Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Power Supplies

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-03-2012, 06:52 PM   #1
rob426
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 26
Default Corsair HX620 psu, enough to run GTX670?

Hi

Plan on buying this card

Gigabyte GTX 670 [Link]

the link does not tell you what the minimum watts and amps are for this card, but looking at other 670s, they say 500watts and 30amps on +12 rail. although my psu is 620w im not sure about the amps?

Corsair HX620 specs [Here] (Info at bottom of page)

Also are all these cards backward compatable? , as my mb only has PCI Express 1.0 (Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R)

Pc is not OC

Cheers
rob426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 09:06 PM   #2
BFG10K
Lifer
 
BFG10K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 20,264
Default

That PSU will be ample. I've run a much more power-hungry GTX480 on my 560W unit without any trouble at all.

With that said, itís an older unit and looks about 80 plus, so maybe try a newer gold/platinum version if you're shopping for a new PSU? You'll get about 10-15% more efficiency and this will be quite noticeable in terms of less heat output.

But for an older unit, itís very good.

And PCIe is backward and forward compatible, though some older motherboards may need a BIOS update to see newer cards.
__________________
i5 2500K | Titan | 16GB DDR3-1600 | GA-P67A-UD3-B3 | 128GB Samsung 830 | 960GB Crucial M500 | 1TB VelociRaptor | X-Fi XtremeMusic | Seasonic X 560W | Fractal Arc R2 | 30" HP LP3065
BFG10K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 09:17 PM   #3
lehtv
Diamond Member
 
lehtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9,585
Default

PCIe 1.0 may not be compatible with PCIe 3.0 hardware... IIRC the full backwards compatibility only goes back to PCIe 1.1
__________________
System specs
lehtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 11:02 PM   #4
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 24,436
Default

I have a P35-DS3R v1.0 rev, and I've used HD4850, and GTX460 1GB cards in it, no problem. I have yet to try a PCI-E 3.0 card in it, but I have no reason to believe that it wouldn't work.
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec
VirtualLarry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 06:47 AM   #5
rob426
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 26
Default

Thanks for the replys

found this post on anandtech [Link]

Post says will work on pci-e 1.0 but as my cpu is a E6750 (2 core @2.66),
which will be a bottleneck for cpu dependent games.

Was planing to upgrade the whole system next year, thought I could get the gf card in the meantime. Ill give it more thought.
rob426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.