Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > General Hardware

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-04-2012, 02:47 PM   #1
HelloWorl
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 385
Default Question about hooking up a SCSI hard drive to a Windows 7 desktop

This may sound dumb, but I want to make sure I have the right idea....

I want to access the data on this hard drive:
http://reviews.cnet.com/system-hard-...-20199568.html


Can I just use this PCI card:
http://www.adaptec.com/en-us/support...160/asc-29160/

to connect to a Windows 7 64 bit box via one of these cables:
http://www.amazon.com/SCSI-HD68M-VHD...s=68hd+to+68hd


Thanks!
HelloWorl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 04:15 PM   #2
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 26,112
Default

If you look at the product page for that SCSI adaptor, it appears to only have 32-bit Windows 7 drivers.
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec
VirtualLarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 04:35 PM   #3
HelloWorl
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 385
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VirtualLarry View Post
If you look at the product page for that SCSI adaptor, it appears to only have 32-bit Windows 7 drivers.
Oh balls...
HelloWorl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 05:48 PM   #4
mfenn
Elite Member
Super Moderator
General Hardware
 
mfenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 21,014
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VirtualLarry View Post
If you look at the product page for that SCSI adaptor, it appears to only have 32-bit Windows 7 drivers.
Huh? There is Windows 7 x64 right there under Windows 7 on the page the the OP linked. Here's a direct link to the driver.

OP, the drive and the card you linked will work together, albeit only at Ultra 160 speeds. (Not that that really matters for your purposes). However, you've got the wrong type of cable. You need something like this plus a terminator.
mfenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 07:04 PM   #5
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 26,112
Default

Wow, I saw Windows 7, and didn't see the second line after it.
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec
VirtualLarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 01:44 AM   #6
HelloWorl
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 385
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mfenn View Post
Huh? There is Windows 7 x64 right there under Windows 7 on the page the the OP linked. Here's a direct link to the driver.

OP, the drive and the card you linked will work together, albeit only at Ultra 160 speeds. (Not that that really matters for your purposes). However, you've got the wrong type of cable. You need something like this plus a terminator.
Thanks a ton for the info. Where does the terminator come in to effect? I haven't played with SCSI before. I'm just getting some data off of an old hard drive, so I just need it to transfer data once and I'm good to go.
HelloWorl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 09:55 AM   #7
rsutoratosu
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2,345
Default

Terminator at the end of cable, before you start buying things, pm me
rsutoratosu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 01:37 AM   #8
HelloWorl
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 385
Default

PM sent!
HelloWorl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 07:43 PM   #9
mfenn
Elite Member
Super Moderator
General Hardware
 
mfenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 21,014
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HelloWorl View Post
Thanks a ton for the info. Where does the terminator come in to effect? I haven't played with SCSI before. I'm just getting some data off of an old hard drive, so I just need it to transfer data once and I'm good to go.
Basically what happens without a terminator is that the signal goes to the end of the cable and bounces back, interfering with the next signal. Parallel ATA had the same problem, but it didn't have as much of an effect because there were fewer wires and the signalling rate was lower. The terminator "absorbs" the signal when it hits the end of the cable.
mfenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 07:43 PM   #10
mfenn
Elite Member
Super Moderator
General Hardware
 
mfenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 21,014
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rsutoratosu View Post
Terminator at the end of cable, before you start buying things, pm me
Do I smell a pile of old terminators and cables sitting in a closet?
mfenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 11:23 AM   #11
rsutoratosu
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2,345
Default

Yes, i have tons of scsi stuff, even the ide to scsi 50 pin adapters. funny thing, i only have 1 internal cable left, everything is external. ahahha
rsutoratosu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 08:10 PM   #12
Jen
Elite Member
 
Jen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 24,110
Default

i had some problem with drivers for the 29160 card for windows 7 64 bit , however i forced drivers from vista 64 bit for windows 7 and t works fine.

i do have a few of these cards and cables with terminators along with alot of scsi drives

if need of anything just message me

Jen
__________________
Heatware
everyday is a adventure , never knowing where your going or where you been

Wanted
2.5 laptop drive 2TB
Jen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.