Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Consumer Electronics > Audio/Video & Home Theater

· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· AMD Video Cards
· Nvidia
· Displays
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2015
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions

Thread Tools
Old 11-04-2012, 03:31 AM   #1
Diamond Member
Martingale's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6,107
Default Multi-input speakers

Hey guys, does anybody know if there is any elegant solution to having multiple devices that you wish to hook up to your speaker system? For instance, in my room, throughout the day, I hook up my iPod, laptop and DJ gear to my speaker system. To do this I have multiple cables that I keep switching between as my speakers only take one set of inputs.

This is a bit annoying. I'm looking for a set-up where I can connect all my devices to a switchboard and then connect the switchboard to my speakers. Similar to how the old KVB monitor switches used to allow you to alternate between video inputs on your monitors. I know some speakers have multiple inputs, but apparently its risky to have two sets of live inputs into a speaker system at once.

Anybody found a solution to this dilemma?
Martingale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 09:31 AM   #2
No Lifer
sdifox's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North of Tonto, ON
Posts: 57,926

audio switch...

something like this. it is meant for video + audio, but nothing stops you from just using the audio portion. Not recommending this particular one, just an example.

Ever screw so much you get a blister? - Rubycon
I'm not a f$*#@ing machine! - Rubycon
PowerEdge R710 2 Xeon L5640, 24GB ram, 2 256GB SSD 25TB on external hdd with pFsense and PLEX in hyper-v

Last edited by sdifox; 11-04-2012 at 09:39 AM.
sdifox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 03:22 PM   #3
Diamond Member
Martingale's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6,107

Perfect, thanks!
Martingale is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:05 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Alpha 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.