Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > General Hardware

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-29-2012, 05:46 PM   #1
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 25,065
Default Upgrade a relative's rig (now my new HTPC)

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813138333

I purchased the above motherboard, when Newegg was offering their free 8GB of DDR3-1600 bundle deal. (Figures they would discount the board another $10 after discontinuing that deal.)

Anyways, it need to go into a GlobalWin slimline micro-ATX case with like a 200W PSU.

http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?t=56867

I still need to choose a CPU to go in it. Let me see if I can find a pic or review of that case.

http://www.madshrimps.be/articles/ar...#axzz2AjOVPKih

I don't know what the max TDP is for that case. It comes with a 60mm side fan, and a vent on the opposite side.

I can choose between 65W TDP dual-core LLanos, or 100W quad-cores, or a 65W triple-core that is kind of factory downclocked a bit to save TDP.
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec

Last edited by VirtualLarry; 11-06-2012 at 07:35 PM.
VirtualLarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 05:57 PM   #2
mfenn
Elite Member
Moderator
General Hardware
 
mfenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 20,427
Default

A 100W CPU would be pretty toasty in a case like that with such minimal ventilation. Either that or you'd have to slap a really loud 60mm fan on there. Best stick with the 65W chips.
mfenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 05:57 PM   #3
T_Yamamoto
Lifer
 
T_Yamamoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: North Carolina State University
Posts: 13,651
Default

I'd choose a 65watt because that case has little ventilation unless you want to mod it a little
__________________
i5 4430 | MSI B85M-P33 | Gigabyte Windforce R9 270x | Random 4gb + 2gb RAM
XFX ProSeries 450W | Intel 530 128gb + Toshiba Canvio 1tb External HDD | Windows 7
NZXT Vulcan | Dell E2414H
Heatware | Steam
T_Yamamoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 06:40 PM   #4
dave_the_nerd
Diamond Member
 
dave_the_nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,947
Default

What else is he running in there? May be time for a larger PSU. (They can degrade over time.)

I'd also stick with 65w. Max.
__________________
Scientific progress goes "Boink?"

Windows Gaming Box: AsRock Z77E-ITX / i5-3570k @ 4GHz / 8GB RAM / GTX 660Ti / Samsung EVO 250GB / Seagate Momentus 750GB / Silverstone SG05. NAS: Foxconn D-70S-P (Celeron 1037U) / 4GB DDR3 / Mess 'o Toshiba Drives, / APEX MI-008.
dave_the_nerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 07:03 PM   #5
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 25,065
Default

Yes. After reading about the PSU only having 10A on the 12V rail, then it might not be able to power an entire motherboard, SSD, DVD drive, and a 100W CPU.

Ok, what about the triple-core 65W LLano? Would that work out? It has a better GPU than the dual-cores.

Edit: Or would I be better off just using what I have in that case, an AMD mobo with chipset IGP (forgot which chipset, whether it's 760G or 880G), and a 45W (?) AM2 CPU?
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec

Last edited by VirtualLarry; 10-29-2012 at 07:08 PM.
VirtualLarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 08:15 PM   #6
T_Yamamoto
Lifer
 
T_Yamamoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: North Carolina State University
Posts: 13,651
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VirtualLarry View Post
Yes. After reading about the PSU only having 10A on the 12V rail, then it might not be able to power an entire motherboard, SSD, DVD drive, and a 100W CPU.

Ok, what about the triple-core 65W LLano? Would that work out? It has a better GPU than the dual-cores.

Edit: Or would I be better off just using what I have in that case, an AMD mobo with chipset IGP (forgot which chipset, whether it's 760G or 880G), and a 45W (?) AM2 CPU?
What is he going to do with it? If its just browsing web?

And you bought that FM1 mobo, might as well use it right?

Another option is selling it but I think llano would be the better route. Maybe look on ft/fs for a cheap llano chip. I've seen them around
__________________
i5 4430 | MSI B85M-P33 | Gigabyte Windforce R9 270x | Random 4gb + 2gb RAM
XFX ProSeries 450W | Intel 530 128gb + Toshiba Canvio 1tb External HDD | Windows 7
NZXT Vulcan | Dell E2414H
Heatware | Steam
T_Yamamoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 09:35 PM   #7
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 25,065
Default

Pretty much just web browsing and online video watching.

Currently they are using a Celeron 440, a 2.0Ghz single-core Core2Duo celeron, in a Gigabyte 865G mobo, with 1GB DDR RAM.

The proposed (older) upgrade, was to a dual-core AM2 low-wattage CPU, with an AMD chipset IGP, and 4GB of DDR2. (and moving from XP to Win7)

Since the relative has thus far refused the upgrade, I thought I would take the opportunity to move them to something even newer, like a quad-core.

But the TDP issues concern me. Not just the temps, but the wear&tear on the PSU.

