Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > CPUs and Overclocking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-02-2012, 12:33 PM   #1
alkemyst
No Lifer
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Corner of EPIC and ┼WESOME ST.
Posts: 80,069
Default Currently using an AM3 board, 4980 and 955@3.8GHz: upgrade advice

I game a little bit, mostly action titles that I can put in 15mins if I want or play a couple hours. I game at 1920x1600 and so far most everything I have runs fine (Batman Arkham Asylum probably the toughest title).

I do a lot with large RAW images 30-40MB and maybe 10-20 open at a time. Not really major...I am only using 32 bit Windows 7 currently so limited to 3.5GB. My plan is to move to a 64bit platform and retire some of my non-compatible legacy gear.

I was thinking a cheap upgrade would be the 1100T, but that CPU is still very expensive. It pretty much only makes sense to go 2500/2600 and a new board...but then in the end would it be worth it to me?

I'd pick up USB 3.0, higher current charging for iPhones/iPads, etc.

Is there a cheap upgrade at the AM3 level (I'd need AM3+ to move to the FX chips)? What's the best bang for buck from a 955 phenom if I just upgraded board, CPU?

Any GPU's worth considering other than a 7950 for what I am doing?

Thanks
current rig details are at http://www.30moons.com/pc_chiapet.php
__________________
The Masamune blade would repel the leaves and let them flow safely down the stream, while the Murasame blade would attract and cut them up.
alkemyst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 12:51 PM   #2
Yuriman
Platinum Member
 
Yuriman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,486
Default

If you can find any of the AMD hex chips used they would offer you the best price:performance - but I have to ask, is your image work multithreaded?

As for the GPU, it depends entirely on what you're willing to spend. The 7850 and 7950 are both great cards for the price.
__________________
3570K @ 4.6GHz 1.29v | ASRock Z77 Extreme4 | Gigabyte HD7850 2GB @ 1125/1575 | Swiftech WC Loop | 2x 4GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3 1600 1.25v | OCZ Agility 3 240GB | WD Green 1.5GB | BFG LS 680w | Skyhawk MSR-4610
Yuriman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 12:54 PM   #3
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 25,424
Default

Microcenter still has 1045T 95W Thuban chips, I think. I bought two of them when they were $139.99 or so apiece, now they're down to $89.99.
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec
VirtualLarry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 01:00 PM   #4
EliteRetard
Platinum Member
 
EliteRetard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,898
Default

Actually I've seen the 1035/1045 hex core chips for $80-90 a few times on various websites. I think Circuit City was that last one...just keep your eyes open, they pop up at least once every other week. You should be able to hit ~3.8GHz without to much trouble.

Edit:
Along with a move to 8GB (2x4GB?) and a 64bit OS a little GPU upgrade should make it a new machine. I've seen the 7870 2GB hit $185 and the 7950 3GB hit $280. Doesn't look like you have an SSD...even at 3Gbs it could help, you can get a good quality 128GB model for $70 or 256GB for $150.

Last edited by EliteRetard; 11-02-2012 at 01:09 PM.
EliteRetard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 01:12 PM   #5
alkemyst
No Lifer
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Corner of EPIC and ┼WESOME ST.
Posts: 80,069
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yuriman View Post
If you can find any of the AMD hex chips used they would offer you the best price:performance - but I have to ask, is your image work multithreaded?

As for the GPU, it depends entirely on what you're willing to spend. The 7850 and 7950 are both great cards for the price.
It's Photoshop 6 and mostly Photoshop Elements 9 (and I am looking to go to 11 soon). I believe PSE is multi-threading.
__________________
The Masamune blade would repel the leaves and let them flow safely down the stream, while the Murasame blade would attract and cut them up.
alkemyst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 01:13 PM   #6
alkemyst
No Lifer
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Corner of EPIC and ┼WESOME ST.
Posts: 80,069
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EliteRetard View Post
Actually I've seen the 1035/1045 hex core chips for $80-90 a few times on various websites. I think Circuit City was that last one...just keep your eyes open, they pop up at least once every other week. You should be able to hit ~3.8GHz without to much trouble.

Edit:
Along with a move to 8GB (2x4GB?) and a 64bit OS a little GPU upgrade should make it a new machine. I've seen the 7870 2GB hit $185 and the 7950 3GB hit $280. Doesn't look like you have an SSD...even at 3Gbs it could help, you can get a good quality 128GB model for $70 or 256GB for $150.
SSD is a separate upgrade I plan to do. I want to go 256GB or more and then revamp my storage drives.
__________________
The Masamune blade would repel the leaves and let them flow safely down the stream, while the Murasame blade would attract and cut them up.
alkemyst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 01:19 PM   #7
Rhezuss
Diamond Member
 
Rhezuss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 3,039
Default

If you could get your hands on a 1090T/1100T you would be good to go for quite a bit longer.

I have the same CPU as you have and overclock it's doing to job perfectly for now. I'm playing a lot of recent titles and all is running well.

Check for a Thuban chip if you can find one or for not a lot of money you could go Piledriver CPU+mobo+DDR3 (or not if you already have it)...that's what i'm looking to do soon.
__________________
Maturity is for boring people

Win7 Pro 64-bit | ASRock Z77 Extreme 4 | i7 3770K w/ 212 EVO @ 4.4GHz | G.skill Ares 2x4gb DDR3-1866 | M4 128gb SSD (Boot) + WD RE4 500gb (Games) + WD Blue 320gb | Gigabyte HD 7950 WF3 3gb (F43) @ 950/1300 | X-Fi Titanium HD | XFX TS 650W 80+ Gold | LG 23" LCD 1080p | CM690 II Advanced | Logitech Z623 |
Rhezuss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 01:26 PM   #8
alkemyst
No Lifer
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Corner of EPIC and ┼WESOME ST.
Posts: 80,069
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rhezuss View Post
If you could get your hands on a 1090T/1100T you would be good to go for quite a bit longer.

