Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Operating Systems

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-04-2012, 12:14 PM   #1
Compman55
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 964
Default Windows 8, no aero transparent windows

I may be dumb, but it appears windows 9 took a step back. The forground window does not appear to be transparent like windows 7. Is there a way to turn this on?
__________________
-Main: Fractal Arc Midi R2 | Z87-Pro | E3-1245V3 | 32GB | M500 240GB | Antec HCG-620m PSU | Win7x64 Pro | Dual Dell U2414H Borderless IPS Panels w/ MDS14 stand |
-HTPC: Mac mini | P7550 2.26 | 8GB | 500GB 7K500 | OS X 10.6.8 | Win7x64 Ultimate |
-Lappy: Dell Latitude D820 | C2D 2.0 | 2GB | 128GB Samsung 830 SSD | 15.4" WXGA | Win7 x86 Ultimate |
-Server: G2020 | 8GB | 500GB WD Black (OS)| 2x Seagate 4TB | 2x Segate 2TB |
Compman55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 12:47 PM   #2
JackMDS
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
JackMDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 26,352
Default

Partially - http://betanews.com/2012/09/07/get-aero-on-windows-8/

http://www.neowin.net/news/windows-8...ack-via-modder


__________________
Jack
Microsoft, MVP - Networking.
JackMDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 06:21 PM   #3
cmdrdredd
Lifer
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 19,838
Default

These utilities mess up your windows 8 install. Don't bother since I see a lot of reports of black screens and errors popping up. As of now there isn't really any way to get aero back and keep a stable system.
__________________
Asus Maximus V Gene | 3570k @ 4.5 | 8GB Samsung 30nm @ 2133 | EVGA GTX 670 FTW SLI @ 1230/6765
2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD | WD 300GB Velociraptor | Lite-On HBS212 BD-R | Corsair HX1000 PSU
Cooler Master HAF 932 | Yamakasi Catleap Q270 | Windows 8.1 Pro
cmdrdredd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.