Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Networking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-03-2012, 09:01 AM   #1
JumBie
Golden Member
 
JumBie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,096
Default Ethernet slower connected to router vs modem

I just upgraded my Linksys WRT54GS with a Cisco WRT120N which I got for free from a friend. I noticed that with the Wireless g modem, all wireless was maxed out at 15-19mbps, and hard wired was also limited to about 55mbps, much slower than my 120mbps connection.

After installing the new modem and testing the wireless N out I realized that the connection was maxing out at 58mbps and that was with a wireless network card. I'm not sure why that seems to be my max as I was almost sure I would be able to reach at least 80mbps on wireless N.

What surprised me even more was that when I connected to the router via ethernet, the connection was maxing out at 88mbps far from the 120mbps connection that I could get if I plugged my computer directly into the modem. Does anyone know what the deal is with that? I was almost sure I would be able to reach the max throughput by connecting to ethernet through he modem, any help or insight would be greatly appreciated.
__________________
R.I.P Rocky 8/7/2014, my best friend, my companion, my pet. I miss you.
JumBie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 10:54 AM   #2
JackMDS
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
JackMDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 26,306
Default

You have 120 Mb/sec. Internet connection, Where are you on Vulcan?



__________________
Jack
Microsoft, MVP - Networking.
JackMDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 01:52 PM   #3
AnonymouseUser
Diamond Member
 
AnonymouseUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 8,358
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JumBie View Post
What surprised me even more was that when I connected to the router via ethernet, the connection was maxing out at 88mbps far from the 120mbps connection that I could get if I plugged my computer directly into the modem. Does anyone know what the deal is with that? I was almost sure I would be able to reach the max throughput by connecting to ethernet through he modem, any help or insight would be greatly appreciated.
That router only does 100Mbps max through the LAN ports. You need a gigabit router and adapter to reach your 120Mbps speeds.

As for Wifi speeds, that may be a limitation or incompatibility of your wifi adapter. What adapter do you have, and what security settings are you using?
__________________
NSA Homeland Security PRISM Denial of service Malware Trojan Keylogger Cyber Command
2600 Backpack Phishing Rootkit Agro Eco terrorism Conventional weapon
Target Weapons grade Dirty bomb Enriched Nuclear Chemical Biological weapon Black out
Pressure Cooker Grid Power Smart Body scanner Electric Failure Ammonium nitrate Brown Out
Bridge Organized crime National security State emergency Security Breach Threat Standoff
SWAT Screening Virus Environmental Terrorist Dock

Last edited by AnonymouseUser; 11-03-2012 at 01:57 PM.
AnonymouseUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 08:58 PM   #4
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 25,389
Default

you are a candidate for 802.11ac wireless gear. aka "gigabit wireless".
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec
VirtualLarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 10:37 PM   #5
remixedcat
Member
 
remixedcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 52
Default

are you on 40 or 20Mhz mode on wireless?
remixedcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.