Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > CPUs and Overclocking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-02-2012, 02:45 PM   #1
OleMortenF
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 69
Default i7 3770k with Corsair H80

Hi. I have an i7 3770k with Corsair H80, the CPU is @ 4.5Ghz 1.3V.
When the system is idle the temp is around 45c.
If I run Prime95 with the H80 fan at lowest setting the temps goes upto around 101c.


Isnt this very high? I thought the H80 would help a little against the stock Intel fan, but it doesnt look much like that. I used the thermal paste that came with the H80 and everything is thigh-tend.
OleMortenF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 02:48 PM   #2
The Alias
Senior Member
 
The Alias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 508
Default

a : change your h80 settings
b : ivy runs HOT and I mean unbearably HOT
The Alias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 02:54 PM   #3
OleMortenF
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 69
Default

Yeah I see this lol.
I think I gotta buy some other fans for the H80 because they are noisy as hell.

How many degrees can the cpu handle?
OleMortenF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 03:06 PM   #4
ShintaiDK
Lifer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 10,143
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Alias View Post
a : change your h80 settings
b : ivy runs HOT and I mean unbearably HOT


http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?t=2280114

Quote:
Originally Posted by OleMortenF View Post
Yeah I see this lol.
I think I gotta buy some other fans for the H80 because they are noisy as hell.

How many degrees can the cpu handle?
Tjmax is 105C. It will throttle at that point.
__________________
Anandtech forums=Xtremesystems forums
ShintaiDK is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 03:18 PM   #5
OleMortenF
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 69
Default

Okay, that's near what I get.
I really hoped I could keep running this CPU @ 4.5Ghz, I also thought the H80 could handle this but it doesn't seem like it.

What do u guys suggest I do? Just down clock it to stock, or would it help to install two Noctua NF-F12 PWM instead of the two Stock Corsair fans that came with H80?
OleMortenF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 03:50 PM   #6
Idontcare
Administrator
Elite Member
 
Idontcare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: 台北市
Posts: 20,312
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OleMortenF View Post
Hi. I have an i7 3770k with Corsair H80, the CPU is @ 4.5Ghz 1.3V.
When the system is idle the temp is around 45c.
If I run Prime95 with the H80 fan at lowest setting the temps goes upto around 101c.


Isnt this very high? I thought the H80 would help a little against the stock Intel fan, but it doesnt look much like that. I used the thermal paste that came with the H80 and everything is thigh-tend.
It shouldn't idle at 45C with an H80.

Just for giggles I did a test with the stock HSF that came with my 3770k only I took all the TIM off so it was just bare metal on bare metal, and even then my idle temps were only 41C.

You may want to check your mount, or possibly something is wrong with your H80 (possibly dead pump, or no liquid inside it if perchance it all leaked out somehow).

Your volts are very high for that clockspeed, but that is probably needed to keep it stable at those temperatures.

With my NH-D14 at 4.5GHz my 3770k needed 1.184V to be LinX/IBT stable and temperatures peaked at 82°C - and this was before I lapped the IHS and delidded the IHS to replace the CPU TIM and eliminate the gap.

For comparison, with my H100 and the 3770k at 4.5GHz the chip needed 1.182V to be LinX/IBT stable but the temperatures peaked at 78C. (again that was before I did anything to the 3770k like lapping or delidding)

I would expect the H80 to be in the ballpark of an NH-D14 in these tests, but your results are very high and the idle temps are most telling in my opinion. Something is amiss with your mount or your H80. Don't settle for those kinds of temperatures.
Idontcare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 04:10 PM   #7
IntelEnthusiast
Intel Representative
 
IntelEnthusiast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Utah
Posts: 582
Default

I agree with Idontcare. I have the Intel® Core™ i5-3570K and Corsair H100 and I am not seeing temperatures like those.
__________________
Christian Wood
Intel Enthusiast Team

Intel® Core™ i5-3570K, Intel® SSD 520 120GB, Intel® DZ77GA-70K, SilverStone 750W PSU, EVGA GeForce GTX 580, Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR3-1600MHz, Corsair H100 Cooler, Corsair CC600TM, Western Digital 1TB Black HDD
IntelEnthusiast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 04:22 PM   #8
OleMortenF
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 69
Default

Hmm. What can I have done wrong then? How could I have mounted it wrong?
OleMortenF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 04:28 PM   #9
Idontcare
Administrator
Elite Member
 
Idontcare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: 台北市
Posts: 20,312
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OleMortenF View Post
Hmm. What can I have done wrong then? How could I have mounted it wrong?
Theory versus practice. We can talk theoretical ways it may have been assembled wrong, but in practice the best thing to do is to just go remove it, clean off the TIM, apply new TIM, and install it again.

