Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Consumer Electronics > Digital and Video Cameras

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-24-2012, 04:58 PM   #1
pontifex
Lifer
 
pontifex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: PA
Posts: 41,081
Default GoPro HD Hero 1 quality

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KQVKN...ature=youtu.be

Video I took today above. make sure you set it to 1080P in youtube.

used the 1080P setting. this doesn't look like 1080P to me...
all my videos look like crap to me. No way am I getting 1080P or anything close to what you see from GoPro's site.
pontifex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 05:43 PM   #2
amdhunter
Lifer
 
amdhunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Bronx, NY
Posts: 22,351
Default

Yeah, it's definitely HD, but lacks sharpness. Kind of like it's unfocused a little bit and really noisy.
amdhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 07:30 PM   #3
pontifex
Lifer
 
pontifex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: PA
Posts: 41,081
Default

well i sent them an email about it. see what they say...
pontifex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 10:32 PM   #4
CuriousMike
Golden Member
 
CuriousMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Bay Area,Ca
Posts: 1,540
Default

When you look at the original, raw footage... does it look the same?

Whatever program you used to export to youtube might have shittified the video a bit.
__________________
i5-2500k, ATI 7950
Nikon D610 70-200 f4, 24-120 f4, 50mm f1.8
CuriousMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 10:26 AM   #5
pontifex
Lifer
 
pontifex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: PA
Posts: 41,081
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CuriousMike View Post
When you look at the original, raw footage... does it look the same?

Whatever program you used to export to youtube might have shittified the video a bit.
nope, looks the same to me
pontifex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 01:01 PM   #6
TechBoyJK
Lifer
 
TechBoyJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 13,714
Default

You just need more dramatic scenery and music.

I have a goPro1 and the quality leaves a bit to be desired, but when you are trying to get sports shots, etc. the goPro shines because of how it's built and setup.
__________________
Originally posted by: n0cmonkey
You're being difficult. You have not provided us with the information we need to troubleshoot the problem. You have not given us errors, you're vague about where the problem is, you are not answering the questions we ask. In short, you DON'T KNOW HOW TO THINK. Give back that piece of paper you think makes your intelligent, apologize, destroy your computer and go live in the woods kid.
TechBoyJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 09:26 AM   #7
pontifex
Lifer
 
pontifex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: PA
Posts: 41,081
Default

Response from GoPro:

Fortunately, there doesnīt seem to be anything wrong with your camera, the truth is that our media team, who are the guys that work on the videos we make are professionals and very skilled video editing tecs, we use some of the best editing softwares possible and put in the hands of the best guys we can get, so unless you have knowledge when it comes to post-editing videos and using the more complex softwares, there really isnīt much you or us can do.
After watching the video you posted, it seems to be within the expected qualities made for the camera.


I knew the videos on their site were too good to be true.
pontifex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 09:42 AM   #8
evolutionezine
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Default

yeah, i agree it,Yeah, it's definitely HD, but lacks sharpness. Kind of like it's unfocused a little bit .thanks
evolutionezine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 10:49 AM   #9
ghost recon88
Diamond Member
 
ghost recon88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 5,740
Default

On a side note OP, if you wanted to upgrade you can get the Hero2 for $200 at most online vendors these days. Quality is the same as the middle of the pack Hero3.
__________________
Heatware
ghost recon88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 04:55 PM   #10
FirewolfX
Member
 
FirewolfX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 154
Default

I really only use the 720p/60 fps option, it looks much more fluid and overall better than the 1080p setting (30 fps) on GP1
FirewolfX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 02:26 AM   #11
boom314
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Fullerton, CA
Posts: 447
Default

Heck, you can get the new Hero3 white model for $199 new
__________________
Heatware
boom314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 08:33 PM   #12
adairusmc
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 6,528
Default

You can always go with a Contour camera instead.
adairusmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 10:42 PM   #13
HendrixFan
Diamond Member
 
HendrixFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: ATX
Posts: 4,616
Default

That is a very busy scene for the bitrate the GoPro uses. I get a ton of blocking on fast motion video, but with the fisheye lens the subject always seems to come in pretty sharp. Good lighting seems to be the only limitation I have faced.

The camera has a purpose and it does very well at what it is designed to do. A wide shot of a million leaves that is completely static isn't that.

Here is a vid from two summers ago shortly after I got my GoPro. We were just playing around with it, not sure how the footage would come out. I think despite the general boringness of the video it illustrates pretty well what the camera is capable of and useful for.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DEWhp5EZrZM
__________________
Xeon L5639@3.9 - Asus Rampage III - G.SKILL 12GB
Asus Xonar DX -Unlocked MSI 6950/Sapphire 6950 Xfire
2 OCZ Vertex 2's RAID-0 - WD 4TB - WD 3TB
Dell u3011 - 2007fp - Klipsch 5.1 - CM HAF-X - Seasonic X750
HendrixFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.