Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Home Theater PCs

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-28-2012, 07:08 PM   #1
Greenlepricon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 397
Default Favorite OS for HTPC

So I've got my parts lined up and ready to order for my htpc, and am now just curious about which operating systems everyone likes to use. I'll do my own experimenting if I don't just default to Windows 7, but I'm curious about what you guys think.
Greenlepricon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 08:00 PM   #2
wirednuts
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 7,121
Default

if its an e350 or faster machine, then use win7
wirednuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 08:36 PM   #3
assassin24
HTPC Moderator
 
assassin24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 392
Default

Another vote for Win 7 x64
assassin24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 11:11 PM   #4
Fox5
Diamond Member
 
Fox5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,701
Default

Depends on needs and price sensitivity.

Generally, there's no downside to Windows for this purpose, other than cost. But if you don't need live TV recording, then the Linux options are of equal quality to windows for practically all intents and purposes...except for poor flash player performance and a lack of Netflix/silverlight.
__________________
ebay
Look up bluefox451

heatware
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=35565
Fox5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 02:49 AM   #5
Greenlepricon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 397
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fox5 View Post
Depends on needs and price sensitivity.

Generally, there's no downside to Windows for this purpose, other than cost. But if you don't need live TV recording, then the Linux options are of equal quality to windows for practically all intents and purposes...except for poor flash player performance and a lack of Netflix/silverlight.
I have Ubuntu installed on my laptop, and really miss the ability to watch Netflix and play some games (at least without going through a really long process to get them working). To me that's the biggest advantage of having windows. If not for this, then I would love to use Ubuntu.
Greenlepricon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 03:09 AM   #6
fread2281
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fox5 View Post
Generally, there's no downside to Windows for this purpose, other than cost. But if you don't need live TV recording, then the Linux options are of equal quality to windows for practically all intents and purposes...except for poor flash player performance and a lack of Netflix/silverlight.
You can do TV recording on Linux, and also flash gpu acceleration, so Netflix is the major issue.
fread2281 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 07:51 AM   #7
Fox5
Diamond Member
 
Fox5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,701
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fread2281 View Post
You can do TV recording on Linux, and also flash gpu acceleration, so Netflix is the major issue.
Can you do cable card recording on Linux?
Also, you have to pay extra for TV guide data on Linux, which will quickly eat into the cost of a Windows license for media center...

And flash still works way better on Windows, which is especially important on low end hardware like an E-350.
__________________
ebay
Look up bluefox451

heatware
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=35565
Fox5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 09:36 AM   #8
techpun
Member
 
techpun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 27
Default

i say win7 with plex .. and some unified remote love, if you have a android tablet or phone.
techpun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 08:27 PM   #9
Cerpin Taxt
Diamond Member
 
Cerpin Taxt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 9,521
Default

I use Linux Mint with XBMC on my HTPC, and I have a downloader box running SickBeard/CouchPotato/SABnzbd on Ubuntu. I don't really watch live TV, but I do have a HDHomerun dual tuner on my network that I'm not really using. I understand that I can drive it with MythTV backend and there is a frontend add-on for XBMC for live TV, but I haven't been suitably motivated to get it working.

In the past I had run MythTV frontend and backend which did DVR and commercial flagging, but since the digital transition the number of unencrypted channels dropped drastically.

All I'd really be interested in for live TV would be sporting events, so I may eventually get around to getting the HDhomerun active again.
__________________
"A faith that cannot survive collision with the truth is not worth many regrets." ~ Arthur C. Clarke.

Always nice to meet another solipsist...
Cerpin Taxt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 06:10 AM   #10
flocko
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 18
Default

Win 7 = "Tried and True" Hands down in my opinion .
flocko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 02:14 PM   #11
pkscout
Junior Member
 
pkscout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 24
Default

I use Windows 7 just for flexibility when having to deal with DRM. With Win7 I have the option to record encrypted cable broadcasts, view content purchased from iTunes or Amazon, and streams like Hulu and Netflix. If I was just recording off the air broadcasts and/or analog signals, I'd probably go with a Linux variant of some sort.

Last edited by pkscout; 11-21-2012 at 05:34 PM. Reason: fixed atrocious autoincorrect errors from my mobile
pkscout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 11:59 PM   #12
thestrangebrew1
Golden Member
 
thestrangebrew1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,390
Default

just out of curiosity, I have a server (in my sign) running whs11. could I use this as my htpc? posted earlier about my first run in with cinavia & I'd like to avoid this again by just using my server as an htpc as well. I thought I read somewhere that a server shouldn't really be used for anything but serving.
__________________
Rig: i7 2700k, asrock extreme 4 gen3, 60 gb OCZ Vertex ssd, 128 gb Plextor M3 ssd, samsung spinpoint 1tb hd, 16gb gskill sniper series, EVGA GTX 670 FTW, antec hcg 750w psu

