Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Video Cards and Graphics

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-04-2012, 03:26 PM   #26
gpse
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 413
Default

use the AMD drivers, they are the newest, also see if you can add another case fan to help cool the video card.
gpse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 04:25 PM   #27
toyota
Lifer
 
toyota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: time out
Posts: 12,188
Default

yeah the gpu and everything else is going to run hotter in that case. it only takes a couple of minutes for things to get hot so it does not matter if you normally dont play for long or not. you need a card that will exhaust all air out the back as even one of those will still run hotter in a case like yours with poor airflow.
__________________
Win 8.1 64 bit | 4770k@4.4 | Asus Z87 Pro | MSI GTX780 Gaming | G.SKILL Ares 16GB DDR3 2133 | Seagate SSHD 2TB | Corsair 500R | Corsair TX650 V2 | Sound Blaster Zx | Gateway 23inch 1920x1080 IPS
toyota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 05:45 PM   #28
Termie
Diamond Member
 
Termie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,974
Default

OP,

Sounds like you're all set. 82C is pretty hot, but it probably won't get that hot in a game. I would run an app in the background like hwmonitor or MSI afterburner to record max temp in game. You may need to manually set a fan profile or just lock it at 100% using catalyst if it is that hot.

And yes, remove all the slot covers on the back of the case for more ventilation.

The drivers you downloaded are the best. The ones on the CD are older and will work but do not have the latest optimizations.
__________________
Work: 3770K | Hyper 212+ | Asus Max V Gene | 290 Tri-X | 16GB | 830 256GB | TJ08B-E | x650 | U2713HM
Gaming: 4770K@4.5 | H100i | ASRock Z97 Ex4 | 780 Ti | 8GB | MX100 512GB | 500R | EVGA G2 850W | Asus VG248QE
HTPC: 4690K@4.0 | CM S524 | ASRock Z97E | HD7870 | 8GB | 1TB SSHD | SG08 | CX500M | Samsung 55" 4K
Building small? See Project ITX at The Tech Buyer's Guru!
What's the best gaming CPU? See TBG's Pentium vs. Core i3/i5/i7!
Termie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 09:37 AM   #29
raghu78
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,485
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AGENT_P6 View Post
Hey everyone.

So I went out and purchased the XFX7850, installed it and downloaded the AMD 12.11 beta drivers. I tested it out on some games and did some furmarks. I just did the 720p and 1080p benchmark presets and got scores of 2628@43fps and 1544@25fps, respectively. The max temp was 82C on both tests, which in my limited knowledge I believe is pretty hot...I was getting ready to abort but it finished up fine without any issues. I was surprised at how quickly the heat climbed up...like the fan kicked to high gear only 10 seconds into the test.
furmark is not representative of real world workloads. test with a game like BF3 or benchmark like heaven 3.0. yeah 82c core temps is not ideal. set fan speed manually to keep core temps below 70c and VRM temps below 90c in games. use HWinfo32 to monitor/log temps. as you know the XFX DD is not one of the best coolers. but anyway you have got the card. so do your best to keep the card temps as low as possible.
raghu78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 11:26 AM   #30
AGENT_P6
Member
 
AGENT_P6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 36
Default

I did test out a bunch of my games last night and the results are basically this:

I can run all of my games at 50-70 fps with all settings in game and in CCC completely maxed out at 1920x1080.

BUT there's two things...
I absolutely can't touch super-sample anti-aliasing. I must keep it set to multi sample or adaptive multi sample in my CCC because the frame rate cripples extremely quick once I try using SSAA

And the other thing is Metro 2033. I can run it on the highest settings but I have to keep tesselation off and have to keep "advanced DOF" off. Also, I cannot use in game MSAA. If i have my CCC set to override application settings I can use all the MSAA I want, but the in-game MSAA just bogs it all down.

I didn't know what to use to log fan temperature, but I frequently turned off my speakers and listened, comparing the noise level to that of what I'd heard when doing the furmark test. In short, none of my games caused the fan be even half as noisy as what it was in the furmark test. Granted I don't have BF3 or Crysis to really put some stress on it, but Metro is a considerable benchmarking game.

One thing I noted is that Skyrim really hates this card for some reason. There is more Z-Fighting than you can shake a stick at in this game (yet Elder Scrolls 4, Fallout 3 and New Vegas barely have any???), and no matter how I tinker with the settings, I can't get the clouds and mountains to look normal}. Oh and did I mention random trees flickering in and out of existence in the middle of the sky? GRRRRRR! It looked beautiful on the 6770!

I will look into a better cooling solution though, as I don't want it to get excessively hot in there.
AGENT_P6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 11:34 AM   #31
Jaydip
Diamond Member
 
Jaydip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3,287
Default

SSAA is brute force and very expensive.Don't bother too much about it.
__________________
Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit || i7 4770K @ 4.2 with CM V6-GT || MSI Z87 GD 65||MSI Gaming N780 TF 3GD5/OC GeForce GTX 780|| Corsair Vengeance 16GB 1600 || WD Cavier Black 1TB FAEX X2|| HAF-X || Corsair TX750 V2 ||AL MX 5021E || DELL U2713HM||SideWinder X4||Razer DA
Jaydip is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 11:52 AM   #32
notty22
Diamond Member
 
notty22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Beantown
Posts: 3,294
Default

I would suggest leaving the CCC at defaults and use only in-game quality settings. Especially to you get acquainted with the cards/driver behavior.
__________________
I5 750@3940mhz , Gigabyte p55 ud4p
1600mhz ddr3 4GB
GTX 660 2gb SC
Let's make sure history never forgets... the name... 'Enterprise'. Picard out.
notty22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.