Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > *nix Software

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-03-2012, 04:06 AM   #1
OBLAMA2009
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,236
Default any 64 bit lunix ready for prime time?

last time i tried a 64 bit distro (it was probably ubuntu) it was buggy and half baked. are the current 64 bit distros good enough that i should switch from 32 bit? what 64 bit distro do you recommend
OBLAMA2009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 05:47 AM   #2
imported_brandon
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 87
Default

I use OpenSuSE. Damn good distro, and among the best KDE integration around. It's GNOME integration is damn good too.
imported_brandon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 06:04 AM   #3
OBLAMA2009
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,236
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by imported_brandon View Post
I use OpenSuSE. Damn good distro, and among the best KDE integration around. It's GNOME integration is damn good too.
so the 64 bit version is pretty stable, it doesnt freeze or crash? how are firefox and chrome for it?
OBLAMA2009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 06:32 AM   #4
_Rick_
Diamond Member
 
_Rick_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3,383
Default

Why should there be a difference between 64 bit and 32 bit?
It's the same code, just compiled two different ways...
_Rick_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 06:42 AM   #5
Ancalagon44
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,160
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Rick_ View Post
Why should there be a difference between 64 bit and 32 bit?
It's the same code, just compiled two different ways...
Yes but you need 64 bit drivers for most hardware I assume. Thats not a problem if you are using open source drivers, however, the majority of drivers are not open source, as far as I am aware.
__________________
Paul Atreides, Rand al'Thor and Luke Skywalker walk into a bar...

...and proceed to beat up Shinji Ikari for being a whiny little bitch.
Ancalagon44 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 09:09 AM   #6
Demo24
Diamond Member
 
Demo24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: North GA
Posts: 7,864
Default

That must have been over 6 years ago then, I've been using 64 bit Linux variants for over 5 years and never had any problems. I can't see any good reason you wouldn't go 64 bit, unless you are running arm cores.
__________________
.........
Demo24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 09:11 AM   #7
lxskllr
Lifer
 
lxskllr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 38,362
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ancalagon44 View Post
Yes but you need 64 bit drivers for most hardware I assume. Thats not a problem if you are using open source drivers, however, the majority of drivers are not open source, as far as I am aware.
Depends. I could run my system(C2D based) on 100% libre drivers, though I am using Nvidia's blobs. There might be some brand new stuff that doesn't have libre drivers, but anything that's been around a couple years should work fine. AFAIK, no distro does one bitness better than another. If you like whatever distro you're using in 32bit, you should like it in 64bit.
lxskllr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 10:43 AM   #8
ultimatebob
Lifer
 
ultimatebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Connecticutistan
Posts: 16,759
Default

The 64 bit versions of CentOS 5 and CentOS 6 are rock solid.
ultimatebob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 11:06 AM   #9
Jodell88
Diamond Member
 
Jodell88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sweet T&T
Posts: 6,919
Default

I've never had any problems with 64bit linux. The only thing that crashes is flash >.>
__________________
“Defend the weak, protect both young and old, never desert your friends. Give justice to all, be fearless in battle and always ready to defend the right." - The law of Badger Lords
Jodell88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 12:18 PM   #10
Crusty
Lifer
 
Crusty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: ATX
Posts: 12,322
Default

My entire company relies on 64-bit Linux. If it wasn't a stable platform we wouldn't be able to do anything.
__________________
Consequences will never be the same!

/^1?$|^(11+?)\1+$/
Crusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 12:41 PM   #11
Nothinman
Elite Member
 
Nothinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 30,672
Default

I've been using 64-bit Linux with virtually no problems on my desktop for like 5 years now and before that on personal Alpha and Sparc64 servers. As Jodell88 says, flash was the only issue I really ran into and that's been fixed for several years now.
__________________
http://www.debian.org
Nothinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 12:51 PM   #12
OBLAMA2009
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,236
Default

do they have 64 bit chrome?
OBLAMA2009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 01:02 PM   #13
lxskllr
Lifer
 
lxskllr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 38,362
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OBLAMA2009 View Post
do they have 64 bit chrome?
Chromium, yes.
lxskllr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 02:16 PM   #14
Nothinman
Elite Member
 
Nothinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 30,672
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OBLAMA2009 View Post
do they have 64 bit chrome?
Yep, been using that for quite some time as well.