If that doesn't improve the situation then we can start to suspect you have a bum H80, but to determine that we need you to install your stock HSF and confirm you don't have a bum 3770k.

But first thing first, eliminate the possibility of "user error". We see that a lot, don't take it personal, it happens to all of us. Even myself recently incorrectly installed my H100 on a test run, somehow got an extra washer on one of the posts which then resulted in the H100 block being all slanted relative to the IHS.

(yes I know there aren't supposed to be washers involved in an H100 installation, this wasn't a typical situation, but the point still stands, humans err, its what we do)
Idontcare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 04:46 PM   #10
OleMortenF
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 69
Default

Well I'm sure I didn't add an extra washer. But I see what u mean.
When I use the stock fan, the temps arent much different from the H80.
I'm out of thermalpaste, so I have to get some new and try again then.
OleMortenF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 05:39 PM   #11
OleMortenF
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 69
Default

Here is a screenshot when Idle on the H80

OleMortenF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 06:04 PM   #12
Eureka
Diamond Member
 
Eureka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,826
Default

It should idle way lower. I have a cheapo CAFA50 and my i5 idles at the 19-21C at 4.5ghz/1.3V. You have either a mounting issue or a cooling issue.

And it should not be going past 80C on Prime95.

Delta temps done by anandtech (around 80C when you factor in their idle)

http://www.anandtech.com/show/5054/c...100-reviewed/5

i7-2600K @ 4.8Ghz/1.4V... not the same but gives you an idea
__________________
San Francisco: ASRock Z87E-ITX | Intel i7-4770k | 16 GB DDR3 1600 | Gigabyte WF3 7950
Honolulu: Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P | AMD Phenom II X4 955 | 8GB DDR2 800 | Sapphire HD4890
London: ASRock 4CoreDual-VSTA | Intel Dual Core E7400 @ 3.1ghz | 2GB DDR2 667 | ATi X850 XT @ 540/590

Last edited by Eureka; 11-02-2012 at 06:07 PM.
Eureka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 06:12 PM   #13
OleMortenF
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 69
Default

Very weird. Could there be something wrong with the H80?
I will try to install it once again when I get the new paste.
OleMortenF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 06:50 PM   #14
Yuriman
Platinum Member
 
Yuriman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,449
Default

My i5 ran particularly hot as well. You might want to check out IDC's delidding thread, it might have some insightful stuff in it for you.
__________________
3570K @ 4.6GHz 1.29v | ASRock Z77 Extreme4 | Gigabyte HD7850 2GB @ 1125/1575 | Swiftech WC Loop | 2x 4GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3 1600 1.25v | OCZ Agility 3 240GB | WD Green 1.5GB | BFG LS 680w | Skyhawk MSR-4610
Yuriman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 06:52 PM   #15
dragantoe
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 596
Default

yeah the pentium g860 idles at like 35C with the stock cooler... lol
dragantoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 01:02 AM   #16
crazymonkeyzero
Senior Member
 
crazymonkeyzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 363
Default

I have the i7 3770k (at stock settings) with the h60 with push pull. My ide temps are 28-30C (ambient temps in room is about 75 F). With prime95 for 2 hours, temps hover at 59-60C. So those H80 temps are a bit high, but I agree, ivy does run a bit hot, so try reseating the cpu block and adding some new TIM (removing the old stuff first of course).
crazymonkeyzero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 04:49 AM   #17
OleMortenF
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 69
Default

Another question, im from Norway and there doesnt seem to be that many thermal paste to buy here.

