|
|
 |
11-01-2012, 02:40 PM
|
#1
|
|
Diamond Member
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 3,794
|
Survey screens at AT
Just now I was reading the intro to the article
Quote:
|
Samsung Chromebook (XE303) Review:
|
I selected the READ MORE button and was suddenly accosted by a full red paged offer to take a survey and possibly win amongst other things and iPad. The text of the "offer" was in bright radiant blue.
Why?!
and how can I stop that from happening again?
|
|
|
11-02-2012, 10:13 AM
|
#2
|
|
Lifer
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 22,226
|
I've been getting those full-page survey screens on others sites, and my friend did too.
Malwarebytes comes out clean on both pcs. I don't think it's local malware. I actually suspect hacked servers.
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
|
|
|
11-04-2012, 09:07 PM
|
#3
|
|
Super Moderator Elite Member
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 26,641
|
The "why" is because of rogue advertisers that the 3rd party networks (Google, etc) keep accepting. The "how" is to break out your browser's development tools and help us figure out which ad network those ads are coming from so that we can have them removed.
__________________
ViRGE
Team Anandtech: Assimilating a computer near you!
GameStop - An upscale specialized pawnshop that happens to sell new games on the side
Todd the Wraith: On Fruit Bowls - I hope they prove [to be] as delicious as the farmers who grew them
|
|
|
11-05-2012, 09:48 AM
|
#4
|
|
Diamond Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,932
|
Don't know if this is the same, but I'm getting redirects to take a survey to win whatever every now and then. This happened on both my home desktop and my work laptop.
|
|
|
11-05-2012, 12:39 PM
|
#5
|
|
Lifer
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Central California
Posts: 16,573
|
The redirect url I received was:
http://testables.net/d/juicyru.com
I was on the forums when it happened (not the main AT site). Don't know if that helps (probably not).
|
|
|
11-05-2012, 06:36 PM
|
#6
|
|
Super Moderator Elite Member
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 26,641
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcsenter
|
Not really.  We have to know what ad network it came from, otherwise the ad people can't do anything about it.
__________________
ViRGE
Team Anandtech: Assimilating a computer near you!
GameStop - An upscale specialized pawnshop that happens to sell new games on the side
Todd the Wraith: On Fruit Bowls - I hope they prove [to be] as delicious as the farmers who grew them
|
|
|
11-05-2012, 07:31 PM
|
#7
|
|
Diamond Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 3,625
|
The last 2 times I have received an email for updates to this thread, I get this message:
Quote:
Be careful with this message. The sender's account may be compromised, so this message could be a scam to steal personal information. Ignore, I trust this message Learn more
Dear ketchup79,
ViRGE has just replied to a thread you have subscribed to entitled - Survey screens at AT - in the Technical Forum Issues forum of AnandTech Forums.
This thread is located at:
http://forums.anandtech.com/showthre...4&goto=newpost
|
I do not get this message with any other threads. I am using the latest version of firefox and gmail, if that helps.
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500k | Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 | 8 GB DDR3 | Gigabyte GeForce GTX 660 | Antec EarthWatts EA-650 BRONZE | Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB | COOLER MASTER CM Storm Series Trooper | COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 EVO
|
|
|
11-05-2012, 09:47 PM
|
#8
|
|
Super Moderator Elite Member
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 26,641
|
Apparently that's Google's generic warning for whenever they think a message may be a phising attempt.
http://support.google.com/mail/bin/a...answer=1074268
We're not compromised, and this is obviously not a phising attempt. I'm not really sure what to tell you other than to ignore the warning, since it's not something we can control.
__________________
ViRGE
Team Anandtech: Assimilating a computer near you!
GameStop - An upscale specialized pawnshop that happens to sell new games on the side
Todd the Wraith: On Fruit Bowls - I hope they prove [to be] as delicious as the farmers who grew them
|
|
|
11-06-2012, 05:43 AM
|
#9
|
|
Diamond Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 3,625
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by ViRGE
Apparently that's Google's generic warning for whenever they think a message may be a phising attempt.
http://support.google.com/mail/bin/a...answer=1074268
We're not compromised, and this is obviously not a phising attempt. I'm not really sure what to tell you other than to ignore the warning, since it's not something we can control.
|
Yeah, it's just odd. Nit a big deal. May be something in the thread title.
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500k | Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 | 8 GB DDR3 | Gigabyte GeForce GTX 660 | Antec EarthWatts EA-650 BRONZE | Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB | COOLER MASTER CM Storm Series Trooper | COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 EVO
|
|
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56 PM.
|