Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Video Cards and Graphics

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-05-2012, 11:13 PM   #1
brandon888
Senior Member
 
brandon888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 520
Wink custom resolution ??? is that good idea ?

hey everyone ..... i have LG TV 32 inc .... just discovered that i can use custom resolution on nvidia control panel and can go from 1920X1080 to 2720X1536 .... is that good idea to keep that resolution on 32 inch TV ? or is it useless ?

i mean .... isn't 32 inc to small for that resolution ? and will not give me much eye candy then on 1080 P ? do i need like 40-50 inc TV/Monitor to enjoy 1440P ?


i hope you all understand what i mean .... for example on notebooks with 15-17 inc size .... for me it's pointless to have FULL HD resolution ... cause you can't see difference between 720P and 1080P on that small 17 inch screen...

Last edited by brandon888; 11-05-2012 at 11:16 PM.
brandon888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 11:27 PM   #2
3DVagabond
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Christchurch, NZ
Posts: 8,062
Default

If your TV/Monitor could do 2720*1536 it would be worth it. Your TV is going to be limited to 1920*1080 though.
3DVagabond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 11:34 PM   #3
brandon888
Senior Member
 
brandon888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 520
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3DVagabond View Post
If your TV/Monitor could do 2720*1536 it would be worth it. Your TV is going to be limited to 1920*1080 though.
turned on games .... and can select that resolution without any problem
brandon888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 11:39 PM   #4
JS17
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 16
Default

Your TV is just going to scale it back to the native resolution of the panel (Likely 1080p), no way around that.
JS17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 11:48 PM   #5
brandon888
Senior Member
 
brandon888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 520
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JS17 View Post
Your TV is just going to scale it back to the native resolution of the panel (Likely 1080p), no way around that.
ah ...okay .... then there is no point to do this ... better use 1080P thank you all
brandon888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 12:30 AM   #6
boxleitnerb
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,486
Default

Nope, there is a point to do this: Less aliasing. I play at 2880x1620@1920x1080 wherever performance allows.
boxleitnerb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 12:47 AM   #7
brandon888
Senior Member
 
brandon888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 520
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boxleitnerb View Post
Nope, there is a point to do this: Less aliasing. I play at 2880x1620@1920x1080 wherever performance allows.
i don't understand ... if i set for example 2880x1620 ... will it scare 1080P anyway ????
brandon888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 01:26 AM   #8
MTDEW
Diamond Member
 
MTDEW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Central PA
Posts: 3,916
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brandon888 View Post
i don't understand ... if i set for example 2880x1620 ... will it scare 1080P anyway ????
Look up down scaling, i'll see if i can find a good link for ya.

Edit: Here you go.
__________________
Win7 64bit / 2600k @ 4.6ghz / Asus P8Z68-V Pro / 16gb GSkill DDR3 1600 / Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X / Corsair HX850w / Samsung 830 SSD / WD Black HDDs / CM HAF X

Last edited by MTDEW; 11-06-2012 at 01:29 AM.
MTDEW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 01:29 AM   #9
boxleitnerb
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,486
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brandon888 View Post
i don't understand ... if i set for example 2880x1620 ... will it scare 1080P anyway ????
The displayed resolution is still 1080p, but the image is rendered with a higher resolution and then scaled down with a filter. OGSSAA (ordered grid supersampling) like in Sleeping Dogs, GTA4 ENB mod, Trine, Witcher 2, Serious Sam 3 and Arma 2 work the same way.
boxleitnerb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 03:40 AM   #10
brandon888
Senior Member
 
brandon888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 520
Default

i don't see much difference on screens ... so ... better stay with 1080 P?
brandon888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 03:48 AM   #11
boxleitnerb
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,486
Default

Those screens don't represent the best results, look here for example:

http://www.forum-3dcenter.org/vbulle...&postcount=863
http://www.forum-3dcenter.org/vbulle...&postcount=492

Look at the jaggies. It is much smoother. I would use that in games that don't support proper AA, for example GTA 4 or Crysis 2 DX11. Especially in motion the effect is very evident. I would use 2880x1620 though. "Even" factors like 1.5x1.5 (2880=1.5x1920 and 1620=1.5x1080) or even 2x2 provide the best result.