Server: Intel g630, Biostar H61, 4gb gskill ram, antec 400w eco psu
thestrangebrew1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 12:56 AM   #13
gevorg
Diamond Member
 
gevorg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 4,704
Default

any OS that can run XBMC
gevorg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 01:42 AM   #14
Cerpin Taxt
Diamond Member
 
Cerpin Taxt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 9,521
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gevorg View Post
any OS that can run XBMC
XBMCbuntu was kinda disappointing when I tried it. It did install and run right away with little to no configuration that I can recall, but I was quickly frustrated by the ultra-sparse Open Box desktop environment loaded with it. While I know I could've loaded a different one, I just decided to start with a fresh Mint installation and then install XBMC onto it. Much happier to have a feature-rich desktop environment like Mint readily available for browsing, file management and maintenance.
__________________
"A faith that cannot survive collision with the truth is not worth many regrets." ~ Arthur C. Clarke.

Always nice to meet another solipsist...
Cerpin Taxt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 08:35 AM   #15
spencers
Senior Member
 
spencers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 394
Default

OpenELEC XBMC
__________________
Lian Li Q25B | ASUS P8H77 | i3-3220T | 4GB HyperX DDR3 1600 | 4x2TB | unRAID
Intel DC3217IYE Next Unit of Computing | i3-3217U | 4GB Crucial DDR3 1600 | 32GB Crucial mSATA | HTPC
Heatware: http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=9600
spencers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 12:32 PM   #16
Activate: AMD
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 7
Default

win 7 is what I use. Theres enough customization software that I don't see a need to use any of the linux/XBMC alternatives. Of course, I also use cable card on my HTPC, which dictates win7...
Activate: AMD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 10:59 PM   #17
stevech
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 203
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Activate: AMD View Post
win 7 is what I use. Theres enough customization software that I don't see a need to use any of the linux/XBMC alternatives. Of course, I also use cable card on my HTPC, which dictates win7...

If you intend to look at cable channels other than local broadcast, you'll need to go with Windows 7 and windows media center. I think it's the only software which is permitted by the industry to decrypt.

Or - I used to use a second cable box connected to a Hauppauge HD-PVR via HD component video. Then use Sage TV software. But Sage TV is a dead duck since Google acquired them and stirred them into the corporate soup, never to be seen again.

We wonder if Microsoft will drop Windows Media center sometime soon.
stevech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 11:07 PM   #18
poofyhairguy
Diamond Member
 
poofyhairguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6,883
Default

On a Nvidia box I still recommend Linux. Its easier to force the system to just be an media appliance with Linux.

But anything with an AMD or Intel GPU almost needs Windows for full potential.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaap View Post
I want [my phone's] limits to only be what's not technically possible, not what some company/guru has decided I shouldn't be able to do.
poofyhairguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 10:27 PM   #19
dirksquarejaw
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 30
Default

Another vote for win 7 64 bit. No issues at all.
dirksquarejaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 10:52 PM   #20
Zorander
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 999
Default

I had always used Win7 as the OS for my HTPC and been happy with it. I checked this thread to see if there is actually a more "proper" or streamlined OS for HTPC purposes; apparently I made the right decision the first time.

So another vote for Win7!
Zorander is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 12:47 AM   #21
ussfletcher
Platinum Member
 
ussfletcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: MSU at heart
Posts: 2,522
Default

If I didn't need live video recording (and simplicity) I'd be using linux with xbmc. However live recording was always a requirement for me and until extremely recently windows media center was the best/easiest option for that.
ussfletcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 08:22 AM   #22
Charlie98
Diamond Member
 
Charlie98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 3,808
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zorander View Post
I had always used Win7 as the OS for my HTPC and been happy with it. I checked this thread to see if there is actually a more "proper" or streamlined OS for HTPC purposes; apparently I made the right decision the first time.

So another vote for Win7!
Same here... Planning on getting a Win7 disk, hopefully on sale on BF, for my HTPC build.
__________________
DESK: i5 2500K, Giga Z68MA-D2H-B3, 212+ P/P, M5Pro 256GB, 2TB Seagate, 2x 4GB Samsung RAM, EVGA 760SC ACX, Corsair TX750v2, Fractal Define Mini, W7
HTPC: Pentium G620, Giga B75M-D3H, Agility3 64GB, 2 x 3TB HDD, 2x 2GB Nanya RAM, Diamond HD6450, Corsair CX430v2, Fractal Define Mini, W7, WMC/MB
DESK3: Pentium G3220, Giga H81M-H, 840Pro 256GB, Team 2x 4GB RAM, EVGA 560Ti 448, Corsair CX430M, Fractal Arc Mini, W8.1
Charlie98 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 01:17 PM   #23
radioouman
Diamond Member
 
radioouman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 8,628
Default

I use OS X.
radioouman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 02:13 PM   #24
Mfusick
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 500
Default

Window 7 x64.

It's how I roll.
Mfusick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.