Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Video Cards and Graphics

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-02-2012, 01:35 PM   #1
cctaylor88
Member
 
cctaylor88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 59
Lightbulb Is it possible?!

I own a NVIDIA GTX 460 graphics card. It has 2 DVI and 1 HDMI mini outputs...I currently have my 2 monitors connected via DVI and the TV connected via HDMI mini. I know that it doesn't support three devices at the same time, for instance I can only have 2 monitors on at once, or 1 monitor and the TV at one time because it will automatically shut the third device off.

Currently I have to either use dual monitor setup or primary monitor and TV. If I buy an HDMI splitter, will it allow me to have all three devices connected and on at the same time? For instance, If i connect the Primary Monitor/TV up to the splitter (which will be directly connected to PC) and the second monitor connected as is...can I have dual independent monitors running as well as have the TV mirror the primary monitor? Will I be able to have all three devices running at once even though this gpu wont support it?

I just want my TV to mirror primary monitor and have the second monitor be independent for dual-monitor usage. So is this possible? Primary/TV mirrored and secondary monitor independent (to use for dual-monitor usage)

Grapics card: GTX 460
Motherboard:ASUS M4A87
cctaylor88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 01:46 PM   #2
Jimzz
Platinum Member
 
Jimzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NoVA
Posts: 2,799
Default

Maybe if it was a powered spliter, but never tried it.

I think some do it for TVs but not sure about a monitor or how the computer/VC would react.
Jimzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 02:37 PM   #3
thebigbolgna
Diamond Member
 
thebigbolgna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 5,021
Default

I don't think it will work
__________________
HTPC: AMD X4 750K 4.5GHz | MSI 7850 2GB 1200/1375 | MSI A88XM-E35 | 8GB DDR3-1600 | 480GB Intel 530 | nMediaPC 5000B Case | Win 8.1 Pro |
Notebook: Dell E6330 13" | Intel i7-3540M | 16GB DDR3 | Samsung 830 256GB | Win 8.1 Pro |
Phone: OnePlus One 64GB
Console: PS4 500GB
thebigbolgna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 08:46 AM   #4
cctaylor88
Member
 
cctaylor88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 59
Default

Even if I buy an amplified splitter you dont think I could just have "two" primary monitors (my main/tv) and a secondary monitor? I thought this was the point of a splitter
cctaylor88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 08:57 AM   #5
PrincessFrosty
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 1,378
Default

I was considering this myself as I have a similar problem with my GTX 580 and 3 displays.

I believe it will work, although I've not tested it. You will need a signal both devices can accept, so the same resolution and the same refresh rate.

You'll probably find that HDCP, Vsync and a few other things might break as well, things that require essentially 2 way communication between the device and the video card.
__________________
Intel 2600k @ 4.9Ghz || ThermalRight TRUE Spirit 140
16Gb PC3-12800 || 2x MSI GTX580 Twin Frozr II in SLI
Dell 3007 WFP-HC 30" || BenQ XL2420T 24" 120hz

http://www.pcgamingstandards.com - PC Game fixes database.
PrincessFrosty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 09:13 AM   #6
cctaylor88
Member
 
cctaylor88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 59
Default

Hm well Im pretty sure that my TV and monitor don't have the same resolution and refresh rate. So am I SOL?
cctaylor88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 09:35 AM   #7
KingFatty
Platinum Member
 
KingFatty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2,499
Default

Well, let's assume the HDMI splitter works. How much would that cost?

Why even bother spending money on an HDMI splitter, when you could spend $9.99 on a second video card and get the functionality you want? I mean, that's the cost of a nice hamburger that you'd eat and crap into the toilet, why not use the money instead to just get a card to do some experimentation? If it doesn't work, you can just eat it and crap it into the toilet...
KingFatty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 09:38 AM   #8
cctaylor88
Member
 
cctaylor88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 59
Default

I can get a card for $10 that would support hdmi connection to a TV?
cctaylor88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 09:42 AM   #9
TemjinGold
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,421
Default

That you can crap into a toilet apparently.
__________________
Antec P182 | Seasonic X-660 | Cyberpower 1000PFCLCD |
Intel i5 2500k @4.2 w/ Corsair H55 | ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z |
16gb G.SKILL DDR3 1600 | ASUS GTX580 |
Sharp AQUOS LC-32LE700UN 32" LED HDTV | 1x 960 gb Crucial M500 |
1x 1TB Samsung F3 | Samsung SATA DVD Burner | Logitech Z-5500
TemjinGold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 09:53 AM   #10
Termie
Diamond Member
 
Termie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,940
Default

I use an hdmi splitter for my PS3, but to drive one tv and one av amp that has hdmi handshake problems with the tv (early gen equipment). It cost about $70, and it is in fact designed to output to two monitors. But it will only mirror, so the resolution would have to be the same. If you need a link to the product, just post that below.
__________________
Work: 3770K@4.4 | Hyper 212+ | Asus Max V Gene | HD7870 | 16GB | 830 256GB | TJ08B-E | x650 | U2713HM
Gaming: 4770K@4.5 | H100i | ASRock Z97 Ex4 | 290 Tri-X | 8GB | MX100 512GB | 500R | EVGA G2 850W | Asus VG248QE
HTPC: 4690K@4.2 | CM S524 | ASRock Z97E | 780 Ti | 8GB | 1TB SSHD | SG-08 | CX500M | Samsung 55" 4K
Building a rig? See The Tech Buyer's Guru PC Assembly Guide!
Want a bargain? Browse the TBG Hot Deals Blog!
Termie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 09:57 AM   #11
cctaylor88
Member
 
cctaylor88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 59
Default

Well I wouldnt spend $70 on a splitter or anything like that, so seriously if I installed a new video card specifically to use for my TV (adding a third device) what is the best route to go?
cctaylor88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 01:44 PM   #12
Jimzz
Platinum Member
 
Jimzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NoVA
Posts: 2,799
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cctaylor88 View Post
I can get a card for $10 that would support hdmi connection to a TV?

Newegg has a 6450 card for $25 AR right now.

A GT610 should be kinda cheap as well if you are anti-ATI/AMD, cheaper than a good splitter I would think.

EDIT
Opps you only have 1 16x port. Have to get a PCI card to do what you want.

Last edited by Jimzz; 11-05-2012 at 01:48 PM.
Jimzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 05:40 PM   #13
cctaylor88
Member
 
cctaylor88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 59
Default

What do you mean I only have 1 16x port what is that? And whats a PCI...thanks

Im not anti-anything as long as it gets the job done. But if I can buy a gpu that would support my TV over a splitter for the same cost wouldnt it be better to do that
cctaylor88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.