Last edited by boxleitnerb; 11-06-2012 at 03:52 AM.
boxleitnerb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 03:56 AM   #12
brandon888
Senior Member
 
brandon888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 520
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boxleitnerb View Post
Those screens don't represent the best results, look here for example:

http://www.forum-3dcenter.org/vbulle...&postcount=863
http://www.forum-3dcenter.org/vbulle...&postcount=492

Look at the jaggies. It is much smoother. I would use that in games that don't support proper AA, for example GTA 4 or Crysis 2 DX11. Especially in motion the effect is very evident. I would use 2880x1620 though. "Even" factors like 1.5x1.5 (2880=1.5x1920 and 1620=1.5x1080) or even 2x2 provide the best result.
great i will use it for BF3 ... 1440 P no AA will be better then 1080p + 4x aa i guess .. and better pefromance
brandon888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 07:32 AM   #13
SomeoneSimple
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 63
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brandon888 View Post
great i will use it for BF3 ... 1440 P no AA will be better then 1080p + 4x aa i guess
No, it won't.

1080p with 4x MSAA will have 4 colour samples per multisampled pixel (polygon edges and transparent objects).
1440p downscaled to 1080p will have 1.7 pixel-sample per pixel.

Since BF3 has properly implemented alpha-to-coverage to handle transparency (only if MSAA is enabled, iirc), the only thing you gain by downscaling is somewhat less aliasing on specular maps and shader effects, while anti-aliasing on transparency and geometry will look far better with MSAA.

Last edited by SomeoneSimple; 11-06-2012 at 08:34 AM.
SomeoneSimple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 08:13 AM   #14
boxleitnerb
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,486
Default

Yup, depends on the game. I would only use it where no MSAA is possible. BF3 is pretty shimmering/aliasing-free even with MSAA. In most titles even before downscaling I would use SGSSAA first if possible.
boxleitnerb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 12:39 AM   #15
skipsneeky2
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,558
Default

Tried some of this stuff as well on my 17'' 1440x900 16:10 native monitor.

Found for the most part 1680x1050 looked fantastic,1920x1200 looked way to small like some complain about on laptop monitors and 2560x1600 was not supported.

BF3 especially looks amazing maxed out at 1680x1050 versus 1440x900.

Forced the gpu to render the resolution at the aspect ratio of 16:10 hence my new choice of resolution.
skipsneeky2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 01:48 AM   #16
boxleitnerb
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,486
Default

The TV doesn't have to display more than 1920x1080. That's the whole point.

That everything becomes too small is irrelevant for 3D games because the UI usually scales with resolution. Only text-based games really are a problem, there it is unusable. But for example Borderlands 2 looks great in 3840x2160@1920x1080. Add in some SMAA and you're good.
boxleitnerb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 03:32 AM   #17
PrincessFrosty
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 1,375
Default

For the best image quality always use the displays native screen resolution, check the manufacturers specs to find this for your TV, it's almost certainly 1080p.

If you run at a resolution that is higher or lower than your screens native resolution then the TV has to scale the image and scaled images always look horrible.

TVs as monitors is generally a bad idea unless you're sitting very far away, this is because 1080p is a very small resolution for such a large screen.
__________________
Intel 2600k @ 4.9Ghz || ThermalRight TRUE Spirit 140
16Gb PC3-12800 || 2x MSI GTX580 Twin Frozr II in SLI
Dell 3007 WFP-HC 30" || BenQ XL2420T 24" 120hz

http://www.pcgamingstandards.com - PC Game fixes database.
PrincessFrosty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 03:40 AM   #18
brandon888
Senior Member
 
brandon888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 520
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PrincessFrosty View Post
For the best image quality always use the displays native screen resolution, check the manufacturers specs to find this for your TV, it's almost certainly 1080p.

If you run at a resolution that is higher or lower than your screens native resolution then the TV has to scale the image and scaled images always look horrible.

TVs as monitors is generally a bad idea unless you're sitting very far away, this is because 1080p is a very small resolution for such a large screen.


it is 32 Inch TV and i sit like 1.5-2.0 meters away ... don't think it's close .. cause many of my friends can't even see small objects from that distance


okay then i will stay with my natvie resolution .. 1080P ...
brandon888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 03:40 AM   #19
boxleitnerb
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,486
Default

No it doesn't look horrible. What you're thinking of is for example 720p on a 1080p display. We're talking resolutions higher than the native resolution here. Take a look at the screenshots I provided and say again it looks horrible. It looks far better due to less aliasing.
boxleitnerb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.