Code:
$file /opt/google/chrome/chrome
/opt/google/chrome/chrome: ELF 64-bit LSB shared object, x86-64, version 1 (SYSV), dynamically linked (uses shared libs), for GNU/Linux 2.6.15, BuildID[sha1]=0x30554b657174efbde93dfc16a5015f6801c95b7f, stripped
__________________
http://www.debian.org
Nothinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 03:30 PM   #15
theevilsharpie
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,320
Default

I've been using 64-bit Ubuntu since Ubuntu 10.04, and I've never had any problems.
theevilsharpie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 07:00 PM   #16
jimmybgood9
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 59
Default

There is the occasional app, usually an ancient legacy app, that is only available packaged in the 32-bit version. Those can be run by installing the appropriate 32-bit libraries. But, geez, even flash is 64-bit.

The best Gentoo
Runs on a 64-bit cpu

64
Is so much more.

Eight full bytes
Is out of sight.
jimmybgood9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 11:35 AM   #17
mv2devnull
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 785
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ultimatebob View Post
The 64 bit versions of CentOS 5 and CentOS 6 are rock solid.
Furthermore, RedHat no longer builds all packages for their 32-bit RHEL 6, but does for 64-bit RHEL 6, so truly "32 < 64".
mv2devnull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 03:52 PM   #18
cKGunslinger
Lifer
 
cKGunslinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Nov 1999
Posts: 16,110
Default

I've been using 64-bit Mint 11 for a long time without issue..
__________________
cKGunslinger

- The man in black fled across the desert, and the gunslinger followed.
cKGunslinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 01:09 PM   #19
Cerb
Elite Member
 
Cerb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,607
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OBLAMA2009 View Post
last time i tried a 64 bit distro (it was probably ubuntu) it was buggy and half baked. are the current 64 bit distros good enough that i should switch from 32 bit? what 64 bit distro do you recommend
That's Ubuntu. 12.10, right now, FI, is still buggy as all Hell. It's an artifact of their development cycle (megafreeze + latest updates).

Try Debian 64-bit, or any number of rolling release distros. I've been running 64-bit Linux since 2007 (C2D upgrade), with nary a 64-bit problem.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crono View Post
I'm 90% certain the hipster movement was started by aliens from another galaxy who have an exaggerated interpretation of earth culture(s).
Cerb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 06:29 PM   #20
zoiks
Lifer
 
zoiks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Palo Alto,CA
Posts: 11,712
Default

I'm using 12.10 and it's rock solid. No bugginess whatsoever. I used 12.04 and now 12.10 as my main OS.
__________________
Palestinians have a right to defend the atrocities waged against them.
Palestine will Rise.
USS Liberty. Never forget.
zoiks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 05:46 AM   #21
OBLAMA2009
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,236
Default

thanks everyone. i just got mint 64 bit and its fine. im surprised that it seems to take up twice as much memory (about 2 gigs vs 1 gig for 32 bit)
OBLAMA2009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 06:21 AM   #22
Nothinman
Elite Member
 
Nothinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 30,672
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OBLAMA2009 View Post
thanks everyone. i just got mint 64 bit and its fine. im surprised that it seems to take up twice as much memory (about 2 gigs vs 1 gig for 32 bit)
How did you measure that?
__________________
http://www.debian.org
Nothinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 07:42 AM   #23
Jodell88
Diamond Member
 
Jodell88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sweet T&T
Posts: 6,919
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OBLAMA2009 View Post
thanks everyone. i just got mint 64 bit and its fine. im surprised that it seems to take up twice as much memory (about 2 gigs vs 1 gig for 32 bit)
No way that's possible.
__________________
“Defend the weak, protect both young and old, never desert your friends. Give justice to all, be fearless in battle and always ready to defend the right." - The law of Badger Lords
Jodell88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 12:15 PM   #24
OBLAMA2009
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,236
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nothinman View Post
How did you measure that?
just using the system monitor. i guess memory usage goes up and down a lot. 32 bit never used 2 gigs. right now ive got one chrome window open with six tabs and im using over a gig
OBLAMA2009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 12:43 PM   #25
Nothinman
Elite Member
 
Nothinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 30,672
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OBLAMA2009 View Post
just using the system monitor. i guess memory usage goes up and down a lot. 32 bit never used 2 gigs. right now ive got one chrome window open with six tabs and im using over a gig
Yea, you can't just go by that. That will likely included the disk cache and everything so it'll vary heavily based upon usage and such. 64-bit binaries use more memory, but not double.
__________________
http://www.debian.org
Nothinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.