Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > PC Gaming

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-12-2012, 12:03 PM   #201
Madia
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 364
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaOTiK View Post
Steam does that with like all games you install if you don't install the extra junk. You can either install it and it goes away or you keep hitting no each time you install it. It is setup like that because Steam doesn't know which version you have so they make sure when you launch the game you install the correct one that came with the game.
My problem is that I did intstall it. Each time I launch it still prompts me to install it again. Whether I reintall it or not the game launches fine. I'm just getting the annoying message to install msiexec everytime I lauch no matter what I do.
Madia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 12:04 PM   #202
Red Storm
Lifer
 
Red Storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 12,015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Madia View Post
My problem is that I did intstall it. Each time I launch it still prompts me to install it again. Whether I reintall it or not the game launches fine. I'm just getting the annoying message to install msiexec everytime I lauch no matter what I do.
I was getting this with Age of Empires III the other day, maybe it's a recent bug?
__________________
Heatware
Red Storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 12:12 PM   #203
sygyzy
Lifer
 
sygyzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 14,000
Default

Wow, played two hours last night. This game is awesome. It reminds me a lot of Thief because of how much time you spend planning your move. I am admittedly a chicken so I watch the guards make their rounds like three times before I dare try to get past.
__________________
Peace!
Sygyzy
joshspear
The Perfect Cup of Tea (How-To)
sygyzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 01:03 PM   #204
sygyzy
Lifer
 
sygyzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 14,000
Default

Can someone explain to me how players (in videos I watch) are chaining together powers so quickly? For me, my middle mouse button (which is the scrollwheel) activates the menu. I also have hotkeys 0-9. Even then, it would take me some time to switch to Swarm and deploy rats, switch to Bend to slow time, switch to Possession to go into a rat, etc. It seems so seamless in the videos.
__________________
Peace!
Sygyzy
joshspear
The Perfect Cup of Tea (How-To)
sygyzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 01:05 PM   #205
KaOTiK
Lifer
 
KaOTiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: FL
Posts: 10,884
Default

As soon as you activate a power you can immediately switch to another, you don't need to wait for the power to finish its activation. I switch a lot between using time bend and blink to go in, grab something and get out before anyone even knew I was there.
KaOTiK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 01:15 PM   #206
sygyzy
Lifer
 
sygyzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 14,000
Default

So you activate Bend (now time is slowed down), you blink into a room, blink out of it, (bend is still going on), and you switch to Bend and deactivate it?

Hotkey 1 - bend
Hot key 2 - blink

1, right click, 2, right click, f (grab item), right click (teleport out), 1, right click ?

I can see that, but this chaining together long sequences is something I need to think about and get used to. Not many games require that sort of "scripting"
__________________
Peace!
Sygyzy
joshspear
The Perfect Cup of Tea (How-To)
sygyzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 01:20 PM   #207
KaOTiK
Lifer
 
KaOTiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: FL
Posts: 10,884
Default

I don't deactive bend because by the time I am blink out it is ending.

I've also done bend, blink, then wind to knock a guy into a wall of light then blink again to GTFO

It takes some practice to get it all down, but when you do, oh it is satisfying.
KaOTiK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 01:24 PM   #208
coloumb
Diamond Member
 
coloumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Northwest
Posts: 4,073
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moonbogg View Post
Anyone play this yet? It got good reviews, but I think I might not like it. I've never been into that splinter cell stealth kill crap.
Then you probably won't like it. You can run around and shoot/slice up everyone in site, but the game is definitely built around being stealthy [which is a lot more fun].
__________________
[<><><><>}================================
This sounds like fun. I will enjoy "bending" her to my will...
coloumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 03:21 PM   #209
coldmeat
Diamond Member
 
coldmeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: ON, CA
Posts: 9,178
Default

Wow, just found out on the last mission that upgrading to Blink 2 gives you more range. I thought the description just meant I could sprint faster. That probably would have made things easier.
__________________

coldmeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 04:43 PM   #210
sygyzy
Lifer
 
sygyzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 14,000
Default

Prior to this, what did you think the upgrade to Blink did?
__________________
Peace!
Sygyzy
joshspear
The Perfect Cup of Tea (How-To)
sygyzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 04:43 PM   #211
coldmeat
Diamond Member
 
coldmeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: ON, CA
Posts: 9,178
Default

Just finished it, going to start a ghost/pacifist playthrough now I think. I got the evil/bad ending, which I was expecting because I killed everybody. I thought the city watch and the overseers were the same throughout most of the game, and I also assumed they were all corrupt. Oops.

One thing I didn't like was how sometimes it was pretty obvious when the story was being affected (like the way a character acts towards you suddenly changes one mission).
__________________


Last edited by coldmeat; 10-12-2012 at 04:48 PM.
coldmeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 04:47 PM   #212
StinkyPinky
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: A sandpit with casinos
Posts: 4,883
Default

So what powers do you guys think is good for a stealth based character? Not full on stealth since I'm happy to kill if needed, but I will always take the stealth option first.

Thinking...

Blink (level 2?)
Possession (level 1?)
Dark Vision (level 1)
Bend Time (level 2?)
Agility (level 2)
__________________
Intel i7 4790K, GIGABYTE Z97X-UD5H, 16GB G.SKILL Ares DDR3 1866MHz , ASUS R9 280X DirectCU II TOP 3GB, Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB + 3 x 1TB Samsung F3, 1 x 2TB Seagate Barracuda. Windows 8.1 Pro

Late 2013 13" Macbook Pro, Intel Core i5-4258U 2.4Ghz, Intel Iris 5100 GPU, 8GB ram, 256GB SSD
StinkyPinky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 05:08 PM   #213
KaOTiK
Lifer
 
KaOTiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: FL
Posts: 10,884
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StinkyPinky View Post
So what powers do you guys think is good for a stealth based character? Not full on stealth since I'm happy to kill if needed, but I will always take the stealth option first.

