Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > PC Gaming

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-05-2012, 08:50 AM   #1
alfa147x
Lifer
 
alfa147x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Georgia
Posts: 29,844
Question Saints Row 3 keeps crashing. Where to start troubleshooting this?

Saints Row 3 keeps crashing. Where to start troubleshooting this? I really enjoyed the first 15 minutes of gameplay and I'm hooked but the game keeps crashing.

Code:
GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UP5 TH LGA 1155 Intel Z77 Thunderbolt Motherboard 
Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge 3.5GHz (3.9GHz Turbo) HD 4000 Graphics
Asus GTX670 Top (GTX670-DC2T-2GD5)
Noctua NH-D14 120mm & 140mm SSO CPU Cooler
CORSAIR Vengeance LP 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3-1600
120 GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD MacSales
Seasonic SeaSonic X760 -760W 80Plus Gold Certified ATX12V PSU
SilverStone RAVEN Series RV03
I had Windows 7 64 bit installed and all the latest drivers but it crashed then I wiped that install and installed Win7 32 bit and all the latest drivers and it still crashes. I can play GTA 4 and Diablo 3 perfectly fine and I logged the temps during the crash and I don't see anything abnormal. Any ideas?

Thanks!
Alfa
__________________
.
alfa147x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 09:16 AM   #2
gorcorps
aka Brandon
 
gorcorps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: South Bend
Posts: 25,387
Default

Is your gpu overclocked? Even a factory OC can cause some games to crash. Can't imagine it's Windows as I play on 7 64 bit just fine.
__________________
-So sayeth Brandon, knower of things
360: GORcorps|||PS3: gorcorps|||Steam: gorcorps
HEATWARE
gorcorps is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 09:55 AM   #3
JamesV
Golden Member
 
JamesV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 1,693
Default

The place you should start your troubleshooting is the Windows logs.

Start->Right click on Computer->Manage

Event Viewer on left->Windows Logs

Search for entries in Application and other log entries for errors that occur when you crash. Start up SR3 again, get it to crash, and there should be an entry in those logs saying what the faulting module is (or another isssue).
JamesV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 12:16 PM   #4
alfa147x
Lifer
 
alfa147x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Georgia
Posts: 29,844
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesV View Post
The place you should start your troubleshooting is the Windows logs.

Start->Right click on Computer->Manage

Event Viewer on left->Windows Logs

Search for entries in Application and other log entries for errors that occur when you crash. Start up SR3 again, get it to crash, and there should be an entry in those logs saying what the faulting module is (or another isssue).
Ah. I'm an OS X guy and I never though of looking for a log. I feel stupid. As a hackintosher I use Console a lot to view crash logs.

I'll post back. Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by gorcorps View Post
Is your gpu overclocked? Even a factory OC can cause some games to crash. Can't imagine it's Windows as I play on 7 64 bit just fine.
Nope everything is stock even the CPU.
__________________
.
alfa147x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 12:50 PM   #5
crisium
Senior Member
 
crisium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 942
Default

Mine crashes in DX 11, but not DX 9.
__________________
SAMSUNG NP700G7C-S01US: Intel Core i7 3610QM, 16GB Memory DDR3 1600, 1.5TB HDD, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 675M
crisium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 03:02 PM   #6
alfa147x
Lifer
 
alfa147x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Georgia
Posts: 29,844
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crisium View Post
Mine crashes in DX 11, but not DX 9.
Both crash for me
__________________
.
alfa147x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 04:08 PM   #7
DaveSimmons
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 37,031
Default

I have Win 7 64 bit, i5-2500, GTX 680. 8 GB RAM. Everything is stock speed.

I've played about 30 hours running the DX 11 version without any crashes. This is the Steam version.

So: it's at least possible that you can get it to work. Sorry I can't offer any tips, I didn't do anything to get it to work, just did the regular Steam install.
DaveSimmons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 04:30 PM   #8
PowerYoga
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 4,221
Default

same. I'd update graphics card drivers to start and make sure you don't have any corrupt files in the install through steam verification. Dig through logs to see what's causing the crash. Maybe bad ram, maybe power supply suddenly getting spiked and it couldn't handle it... could be a lot of things.
__________________
Your mouse has moved. Windows will restart to make the necessary changes.
PowerYoga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 05:12 PM   #9
power_hour
Senior Member
 
power_hour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: nowhere important
Posts: 789
Default

Couple of things. Trying manually setting the VGA card to 100% then run the game. If game crashes in same spot then either Memory or fragmented or bad files. Check the disk's health.

But to be honest, more times than not, memory is the culprit. But don't let that sway you from proper troubleshooting steps.
power_hour is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.