I have the same CPU as you have and overclock it's doing to job perfectly for now. I'm playing a lot of recent titles and all is running well.

Check for a Thuban chip if you can find one or for not a lot of money you could go Piledriver CPU+mobo+DDR3 (or not if you already have it)...that's what i'm looking to do soon.
1100T's are a huge premium it appears...it would make sense to go AM3+ and an FX chip at that point or jump to a 2600K platform.
__________________
The Masamune blade would repel the leaves and let them flow safely down the stream, while the Murasame blade would attract and cut them up.
alkemyst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 02:34 PM   #9
T_Yamamoto
Lifer
 
T_Yamamoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: North Carolina State University
Posts: 13,747
Default

If you ever want to upgrade to a new platform. I'd wait till haswell
__________________
Intel i5 4430, MSI B85M-P33, Gigabyte Windforce R9 270x, 6GB ram, Intel 530 128gb SSD, WD 150gb HDD, Toshiba Canvio 1tb External HDD, Windows 7, NZXT Vulcan, Dell E2414H, ROCCAT Kova+ Max, TG3 BL82

Mid 2014 13" Macbook Pro, Intel Core i5-4278U 2.6Ghz, Intel Iris 5100 GPU, 8GB ram, 128gb SSD
Heatware | Steam
T_Yamamoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 02:35 PM   #10
blastingcap
Diamond Member
 
blastingcap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5,816
Default

Don't get 1100T then, get something further down the stack. 1090T or lower. OC it yourself if you want. If you do want a complete system overhaul, I would wait for Haswell if you can wait a while longer, especially if you won't be doing much on your computers over the holidays.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoFox View Post
We had to suffer polygonal boobs for a decade because of selfish corporate reasons.
Main: 3570K + R9 290 + 16GB 1866 + AsRock Extreme4 Z77 + Eyefinity 5760x1080 eIPS
blastingcap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 09:26 PM   #11
alkemyst
No Lifer
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Corner of EPIC and ┼WESOME ST.
Posts: 80,069
Default

i am going to wait.
__________________
The Masamune blade would repel the leaves and let them flow safely down the stream, while the Murasame blade would attract and cut them up.
alkemyst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 09:52 PM   #12
soccerballtux
Diamond Member
 
soccerballtux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 9,991
Default

Personally I wouldn't bother upgrading CPU to a Thuban 6 core if you're already at 3.8ghz on a quad. You're probably not going to get better than 4ghz on a Thuban. And having 2 more cores is not going to help your games any. Batman is most likely slow due to GPU, not CPU, being that it's an Unreal 3 Engine game.

I would go to 64bit and see if you can improve your overclock.

You ought to be able to hit 4ghz on the nose with 1.5v.... No? I use 1.475v for my 4.0ghz on my 965, and 1.475 can actually take me to about 4.07ghz.
That CPU-NB overclock is good, if even a little bit fast. Try backing it down to 2.6ghz and see if you can hit 4Ghz. I've found it was usually the CPU-NB that lead to stress test failures. Confusingly, this would only come out at >2.6ghz on CPU-NB AND >3.7ghz on the CPU cores. IE, I could run 3ghz CPU-NB until I went past ~3.7ghz, at which point I had to back the CPU-NB way down to 2.6ghz (1.5v on the CPU-NB didn't do anything but create more heat) before I could push 3.8, 3.9, 4ghz. This was a toughie to find and overcome.
Also, our AMDs at the higher voltages/frequencies are awfully touchy about their temps. I can push 4.2ghz until 56C at which point it fails immediately. I can go to 4.1ghz but it fails around 62C, and 4.0ghz I'm good all the way up to 69C (when my fan goes to 100%). However, I see you have an TT-120 Ultra-Extreme, I have the TT-120 Ultra, so your temps are probably better than mine unless I have way better airflow.

If you fiddle with OC let us know how it goes
__________________
HOW TO nested quote
Install this into Firefox then click this, then click "quote" as usual, then click "Nested Quote" to the right of the title bar.
4.0Ghz&2.6Ghz-CPU-NB Ph2-965BE || GA790X-UD4P 8GB DDR800 || Gigabyte GTX670 || Soyo 24" PMVA Heatware

Last edited by soccerballtux; 11-02-2012 at 09:59 PM.
soccerballtux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 09:53 PM   #13
sequoia464
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: So Cal
Posts: 857
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alkemyst View Post
i am going to wait.
Or look for a 960T, Newegg had some a while back again, don't know if they are out of them again or not. I have two, one unlocked to a 6 core, the other didn't.
sequoia464 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 10:49 PM   #14
BD231
Diamond Member
 
BD231's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 9,527
Default

Theres no performance advantage at the top end between any AMD parts, its all the same core logic in different configurations so any gains u get are entirely case specific.
__________________
2550k @ 4.7 - Gene-Z ROG - 7970 - 8gb @ 2133

DEATH TO GANGSTALKERS. MAY YOU ALL DIE A SLOW AND PAINFUL DEATH.
BD231 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.