Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > General Hardware

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-02-2012, 01:29 PM   #1
coolecho
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
Default Need alternative computer set-up at work

Hello,

Not sure I'm posting in correct area!
I have a Dell latitude e5420 running Windows 7 64bit at work. I have the need for developing, editing, in XP, and or linux with favorite apps at work but can't install them on my work laptop. I use Visual C 6 alot, and need to have an ubuntu partition, as I need to learn linux as well. We use linux occationally at work on some systems.
I could perhaps buy a external usb and set it up at home as dual boot with my work laptop that I can bring home, And install whatever I Want. However with this method I would have to switch boot OS's all day. I thought about buying a small laptop to bring in instead. My current home laptop is a clunker and old/heavy. We have a private WiFi separate from the company network that I can use for internet.
Any help much appreciated!
coolecho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 03:13 PM   #2
ElFenix
Elite Member
Super Moderator
Off Topic
 
ElFenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 94,229
Default

vmware is probably a better solution
__________________
I killed and ate the Fun Mod with some jellybeans and a little Chianti.

AnandTech Mean Moderator
ElFenix is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 03:15 PM   #3
dave_the_nerd
Diamond Member
 
dave_the_nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 7,032
Default

Yeah, if you're learning Linux, use VirtualBox or VMWare to run it in a shell. Easier to fix if you foul it up.

If you don't foul it up, you're not learning enough!
__________________
Scientific progress goes "Boink?"

Windows Gaming Box: AsRock Z77E-ITX / i5-3570k @ 4GHz / 8GB RAM / GTX 660Ti / Samsung EVO 250GB / Seagate Momentus 750GB / Silverstone SG05.
NAS: Foxconn D-70S-P (Celeron 1037U) / 4GB DDR3 / 4x Toshiba DT01ACA200, 1x DT01ACA300, 1x DT01ABA200, / Fractal Node 804.
dave_the_nerd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 04:01 PM   #4
pauldun170
Platinum Member
 
pauldun170's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2,138
Default

Install VMware\Virtualbox if work policy allows.
Setup your VM's and keep backups\snapshots.

If work doesn't allow, ask to see if there are VM's currently available that you can remote into for dev use. If they don't, get the ball rolling and make sure you can justify it. Trying to circumvent policy usually is a bad idea. Try official channels first.

What apps (besides VS 6 ) are you looking to use at work that are forbidden? Why not ask for exceptions or just try and get them include them as allowable apps?
pauldun170 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 05:14 PM   #5
coolecho
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
Default

OK Thanks. I need to investigate VMWare or Virtualbox. I know nothing about this.
It appears that this needs to be installed on my work laptop which is setup by IT, and there would have to be a partition for the Ubuntu?? If so, no can do.
The VC6 won't install on Win 7 64bit. The other software is not a big deal.
coolecho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 05:21 PM   #6
dave_the_nerd
Diamond Member
 
dave_the_nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 7,032
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by coolecho View Post
OK Thanks. I need to investigate VMWare or Virtualbox. I know nothing about this.
It appears that this needs to be installed on my work laptop which is setup by IT, and there would have to be a partition for the Ubuntu?? If so, no can do.
The VC6 won't install on Win 7 64bit. The other software is not a big deal.
You would not need a separate partition. But you would need admin rights on the laptop to do the VBox install.
__________________
Scientific progress goes "Boink?"

Windows Gaming Box: AsRock Z77E-ITX / i5-3570k @ 4GHz / 8GB RAM / GTX 660Ti / Samsung EVO 250GB / Seagate Momentus 750GB / Silverstone SG05.
NAS: Foxconn D-70S-P (Celeron 1037U) / 4GB DDR3 / 4x Toshiba DT01ACA200, 1x DT01ACA300, 1x DT01ABA200, / Fractal Node 804.
dave_the_nerd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 05:27 PM   #7
coolecho
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
Default

I do have admin rights. What's better VMWare or Virtualbox? Does it cost anything? Is there a instructional forum? Thank You.
coolecho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 03:32 AM   #8
dave_the_nerd
Diamond Member
 
dave_the_nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 7,032
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by coolecho View Post
I do have admin rights. What's better VMWare or Virtualbox? Does it cost anything? Is there a instructional forum? Thank You.
VirtualBox is free. VMWare costs money, but IIRC it is a bit better (faster, etc.) There's a free trial.

I use virtualbox, and am happy with it. But I'm not a heavy virtualization user.
__________________
Scientific progress goes "Boink?"

Windows Gaming Box: AsRock Z77E-ITX / i5-3570k @ 4GHz / 8GB RAM / GTX 660Ti / Samsung EVO 250GB / Seagate Momentus 750GB / Silverstone SG05.
NAS: Foxconn D-70S-P (Celeron 1037U) / 4GB DDR3 / 4x Toshiba DT01ACA200, 1x DT01ACA300, 1x DT01ABA200, / Fractal Node 804.
dave_the_nerd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 01:48 PM   #9
mfenn
Elite Member
Super Moderator
General Hardware
 
mfenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 21,171
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by coolecho View Post
OK Thanks. I need to investigate VMWare or Virtualbox. I know nothing about this.
It appears that this needs to be installed on my work laptop which is setup by IT, and there would have to be a partition for the Ubuntu?? If so, no can do.
The VC6 won't install on Win 7 64bit. The other software is not a big deal.
Waitaminute. From this statement, "We use linux occationally at work on some systems," it sounds like there is a legitimate business need to have access to a Linux machine. If IT isn't willing to facilitate that, you have a policy/process problem, not a technology one.
mfenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 11:13 AM   #10
coolecho
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
Default

You are right I can look into getting a Linux box. However I'm doing most of my Linux practice at home as I get time. I got a USB3 1T external mini size Toshiba and will setup a dual boot on it - XP and Ubuntu. It'll be a learning experience.
Thanks for your suggestions, especially the VM's.
coolecho is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.