Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Power Supplies

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-02-2012, 12:09 PM   #1
dcproulx
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 8
Default Higher Consumption on PSU Upgrade?

Hello everyone, my first post although I've been lurking for years.

I'm getting ready to upgrade my HTPC, to start I upgraded my PSU from an Allied AL-8250SFX that came with my old MI-008 m-itx case, to a Corsair CX430 (I know, but hey, $25?) in my newer Silverstone ML03. I was rather surprised to see the idle power jump from 28w to 34w, and load from 51w to 73w, that is with the optical drive now removed (it won't fit, going external to save power anyhow).

The question that is really bothering me is, what was not getting juice before the upgrade? Is it just that the new psu is underutilized (for now) and is therefore not as efficient? Or was something being underpowered the whole time I was using the system? Was I inadvertently underclocking my cpu? Was that why my memory always seemed to be wonky? And on my PC too?

Once I upgrade, I'm sure the psu will be more efficient, I don't think the old one would power my new build, or if it did, it would be stretched. Feel free to comment on that, and on my new build if you want, I'm open to suggestions! Thanks!

btw, I was originally looking more for a psu in the 300w range, but I just couldn't resist this deal.

Allied:+5V/+3.3V: 115W, +12V:192W Corsair: :+5V/+3.3V: 110W, +12V:384W

Old Build:

Case:Apex MI-008 m-ITX
PSU: Allied AL-8250SFX
MB: Zotac GF9300-D-E m-ITX LGA775 GeForce 9300
CPU: Intel Pentium Dual Core E5300 2.6GHz 2MB 800FSB 65W
RAM: OCZ Platinum XTC REV.2 PC2-6400 4GB 2X2GB DDR2-800
HD ADATA AS510S3-120GM-C 120GB
WD2002FAEX Black 2TB Sata2 Ser#WMAY01069199
Other: LG GGC-H20L BLU-RAY/HD-DVD
Belkin F5D8053 N Wireless Draft N 802.11N USB Adapter
Scythe YD-8V08 18-IN-1 Floppy Disk Drive and Card Reader C

New Build:

Case: Silverstone ML03
PSU: Corsair CX430 "V2"
MB: AsRock FM2A75 Pro 4
CPU: A10-5800K or A8-5600K
RAM: 8GB DDR3 1600
HD same for now
Other: LG GGC-H20L BLU-RAY/HD-DVD (via eSata, heh heh!)
Belkin F5D8053 N Wireless Draft N 802.11N USB Adapter
Some fancy 5 1/4 drive bay device w/card reader, LCD?
dcproulx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 12:24 AM   #2
BFG10K
Lifer
 
BFG10K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 20,394
Default

PSUs are generally most efficient at 45%-55% loads. Also higher wattage PSUs tend to use more power than lower wattage PSUs at very load loads (e.g. an idle rig).

So if your second unit has a higher capacity than your first unit and both have roughly equal efficiency, what you’re seeing is normal.

This is one of the reasons not to get a totally overkill PSU for your needs, though obviously not everyone is concerned about this fact.
__________________
4790K | Titan | 16GB DDR3-1600 | Z97-K | 128GB Samsung 830 | 960GB Crucial M500 | 1TB VelociRaptor | X-Fi XtremeMusic | Seasonic X 560W | Fractal Arc R2 Midi | 30" HP LP3065

Last edited by BFG10K; 11-03-2012 at 12:29 AM.
BFG10K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 03:53 AM   #3
blastingcap
Diamond Member
 
blastingcap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5,773
Default

Rightsize your PSU with a high-quality PSU of the appropriate wattage and you will have higher efficiency = pays for itself. The best Gold/Platinum PSUs are so efficient that there isn't even much of a PSU fan noise penalty because so much energy goes into DC power that there isn't as much left over for the PSU to dissipate.

Or you could follow ancient "advice" from posters following ~2002 "common wisdom" and get oversized PSUs "just in case" and suffer lower efficiency AND get to pay more for the privilege.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoFox View Post
We had to suffer polygonal boobs for a decade because of selfish corporate reasons.
Main: 3570K + R9 290 + 16GB 1866 + AsRock Extreme4 Z77 + Eyefinity 5760x1080 eIPS
blastingcap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 12:02 PM   #4
dcproulx
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 8
Default

OK, thanks, I guess I got carried away by the deal and over sized. :-(

I'll look for a more efficient unit in the 300w range. Thanks!!!
dcproulx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 12:45 PM   #5
TemjinGold
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,420
Default

I would just keep what you bought. The difference in savings is nearly nonexistent at those loads.
__________________
Antec P182 | Seasonic X-660 | Cyberpower 1000PFCLCD |
Intel i5 2500k @4.2 w/ Corsair H55 | ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z |
16gb G.SKILL DDR3 1600 | ASUS GTX580 |
Sharp AQUOS LC-32LE700UN 32" LED HDTV | 1x 960 gb Crucial M500 |
1x 1TB Samsung F3 | Samsung SATA DVD Burner | Logitech Z-5500
TemjinGold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 03:04 PM   #6
dcproulx
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 8
Default

I'm going to use it with the new build, if I'm not happy, I'll go looking again. It's really just a few watts, so yeah...

Thanks!
dcproulx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.