.
lxskllr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 08:49 PM   #8
ManBearPig
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 9,117
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lxskllr View Post
I'm not in Windows, but look for something that looks like import as layer, and bring in the image you want. Resize as necessary, then merge layers. I haven't used it in a long time, but I'd be very surprised if that sequence wasn't in there.
I figured out I could just anchor the image to the middle and change the canvas size! You are the man lxskllr! Thanks!
ManBearPig is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.