Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Video Cards and Graphics

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-02-2012, 06:28 PM   #1
dragantoe
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 596
Default crossfire 7870 psu

I need to know if my antec neo eco 520w psu is powerful enough to run crossfire hd 7870's (his iceq) and a 3570k or if I should just sell the 7870 and get a 7970, or even wait for the 8000 series...
thanks
dragantoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 12:16 AM   #2
UNhooked
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,511
Default

Not powerful enough. I have 2X 7970 and my total system power at stock levels while running benchmarks exceeds 600watts. Currently using an old Pc power and Cooling 750Wat Silencer PSU with a single rail of 60Amps

You may be able to get away using a single 7970 but I wouldn't think of OCing
__________________
Space for sale!
UNhooked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 08:57 AM   #3
aaksheytalwar
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3,128
Default

Not even close. If a single runs that should be enough for you.
__________________
3770k @ 4.3 with H100i, Asus Z77 Deluxe, Samsung 30nm 4x4gb ddr3 @ 1866 9-9-9-28 1T, MSI R9 290 Gaming 4G, Coolermaster Silent Pro Hybrid 1300 watts, Crucial M4 512gb, 3x Seagate 7200.14 3TB each
aaksheytalwar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 09:11 PM   #4
dragantoe
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 596
Default

alright, thanks for the reply, i should be fine with the 7870 until the 8000 series comes out anyways
dragantoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 09:26 PM   #5
lavaheadache
Diamond Member
 
lavaheadache's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cape Cod MA
Posts: 6,388
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by UNhooked View Post
Not powerful enough. I have 2X 7970 and my total system power at stock levels while running benchmarks exceeds 600watts. Currently using an old Pc power and Cooling 750Wat Silencer PSU with a single rail of 60Amps

You may be able to get away using a single 7970 but I wouldn't think of OCing
Nice to hear, I have my second 7970 on the way and am also using my trusty old pc power and cooling 750. I've been researching everything I can to find out if it'll be enough.
__________________
Video Card Specialist

sell me your 5950 Ultra

Heat 137-0-0 heatware 1 percentile
lavaheadache is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 11:09 PM   #6
dragantoe
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 596
Default

i think 750 would even be overkill 0_0
dragantoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 11:31 PM   #7
3DVagabond
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Christchurch, NZ
Posts: 7,990
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dragantoe View Post
i think 750 would even be overkill 0_0
While I agree that you will likely never use 750W while gaming with crossfired 7970's + 1xCPU, you will likely be in a very efficient operating range 90% of the time with a 750W PSU. I wouldn't call that overkill, but well optimized.
3DVagabond is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 03:54 PM   #8
UNhooked
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,511
Default

I am running 3 GPUs 2X 7970 @ 1000 and 1575 mem and 1 GTX 650. No OC on the CPU.
Planning to go watercooling soon so going to add a 18W pump.

This has been one awesome PSU.
__________________
Space for sale!
UNhooked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 05:26 PM   #9
UNhooked
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,511
Default

This user is selling the same PSU for a pretty good price

http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1713765
__________________
Space for sale!
UNhooked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 10:37 PM   #10
Powermoloch
Lifer
 
Powermoloch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Close to the Pacific
Posts: 10,057
Default

i'm running a rig with 2 7950 with 650 W PSU and it works fine at stock settings.
__________________
Gaming rig: Corsair 650-TX/ CM 690 Adv II / CM V-8 Cooler / 955 BE Phenom II / 16gb G.Skill Ares / Sapphire HD 7950 CF / Gigabyte MA785GT-UD3H/ Hitachi 500 Gb - Samsung F3 1 TB/ 39" Insignia LED TV
Browsing rig: Gateway DX-4200 09/ 2x2 Gb Ram DDR2 / Phenom 9150e / PNY GTS 250 XLR8 / BFG 550W Mod PSU
HTPC /Photochop rig: Phenom II 640 / 2x2 Gb Ram / MSI TFIII HD 7850/ 20" Acer LED
Powermoloch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.