Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Power Supplies

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-03-2012, 09:06 AM   #1
MustangSVT
Lifer
 
MustangSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 11,530
Default What PSU would I need for an ITX build?

I am building up a new system and this time it'll be an ITX.

Components are, IB 3750k @ 4.5ghz (max). Itx z77 board , 8gb ram, HD6850, 1SSD and 1 HDD.

I read that I don't need crazy psu at all, would 300watt itx psu's be sufficient?
I will be using good brands.

updated: For those that are in similar situations, here is an update.

Components : 3750k @ 4.4ghz, Asrock itx z77e board, 8gb ram @ 2ghz, HD6850 OC, 1 SSD and 1 HHD, 2 140mm Fans.

I purchased a TFX PSU. It is 80+ approved 350w (400w max) by Powerstation ( a korean brand). I can't find any review but rating was good and total 44amp from 12v as well. It is high quality (coming from Antec earthwatt 450) and size is about 1/3 of the ATX psu.

With it all, I have no problem what so ever with using it for past week in both work and gaming.

I've ran all the benchmarks without problems and it doesnt have problem rendering in vray and various games.

I really thought you needed a high powered psu these days but I guess things got more efficient. So for 1gpu set ups, I recommend good quality 350w.


And I really wanted to keep the GEMIN II cpu cooler and Accelero I purchased from ZAP long time ago , so I built a custom case to keep all the sizes to minimam yet to have a vertical gpu configuration(like Raven). Not finished with details on the case, but so far so good. I am now debating Delid or not to delid... ahhhhh 4.4 @ 1.25v and it maxes around 70c.
__________________
The universe is indifferent.

Last edited by MustangSVT; 12-20-2012 at 11:42 PM.
MustangSVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 09:29 AM   #2
kleinkinstein
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Closet
Posts: 823
Default

No discrete GPU? The 3570k max TDP is only 77W. So 300W would be perfect.
kleinkinstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 09:37 AM   #3
Smoblikat
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3,715
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kleinkinstein View Post
No discrete GPU? The 3570k max TDP is only 77W. So 300W would be perfect.
HD6850

300w should still be fine.
__________________
3770K|ASrock Z77 Extreme11|4x8gb DDR3 1600|4xHD6970|1440P 120hz - Buzzard
X6 1055T|ASUS M4A89GTD-EVO USB3|2x4gb Gskill 1600|HD4870X2 + HD48701gb - Virgo
2xXeon L5639|EVGA SR2|6x8gb DDR3|4x2TB
Smoblikat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 11:09 AM   #4
MustangSVT
Lifer
 
MustangSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 11,530
Default

really? damn, current systems use less power than before?

I am currently using c2q
__________________
The universe is indifferent.
MustangSVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 09:19 PM   #5
Zap
Super Moderator
Off Topic
Elite Member
 
Zap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Somewhere Gillbot can't find me
Posts: 22,378
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MustangSVT View Post
really? damn, current systems use less power than before?
Depends on which "before." Also, most people overestimated power needs, or used crappy PSUs that couldn't actually put out what their label claimed. Also, hardware has evolved to use mostly +12v, and older PSUs didn't have as much power on that voltage but most of the newer and better PSUs do.

Older socket 1366 CPUs, Core 2 Quads and many of the AMD quad/hex CPUs were really power hungry compared to the 3570K Ivy Bridge. Also, some of the older graphics cards requiring a 6 pin as well as an 8 pin power connector were more power hungry than the current ones that only require two 6 pins. FYI a 6 pin is rated for 75W while an 8 pin is rated for 150W. The PCIe slot is rated for 75W. You can do the math. A Radeon 6850 has, what two 6 pin? So it can pull between 150W and 225W. CPU is 77W (not really, but close enough). HDDs take 5-10W though some older ones peak at 15W. Optical drives and SSDs take a lot less.

Regarding your ITX build, what case are you using? That will determine which PSU you use.
__________________
The best way to future-proof is to save money and spend it on future products. (Ken g6)

SSD turns duds into studs. (JBT)
Zap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 10:59 PM   #6
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 25,983
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zap View Post
A Radeon 6850 has, what two 6 pin? So it can pull between 150W and 225W.
Actually, it was the 6870 that has two 6-pin, most 6850 were a single 6-pin. At least that's what I remember.
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec
VirtualLarry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 01:39 PM   #7
Zap
Super Moderator
Off Topic
Elite Member
 
Zap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Somewhere Gillbot can't find me
Posts: 22,378
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VirtualLarry View Post
Actually, it was the 6870 that has two 6-pin, most 6850 were a single 6-pin. At least that's what I remember.
Hey, you are right. I searched for one and found this card. I looked at the image of the PCB and saw two sets of solder pads. If I had looked at the angled image, I would have seen only a single 6 pin connector. The card probably recycles a 6870 PCB. Thus, it uses between 75W and 150W.
__________________
The best way to future-proof is to save money and spend it on future products. (Ken g6)

SSD turns duds into studs. (JBT)
Zap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 06:56 PM   #8
MustangSVT
Lifer
 
MustangSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 11,530
Default

Yep my HD6850 uses only 1 6-pin. Its good to know c2q is more power hungry. Then I can reuse my antec 450w although I was looking at smaller form factors.

I haven't decided on the case yet but It's hard to find an ITX case that has what I'm looking for.

I want it to have:

1. Small for ITX mobo and doesn't have extra bulk
2. Takes full size PCIE card (i'll be reusing hd6850 in this case)
3. Has full clearance for a tall CPU cooler (same space as atx cases)
4. has space for just SSD and a HDD, no extra space.
5. no need for optical drive

Many of the Lian Li's small cases are great, except they all place psu over the cpu area so I have to use OEM heatsink or low profile ones.

A case like bitfenix Prodigy is nice except it almost doubles the space I am going to use and is much too large.

I am thinking about doing a custom build in the end.
__________________
The universe is indifferent.
MustangSVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 02:58 AM   #9
lehtv
Diamond Member
 
lehtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9,930
Default

I think you should just forget about the CPU cooler clearance issue. I mean, you can get decent enough cooling with a low profile cooler. Overclocking a CPU so much that it'd need a bulky tower cooler to dissipate heat would not be a good idea in a cramped ITX case anyway. You should limit the 3570K OC to about 4.2GHz which can be done at stock voltage or at most a very small voltage boost.

Is this too big?

Cooler Master Elite 120
Internal 3.5" Drive Bays: 3 (of which two can convert to 2x 2.5" bays)
USB 3.0 x 1 front port
80mm + 120mm fans
ATX PSU support
Full size GPU support
9.4" x 8.2" x 15.8"
Fits a GeminII M4 cooler
__________________
System specs
lehtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 11:38 PM   #10
MustangSVT
Lifer
 
MustangSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 11,530
Default

thanks everyone, update on top!
__________________
The universe is indifferent.
MustangSVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.