Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Networking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-27-2012, 07:02 PM   #1
SickBeast
Lifer
 
SickBeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 14,193
Default I need a "server" router (print server and file server)

Does one exist?

Basically I want a router that can turn my laser printer into a wireless printer, plus act as a file server for my 3tb external drive. I've seen routers with a USB port, but never one with two of them. Do they exist?

Thanks in advance for any info you might have.
__________________
Asus X53E l i3-2350M l 16gb DDR3 l OCZ Agility 4
SickBeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 07:12 PM   #2
JackMDS
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
JackMDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 26,352
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833320062


__________________
Jack
Microsoft, MVP - Networking.
JackMDS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 07:19 PM   #3
KillerBee
Senior Member
 
KillerBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 975
Default

pcper.com just started doing networking reviews
their first includes the ASUS RT-N66U

http://www.pcper.com/reviews/Network...dapter-Roundup
KillerBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 07:45 PM   #4
SickBeast
Lifer
 
SickBeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 14,193
Default

Thanks guys!

I actually found a refurb one for $80 with free shipping through newegg.ca. Hopefully it will work well!
__________________
Asus X53E l i3-2350M l 16gb DDR3 l OCZ Agility 4
SickBeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 08:04 PM   #5
KillerBee
Senior Member
 
KillerBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 975
Default

I was thinking of doing a refurbed one myself ...plz post back on how it works out.
I'm just not sure how newegg refurbs stuff

Does it get sent back to manufacturer for testing and packaging
or is it all done in house and what is their QA process?
KillerBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 09:10 PM   #6
SickBeast
Lifer
 
SickBeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 14,193
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vtx1300 View Post
I was thinking of doing a refurbed one myself ...plz post back on how it works out.
I'm just not sure how newegg refurbs stuff

Does it get sent back to manufacturer for testing and packaging
or is it all done in house and what is their QA process?
Yeah I'll definitely report back once I have it up and running.

I don't think newegg does the refurbing. It goes to the manufacturer. From what I hear, refurbs are more rigorously tested compared to new stuff.
__________________
Asus X53E l i3-2350M l 16gb DDR3 l OCZ Agility 4
SickBeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 09:49 PM   #7
KillerBee
Senior Member
 
KillerBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 975
Default

I wish it was like the Navy days...we sent bad parts back and get a report on what was replaced to fix it.

or else at least a "checked good - could not duplicate" type report
but it did mention the original problem
KillerBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 09:11 PM   #8
SickBeast
Lifer
 
SickBeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 14,193
Default

So the router arrived today. It works well but it won't connect to my 3tb external usb drive. After doing some digging it turns out that the drive only supports 2tb drives at the most.

Is there a way I can partition my drive so that it will work? I tried using a single 1.8tb partition but it's still not working. Any ideas?
__________________
Asus X53E l i3-2350M l 16gb DDR3 l OCZ Agility 4
SickBeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 02:10 PM   #9
SickBeast
Lifer
 
SickBeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 14,193
Default

Ok so I figured it out. You have to use an "MBR" partition table, then create the smaller partitions. It works great now! What a perfect NAS setup for wireless. It's giving me about 5mb/sec transfers which is as fast as I can get directly from another computer. I think the reviews said it will do around 15mb/sec which is good enough for me and I think it will work perfect to stream hd videos to my PS3 over a wired connection.

So far I'm very pleased with this router. I will report back once I have my printer hooked up to it. Thanks everyone for the input!
__________________
Asus X53E l i3-2350M l 16gb DDR3 l OCZ Agility 4
SickBeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 04:50 PM   #10
SickBeast
Lifer
 
SickBeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 14,193
Default

Hmm so now the 3tb drive is not working with the router at all. I've decided to sell the hard drive as I like the router. The print server works great. I'm just gonna use my 750gb external drive with the router.
__________________
Asus X53E l i3-2350M l 16gb DDR3 l OCZ Agility 4
SickBeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.