Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Memory and Storage

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-04-2012, 05:18 AM   #1
NewSocket
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Default Intel RST driver do not support unlocked K models

I was thinking of buying a Samsung 840 Pro and an Intel Core I7 3770 K processor.

But according to this you need to have a processor that support the vPro technology.And the unlocked "K" model do not.

http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Deta...&DownloadType=

see the READ ME (txt)

Because of performence reasons i would like to install the IRST driver.
But i would also like to have full TRIM functionality.
I am not planning any RAID array.But i will set the bios in AHCI or RAID mode.

Is this a non issue or do have to worry?

From the READ ME (txt)
1. The system must contain one of the Intel controllers listed in section 1 above and one of the following processors: - Intel(R) vPro - Intel(R) Celeron - Intel(R) Pentium








NewSocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 05:43 AM   #2
ShintaiDK
Lifer
 
ShintaiDK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 11,039
Default

Non issue.

vPro is a set of business featurs and require the Q series chipset.

http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/...y-general.html
__________________
Anandtech forums=Xtremesystems forums
ShintaiDK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 08:18 AM   #3
taltamir
Lifer
 
taltamir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 13,549
Default

I think the op is referring to the following from the intel RST driver readme:
http://downloadmirror.intel.com/2186...1.6_readme.txt
Quote:
************************************************** **********
* 2. SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS
************************************************** **********

1. The system must contain one of the Intel controllers listed in
section 1 above and one of the following processors:
- Intel(R) vPro
- Intel(R) Celeron
- Intel(R) Pentium
This is simply false. vPro is not a processor brand but a feature some processors have. And RST works just fine with any intel processor. not just the low end celerons and pentiums.
__________________
How to protect your data guide
AA Naming Guide

I do not have a superman complex; for I am God, not superman!
The internet is a source of infinite information; the vast majority of which happens to be wrong.
taltamir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 09:35 AM   #4
NewSocket
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks for answering.

The non "k" 3770 is not low end and it support vPro

http://ark.intel.com/products/65719/

http://ark.intel.com/products/65523

Just wondering why Intel write this.And maybe some TRIM issues was because of using not vPro supported "K" models.

But i hope your right. I think i am reading too much
NewSocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 10:09 AM   #5
BonzaiDuck
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 7,157
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NewSocket View Post
Thanks for answering.

The non "k" 3770 is not low end and it support vPro

http://ark.intel.com/products/65719/

http://ark.intel.com/products/65523

Just wondering why Intel write this.And maybe some TRIM issues was because of using not vPro supported "K" models.

But i hope your right. I think i am reading too much
Well, they're a big company, they have a wide and diverse product-line to support -- with features that add more support requirements. It's just that we enthusiasts have more questions than the answers they provide, or we wonder whether their own answers are reliable.
BonzaiDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 10:14 AM   #6
taltamir
Lifer
 
taltamir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 13,549
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NewSocket View Post
And maybe some TRIM issues was because of using not vPro supported "K" models.
That doesn't make any sense. vPro is only mentioned as a required CPU model (and its not a CPU model name but a feature name) for the storage driver as a whole not for TRIM functionality within the storage driver.
Furthermore, most if not all of celeron and Pentium labeled processors would not have vPro and yet both are listed as supported processors as well.
__________________
How to protect your data guide
AA Naming Guide

I do not have a superman complex; for I am God, not superman!
The internet is a source of infinite information; the vast majority of which happens to be wrong.

Last edited by taltamir; 11-04-2012 at 10:17 AM.
taltamir is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.