Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Networking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-04-2012, 10:07 AM   #1
Shyatic
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,938
Default How to configure wireless 5GHz or 2.4GHz..

I have the Asus Black Diamond RT-N56U.

I configured the 2.4Ghz and 5.0Ghz wireless settings exactly the same. I have an issue with poor signal performance in the upstairs of my house, which isn't that far, but for whatever reason it's very poor quality in the signal on my cell phones, Nexus 7 and Kindle Fire.

Any suggestions on how to configure wireless? I am going to try to disable the 5GHz band to see if it improves anything for me. I don't need the highest speeds; I need only enough for fast internet speeds on my laptop, but not for file transfers.

Thanks for any advice!
__________________
Heatware
Shyatic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 10:16 AM   #2
JackMDS
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
JackMDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 26,392
Default

Switching Off the 5GHz will Not improve anything.

Give each Radio its own SSID, and use the same WAP2 (AES personal) for both.

Wireless clients that can use the 5GHz Radio will show both Radios in the available Wireless Networks and you can try one or the other ans see wahts work better.

Single radio clients (2.5GHZ) will not even show the 5GHz as available.

You should know that in many environments multiple APs are needed to provide good Wireless.

In many cases there is No Magic Wireless Router that can cover whatever One desires.


__________________
Jack
Microsoft, MVP - Networking.

Last edited by JackMDS; 11-05-2012 at 09:19 AM.
JackMDS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 10:49 AM   #3
Shyatic
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,938
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JackMDS View Post
Switching Off the 5GHz will Not improve anything.

Give each Radio its own SSID, and use the same WAP2 (AES personal) for both.

Wireless clients that can use the 5GHz Radio will show both Radios in the available Wireless Networks and you can try one or the other ans see wahts work better.

Single radio clients (2.5GHZ) will not even show the 5GHz as available.

You should know that in may environments multiple APs are needed to provide good Wireless.

In many cases there is No Magic Wireless Router that can cover whatever One desires.


That's what I figured

I guess that I will just order another router or AP to extend this one... any suggestions on a cheap AP?
__________________
Heatware
Shyatic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 12:39 PM   #4
JackMDS
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
JackMDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 26,392
Default

If you do Not want Dual Radio (i.e., only 2.4GHz) and have the flexibility of DD_WRT (in case you want to use as a repeater).

Look at the Asus selection - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...E&PageSize=100

Otherwise the Refurb. Dual radio Cisco E2500 is probably the best deal.

http://homestore.cisco.com/en-us/Rou...VVviewprod.htm



__________________
Jack
Microsoft, MVP - Networking.

Last edited by JackMDS; 11-04-2012 at 12:41 PM.
JackMDS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 12:55 PM   #5
Shyatic
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,938
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JackMDS View Post
If you do Not want Dual Radio (i.e., only 2.4GHz) and have the flexibility of DD_WRT (in case you want to use as a repeater).

Look at the Asus selection - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...E&PageSize=100

Otherwise the Refurb. Dual radio Cisco E2500 is probably the best deal.

http://homestore.cisco.com/en-us/Rou...VVviewprod.htm



Thanks Jack... got the 2500, I just need the WiFi so it's ideal. DD-WRT better if I'm using it as an AP?
__________________
Heatware
Shyatic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 01:28 PM   #6
JackMDS
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
JackMDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 26,392
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scribe View Post
Thanks Jack... got the 2500, I just need the WiFi so it's ideal. DD-WRT better if I'm using it as an AP?
The stock firmware is Good, use DD-WRT only if you need a feature that is Not available in the stock firmware.



__________________
Jack
Microsoft, MVP - Networking.
JackMDS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 03:05 PM   #7
spidey07
No Lifer
 
spidey07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 65,443
Default

Also keep in mind antenna performance is VERY poor directly above and below omnidirectional antennas (what you have) if they are positioned vertically. Try to keep your problem clients at 90 degrees to the antenna.
__________________
___
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")
spidey07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 09:00 PM   #8
Chunkee
Lifer
 
Chunkee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 10,391
Default

What is the best firmware for this router. I have one and feel as thought its dropping or cutting out. I am on 1.0.1.8d. Also, is there a site that is good at explaining all the configuration settings? There are so many and I looked at that Russian firmware, but those dudes are like leaps ahead of the curve and I am not a Linux guru. Ty.

Jc
Chunkee is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.