Thinking...

Blink (level 2?)
Possession (level 1?)
Dark Vision (level 1)
Bend Time (level 2?)
Agility (level 2)
Possession lvl 2 is quite handy for some situation I have found as well. Bend Time, Blink, and Agility lvl 2 are all definites.
KaOTiK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 05:18 PM   #214
coldmeat
Diamond Member
 
coldmeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: ON, CA
Posts: 9,178
Default

Should I start a new game, or just go back and replay the missions again? If I replay mission 1 and do it different, do those new stats now carry forward to the next missions? It might be too late, because I've already started a new game.
__________________

coldmeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 08:44 PM   #215
pontifex
Lifer
 
pontifex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: PA
Posts: 40,896
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaOTiK View Post
Possession lvl 2 is quite handy for some situation I have found as well. Bend Time, Blink, and Agility lvl 2 are all definites.
does possession 2 kill the dude you possess?

I noticed that possession 1 kills the rat when it runs out. that would not be good for a no-kills run. or does it not count as a kill?
pontifex is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 08:59 PM   #216
KaOTiK
Lifer
 
KaOTiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: FL
Posts: 10,884
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pontifex View Post
does possession 2 kill the dude you possess?

I noticed that possession 1 kills the rat when it runs out. that would not be good for a no-kills run. or does it not count as a kill?
No it doesn't. I've taken possession of a few guards and when possession wears off you pop out behind them. I used it for the guards that had the dogs, the dogs don't follow you when you walk away with the guy possessed.


Just beat the game, 22 hours. I explorer the vast majority of it, play mostly stealth but did kill people, had an overall Chaos rating of low. It was excellent. I will be playing it two more times, once fully killing everyone and once total ghost not killing anyone.

I liked the ending I got, it was simple but it was fine.
KaOTiK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 09:04 PM   #217
coldmeat
Diamond Member
 
coldmeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: ON, CA
Posts: 9,178
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sygyzy View Post
Prior to this, what did you think the upgrade to Blink did?
well it says "level II: rapid forward movement for a longer distance". That sounded like a faster sprint to me.
__________________

coldmeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 09:10 PM   #218
KaOTiK
Lifer
 
KaOTiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: FL
Posts: 10,884
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by coldmeat View Post
well it says "level II: rapid forward movement for a longer distance". That sounded like a faster sprint to me.
I thought the same thing at first, but since Blink is rapid movement forward (you don't teleport) I figured it meant longer distance. I put it together after I went to blink through a wall of light and died, I think figured it out right after that hah.
KaOTiK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 11:03 AM   #219
Red Storm
Lifer
 
Red Storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 12,015
Default

This game is really fun.
__________________
Heatware
Red Storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 02:36 PM   #220
sygyzy
Lifer
 
sygyzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 14,000
Default

Hmm I am sort of stuck on the beginning mission where you are trying to get past the wall of light. It says to use the alley (I forgot the name) to get around the wall of light. At the end of that alley is the distillery, which I've already been through. There's a dead end. Now where else to go. Am I going the right way?
__________________
Peace!
Sygyzy
joshspear
The Perfect Cup of Tea (How-To)
sygyzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 03:17 PM   #221
coldmeat
Diamond Member
 
coldmeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: ON, CA
Posts: 9,178
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sygyzy View Post
Hmm I am sort of stuck on the beginning mission where you are trying to get past the wall of light. It says to use the alley (I forgot the name) to get around the wall of light. At the end of that alley is the distillery, which I've already been through. There's a dead end. Now where else to go. Am I going the right way?
Look up, use the roof. No way is the right way.
__________________

coldmeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 03:38 PM   #222
KaOTiK
Lifer
 
KaOTiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: FL
Posts: 10,884
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sygyzy View Post
Hmm I am sort of stuck on the beginning mission where you are trying to get past the wall of light. It says to use the alley (I forgot the name) to get around the wall of light. At the end of that alley is the distillery, which I've already been through. There's a dead end. Now where else to go. Am I going the right way?
Remember this game has many paths to the same areas. Think vertically.
KaOTiK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 08:23 PM   #223
sygyzy
Lifer
 
sygyzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 14,000
Default

Cool, got it!
__________________
Peace!
Sygyzy
joshspear
The Perfect Cup of Tea (How-To)
sygyzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 08:22 AM   #224
Geosurface
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5,778
Default

I was feeling sort of underwhelmed by Dishonored for a while, but as I get further into it, I am liking it more again.

It's far from perfect, and I still don't think it's a 9/10. But as a huge fan of Thief: The Dark Project (avatar source) it brings back some good memories of that for sure.

It's a bit too stale and derivative of Bioshock, Half-Life 2, and some other similar titles, but it is better than I was giving it credit for at one point.

I do think I'm possibly just before the last mission and if that's true... that's unfortunate, it's also a bit short.

I meant for this to be a more positive post than it ended up being.
Geosurface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 11:48 AM   #225
pontifex
Lifer
 
pontifex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: PA
Posts: 40,896
Default

I'm in the kennels. How do you quietly and non-lethally take out a dog and handler?
You can't knock out a dog without using the sleep dart. If you take out the handler, the dog is alerted. If you take out the dog, I assume the handler is alerted?

Does killing dogs count as a kill or is that just humans?

If a dog sees me, does that count as being seen or whatever?
pontifex is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.