So perhaps I should just do a separate build for me with the FM1 board.
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec
VirtualLarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 06:37 PM   #8
mfenn
Elite Member
Moderator
General Hardware
 
mfenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 20,427
Default

I don't really see a need for the tri-core in what they're doing. Stick with the cheap, low power dual-core like the A4-3300 or 3400.
mfenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 06:54 PM   #9
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 25,065
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mfenn View Post
I don't really see a need for the tri-core in what they're doing. Stick with the cheap, low power dual-core like the A4-3300 or 3400.
My line of thinking behind the tri-core, was more along the lines of having the more powerful IGP than the dual-cores, while being the same TDP. (But with slightly slower single-core performance due to lower clocks.)
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec
VirtualLarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 07:36 PM   #10
mfenn
Elite Member
Moderator
General Hardware
 
mfenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 20,427
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VirtualLarry View Post
My line of thinking behind the tri-core, was more along the lines of having the more powerful IGP than the dual-cores, while being the same TDP. (But with slightly slower single-core performance due to lower clocks.)
The speed of the IGP doesn't matter at all for the types of things that they'll be doing. About the only things that I can think of the IGP doing at all are rendering Aero (which anything can do) and video decode acceleration. Video decode acceleration is largely handled by fixed-function blocks that are the same between all versions of the IGP with only a few advanced post-processing features being handled by shaders.
mfenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 06:33 AM   #11
Insert_Nickname
Golden Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,707
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mfenn View Post
I don't really see a need for the tri-core in what they're doing. Stick with the cheap, low power dual-core like the A4-3300 or 3400.
That would be my recommendation as well. No need for a tri- or quadcore in a web browsing machine. Especially with such a weak PSU...

Isn't there a 3420 out there or is that OEM only...?
Insert_Nickname is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 05:26 PM   #12
mfenn
Elite Member
Moderator
General Hardware
 
mfenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 20,427
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Insert_Nickname View Post
That would be my recommendation as well. No need for a tri- or quadcore in a web browsing machine. Especially with such a weak PSU...

Isn't there a 3420 out there or is that OEM only...?
Must be OEM only, I don't see it on Newegg on in Wikipedia's list of A series processors.
mfenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 04:56 AM   #13
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 25,065
Default

I ended up purchasing an A6-3670K from Newegg, they had a $15 off promo code.
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec
VirtualLarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 05:13 AM   #14
lehtv
Diamond Member
 
lehtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9,893
Default

Not bad. $75 for an unlocked quad core with 6530D.
__________________
System specs
lehtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 11:28 AM   #15
mfenn
Elite Member
Moderator
General Hardware
 
mfenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 20,427
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VirtualLarry View Post
I ended up purchasing an A6-3670K from Newegg, they had a $15 off promo code.
Runs at a 100W, so you should probably underclock and undervolt it for that case (or get a different case).
mfenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 02:51 PM   #16
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 25,065
Default

Yes, it's not going into that GlobalWin slimline case. I'm going to leave the 45W X2 AM2 CPU in there.
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec
VirtualLarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 07:40 PM   #17
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 25,065
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811208051

I ordered this microATX/miniITX case today for ~$40 shipped.

I kind of liked how it went with the decorum of the motherboard, even though you can't see the motherboard through the case.

It's a new product, with only one review (four eggs). That review mentions using a LLano A8-3870K I believe, and a four-heatpipe AMD cooler, with max temps using Prime95 of 50C. I do have another heatpipe cooler like that stashed away, so if that works better than the stock cooler, I might use it. But from that review, it seems like a 100W quad-core is no problem for that case???

I don't really plan on doing DC with this rig, so it would likely rarely see maximum load.

I am hopeful that idle power consumption will actually be lower than my current 45W AM2 CPU, because of power-gating support in LLano.

It of course also supports UVD (UVD 3?) for Blu-Ray decoding, should I ever get a Blu-Ray reader for that machine.
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec
VirtualLarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 08:26 PM   #18
mfenn
Elite Member
Moderator
General Hardware
 
mfenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 20,427
Default

Looks like the case has a single 80mm fan. While you probably won't have any heat problem with the 100W CPU, it will be LOUD under full load. Of course, that doesn't matter if you never or rarely hit full load.
mfenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2014, 02:20 AM   #19
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 25,065
Default

Just a quick follow-up to this thread.

I ended up going with a Biostar B75 board with all solid caps and 4 DRAM slots, an Intel Celeron G1610 dual-core Ivy Bridge 2.6Ghz CPU, and 4x4GB DDR3-1333 Gskill RAM, and an Intel 80GB X25-M G2 SSD.

It's quiet, fast, responsive, basically, it rocks. The relative is very happy with it, and impressed by the performance over the old rig.
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec
VirtualLarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.