Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Merchandise and Shopping > Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-29-2012, 01:42 PM   #1
jhansman
Platinum Member
 
jhansman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,233
Default Acronis TI 2013-20% off

Warm, not hot. Acronis is running a Halloween sale on their backup/imaging program. You can also get a free copy of Malwarebytes Pro with it, and a couple of of other utils for $5 each.

http://www.acronis.com/promo/halloween/
__________________
Blessed is the man who has nothing to say, and cannot be compelled to say it.
jhansman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 07:23 PM   #2
Gillbot
Lifer
 
Gillbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Probably still at work
Posts: 28,518
Default

I just use the WD edition.
http://support.wdc.com/product/downl...l.asp?swid=119
__________________
My Heatware
Gillbot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 11:58 AM   #3
jhansman
Platinum Member
 
jhansman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,233
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gillbot View Post
Which only will install if you have a WD drive. The rest of us have to pay.
__________________
Blessed is the man who has nothing to say, and cannot be compelled to say it.
jhansman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 04:00 PM   #4
GullyFoyle
Diamond Member
 
GullyFoyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Steeler Country
Posts: 4,292
Default

I use the Seagate version. (Good for Maxtor too)
__________________
Go to he11, OPEC!
Heatware 54-0-0
BF2 Stats | BFBC2 Stats | BF3 Stats

My Rig: Intel core i5 3570k@4.2GHz | asrock z77 extreme4 | Noctua NH-D14 cpu Cooler | eVGA GTX 760 2 Gb w/ACX cooling | 8 GB Ram | Samsung 840 EVO 120GB ssd | 3.5 TB HD online., antec true power new 550W PS
GullyFoyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 05:56 PM   #5
Vincent
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Cottonwood Heights, UT
Posts: 2,005
Default

Macrium Reflect is free and is what I use for disk imaging and cloning:

http://www.macrium.com/reflectfree.aspx
Vincent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 07:26 PM   #6
jhansman
Platinum Member
 
jhansman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,233
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vincent View Post
Macrium Reflect is free and is what I use for disk imaging and cloning:

http://www.macrium.com/reflectfree.aspx

Lurkers might want to take a close look at what you don't get with it's free version vs. paid.
__________________
Blessed is the man who has nothing to say, and cannot be compelled to say it.
jhansman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 09:22 PM   #7
Raincity
Diamond Member
 
Raincity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Las Vegas, NV, USA
Posts: 4,274
Default

Not really a very good deal when NE sells Tue Image 2012 OEM for 9.99 on sale every other week.
Raincity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 05:12 PM   #8
Gillbot
Lifer
 
Gillbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Probably still at work
Posts: 28,518
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jhansman View Post
Which only will install if you have a WD drive. The rest of us have to pay.
I keep a WD hard drive in a USB case to plug in to the system so I can use it.
__________________
My Heatware
Gillbot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 09:18 PM   #9
jhansman
Platinum Member
 
jhansman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,233
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gillbot View Post
I keep a WD hard drive in a USB case to plug in to the system so I can use it.

Right. Same thought occurred to me as I was going through my old IDE drives. Plus, as noted above, NE had it on sale just today. Sigh...
__________________
Blessed is the man who has nothing to say, and cannot be compelled to say it.
jhansman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 11:26 PM   #10
adlep
Diamond Member
 
adlep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 5,260
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raincity View Post
Not really a very good deal when NE sells Tue Image 2012 OEM for 9.99 on sale every other week.
Sorry for a silly question, but what's NE?
__________________
Heat
adlep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 08:51 AM   #11
BlueWeasel
Lifer
 
BlueWeasel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Tupelo
Posts: 15,409
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adlep View Post
Sorry for a silly question, but what's NE?
Newegg.com

Now turn in your geek card.
__________________
Desktop:: 2500K@4.7Ghz/ 7950/16GB RAM/CM690/120GB SSD/3.0TB Storage/Win8.1
Laptop:: Macbook Air (2012)/128GB SSD/8GB RAM
Heatware 158-0-0
BlueWeasel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 01:43 PM   #12
jhansman
Platinum Member
 
jhansman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,233
Default

FWIW, just installed the free WD version on my laptop. It will do a disk and partition backup and clone a disk, which is about all anyone is likely to need. The paid version has a few more bells and whistles. Looks like I'll be getting a refund from Acronis
__________________
Blessed is the man who has nothing to say, and cannot be compelled to say it.
jhansman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 09:09 PM   #13
Gillbot
Lifer
 
Gillbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Probably still at work
Posts: 28,518
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jhansman View Post
FWIW, just installed the free WD version on my laptop. It will do a disk and partition backup and clone a disk, which is about all anyone is likely to need. The paid version has a few more bells and whistles. Looks like I'll be getting a refund from Acronis
I keep a copy of all the manufacturer versions on a USB drive just in case. Hasn't failed me yet.
__________________
My Heatware
Gillbot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 03:56 AM   #14
Raincity
Diamond Member
 
Raincity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Las Vegas, NV, USA
Posts: 4,274
Default

Does anyone know if the current WD version keeps the correct alignment for SSD during image creation and restore.
Raincity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 08:31 AM   #15
country2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 504
Default

If you don't need the extra programs offered with the Halloween special computeractive and majorgeek has ATI 2013 for 29.99.

But to me since ATI has changed their way of licensing it the best deal is Terabytes Image for Windows at 39.99 but for 3 computers and has way less bad reviews/issues than ATI.
country2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 02:50 PM   #16
jhansman
Platinum Member
 
jhansman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,233
Default

Well, all my drives are Samsung now (two 1TB F1s, and a 256GB 830) and I really don't want to drop a WD IDE relic in my system (or put it in yet another ext. enclosure) just to get the free version, so I'll stick with the paid copy. Nice program at any rate.
__________________
Blessed is the man who has nothing to say, and cannot be compelled to say it.
jhansman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 02:01 AM   #17
paperfist
Diamond Member
 
paperfist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Central New York
Posts: 3,468
Default

Is it better to use TI vrs the Win7 backup & restore?
__________________
heatWare
paperfist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 05:27 PM   #18
jhansman
Platinum Member
 
jhansman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,233
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by paperfist View Post
Is it better to use TI vrs the Win7 backup & restore?
Better? Depends on what you need (or want). TI gives you many more options; the Win7 imaging util is barebones, but does get the job done.
__________________
Blessed is the man who has nothing to say, and cannot be compelled to say it.
jhansman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 07:27 PM   #19
country2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 504
Default

Just a heads up NE has Acronis True Image 2013 for 9.99 on todays shell shocker at 6:00PM - 11:59PM PT
11/8/12
country2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.