Are any of these good?

http://www.komplett.no/k/kl.aspx?mfr...er=d&zbo2=true
OleMortenF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 10:31 AM   #18
jacobsta811
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
Default

MX-4 and Artic Silver Ceramique are decent pastes (http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/print...-May-2011/1249)
Make sure you aren't applying too much - one tube of this stuff is like 8 applications at least.

See if you can feel the pump working when you hold the tubes in your hand with the computer running. You could always disconnect the pump's power and see if the temperatures change too (although I would think you would get a thermal shutdown fairly shortly if the pump was entirely bad).
jacobsta811 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 11:16 AM   #19
OleMortenF
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 69
Default

I just tried, it feels like the pump is going
OleMortenF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 11:42 AM   #20
crazymonkeyzero
Senior Member
 
crazymonkeyzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 363
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jacobsta811 View Post
AC MX-4.
This is good stuff.



Also another, slightly better alernative is Prolimatech PK-1, if you can find it. But the difference between the two is hard to tell for most practical purposes. The most important thing is how to apply the stuff (pea dot for lga 1155). Remember less is more.
crazymonkeyzero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 12:46 PM   #21
EliteRetard
Platinum Member
 
EliteRetard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,827
Default

It may sound weird, but turn your computer so you can dismounting the rad and check the temps at the same time. Hang onto the rad while its running...wait a minute after start up for the temps to stabilize and then slowly turn it upside down. Wait a bit and watch the temps...if you can load up the CPU and see how the temps go. Careful not to stick a finger in a fan, they can break fairly easy.

I've actually run into a case where rotating the rad improved temps significantly. Must of had air in the lines or something, and by turning it around the air was able to GTFO. I don't recall now if I left the thing mounted upside down or was able to revert it to normal, but its worth experimenting.
EliteRetard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 01:03 PM   #22
Dadofamunky
Platinum Member
 
Dadofamunky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 2,182
Default

My two centavos: if I were you, I'd decrease the voltage, stat. You may damage your chip! If everyone else is getting 4.5GHz stable on 1.184V or so you need to dial it back immediately and start over. Also, concurrently, drop the clock speed down. 4.0 GHz vs. 4.5 GHz is not a huge performance delta and nobody cares about how fast you OC your CPU. Also (heresy coming) the OC really doesn't make that much of a real-world performance difference. Carefully consider the amount of thermal paste you use (IDontCare's thread is full of helpful info on this).

Gone are the days when you could overvolt your CPU to the eyeballs to squeeze out that last 100 MHz for the nice round number. These things are much more sensitive then they used to be. I do not think the glory days of OCing are going to return, Sandy Bridge was the tail end of the golden age of OCing.
__________________
i7 2600K@4.35 GHz, Asus Sabertooth Z77, 16 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24-1T 1.5V, Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD , 2x1TB Spinpoint F3 Raid 0, Seagate 3TB external USB3 drive, Samsung BluRay, Corsair GS600, CM Hyper 212+ push-pull, EVGA GTX 570, 2x Samsung 2333T PVA panels, Win 7 64-bit

What's that chip you got, a Dorito?
Dadofamunky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 01:11 PM   #23
dinker99
Member
 
dinker99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 71
Default

A lot of people seem confused about how to power the Corsair coolers,
the pump should be connected to the main 12v power supply and the fan to a motherboard header.

If the pump is connected to a header then it won`t run at full speed.
dinker99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 03:36 PM   #24
EliteRetard
Platinum Member
 
EliteRetard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,827
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dinker99 View Post
A lot of people seem confused about how to power the Corsair coolers,
the pump should be connected to the main 12v power supply and the fan to a motherboard header.

If the pump is connected to a header then it won`t run at full speed.
It'll actually run without the molex connected?
EliteRetard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 08:18 PM   #25
dougdoberman
Junior Member
 
dougdoberman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dinker99 View Post
A lot of people seem confused about how to power the Corsair coolers,
the pump should be connected to the main 12v power supply and the fan to a motherboard header.

If the pump is connected to a header then it won`t run at full speed.
Are you confused about the H80? The fans both connect to the pump, which connects to a molex for power and the CPU header for speed reporting.
dougdoberman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.