Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Consumer Electronics > Mobile Devices & Gadgets

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-19-2012, 05:12 PM   #1
evti
Member
 
evti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 39
Default Updating a rooted Galaxy S3

I rooted my Galaxy S3, and got an update notice the other day. I tried updating it, and all was okay until it rebooted to try and install it. It booted to the Odin screen or whatever (the one where you select the Zip package when you root it), and then showed the Android robot dead with an exclamation mark over him. I tried restarting it to get it back to functionality, and fortunately this worked, but now it won't shut up about the update. Is there any way I can update it, or is it like jailbreaking an iPhone where you have to do it again (and only if there's a version of the jailbreak for your software version)?
evti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 05:44 PM   #2
s44
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8,922
Default

Did you change the recovery or kernel while rooting?

You could try using the OTA Rootkeeper to temporarily un-root before running the update, then run it again to re-root after.
s44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 05:55 PM   #3
T_Yamamoto
Lifer
 
T_Yamamoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: North Carolina State University
Posts: 13,779
Default

Download and install a ROM. Maybe bugless beast? If you get a stock ROM (like bug less) it gets rid of those OTA notifications. If you just root. They still show up
__________________
Intel i5 4430, MSI B85M-P33, Gigabyte Windforce R9 270x, 6GB ram, Intel 530 128gb SSD, WD 160gb HDD, Toshiba Canvio 1tb External HDD, Windows 7, NZXT Vulcan, Dell E2414H, ROCCAT Kova+ Max, TG3 BL82
Mid 2014 13" Macbook Pro, Intel Core i5-4278U 2.6Ghz, Intel Iris 5100 GPU, 8GB ram, 128gb SSD
iPhone 6 16gb CDMA
Heatware | Steam
T_Yamamoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 10:08 AM   #4
PowerYoga
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 4,365
Default

You're probably on verizon, I got the update push 2 nights ago myself. You can flash the updated rom but it requires the unlocked bootloader.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1892670

If you want to disable the notification without updating, you can disable SDM by freezing it with titanium backup or using root browser to rename the SDM.APK file to something else.
__________________
Your mouse has moved. Windows will restart to make the necessary changes.
PowerYoga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 05:44 PM   #5
evti
Member
 
evti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 39
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by s44 View Post
Did you change the recovery or kernel while rooting?

You could try using the OTA Rootkeeper to temporarily un-root before running the update, then run it again to re-root after.
No idea, lol. If I did this, I assume the root isn't version dependent? As in it's not like the iPhone where only certain versions of the software can be jailbroken?
evti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 07:34 PM   #6
s44
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8,922
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by evti View Post
No idea, lol. If I did this, I assume the root isn't version dependent? As in it's not like the iPhone where only certain versions of the software can be jailbroken?
Basically not, but you'd need to reroot after a successful OTA unless you use Rootkeeper. Your problem is more likely the reverse: something you changed while rooting is borking the OTA update.

Tell us what model you have and what root instructions you followed...
s44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 07:39 PM   #7
DLeRium
Lifer
 
DLeRium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: San Francisco Bay Area, CA
Posts: 19,726
Default

on a lot of phones OTA updates get screwed or updates in general because of root.

this is a path I hate taking with people who aren't interested in ROMing. Essentially root is a difficult path to go down.
DLeRium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 08:10 PM   #8
ponyo
Lifer
 
ponyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 12,473
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DLeRium View Post
on a lot of phones OTA updates get screwed or updates in general because of root.

this is a path I hate taking with people who aren't interested in ROMing. Essentially root is a difficult path to go down.
Name one phone. Rooting itself won't effect OTA update.
ponyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 08:31 PM   #9
NikolaeVarius
Lifer
 
NikolaeVarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,010
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DLeRium View Post
on a lot of phones OTA updates get screwed or updates in general because of root.

this is a path I hate taking with people who aren't interested in ROMing. Essentially root is a difficult path to go down.
Root does nothing in regards to updates.
__________________
Boom, phrasing.
NikolaeVarius is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 08:38 PM   #10
DLeRium
Lifer
 
DLeRium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: San Francisco Bay Area, CA
Posts: 19,726
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ponyo View Post
Name one phone. Rooting itself won't effect OTA update.
My gf's Incredible 2? Verizon would try to push OTA updates and it'd fail.
DLeRium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 11:00 AM   #11
PowerYoga
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 4,365
Default

If you just root it won't affect OTAs at all. If you rooted and then flashed a custom rom the OTA might fail depending on if its a stock rom or not. For example I flashed a slimmed down stock rom and I still got the OTA prompts.
__________________
Your mouse has moved. Windows will restart to make the necessary changes.
PowerYoga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 05:29 PM   #12
evti
Member
 
evti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 39
Default

I used this method to root my phone. I have a Galaxy S3 SGH-I747
evti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 06:42 PM   #13
ponyo
Lifer
 
ponyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 12,473
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by evti View Post
I used this method to root my phone. I have a Galaxy S3 SGH-I747
So do you have stock recovery or custom Clockworkmod recovery?
ponyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 07:13 PM   #14
s44
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8,922
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ponyo View Post
So do you have stock recovery or custom Clockworkmod recovery?
From his link
Quote:
does not affect your phone in any way other than install ClockworkMod Recovery and give you root
So the root method he used switched recoveries to CWM. This is what broke OTA.

This method should let you apply the OTA changes using the recovery you have. Check your Settings first to make sure you're on UCALG1 before you apply it.

Of course, I'd personally nandroid, TiBu, and start trying ROMs, but that's up to you.

Last edited by s44; 09-24-2012 at 07:17 PM.
s44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 07:36 PM   #15
ponyo
Lifer
 
ponyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 12,473
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by s44 View Post
From his linkSo the root method he used switched recoveries to CWM. This is what broke OTA.

This method should let you apply the OTA changes using the recovery you have. Check your Settings first to make sure you're on UCALG1 before you apply it.

Of course, I'd personally nandroid, TiBu, and start trying ROMs, but that's up to you.
The reason I asked is that CWM won't stick unless you delete the 2 files. I don't know if this program does that for you or leaves it up to the user to do that. This is why I'm not a fan of one click root and other automated batch programs. It teaches the user nothing since the steps are usually hidden and when things go wrong or the user wants to undo the changes, they don't have any idea or clue where to start. There's no learning or understanding of the process. It's why I still do everything manually via adb and fastboot commands. It's not hard and it forces me to read and check after every step of the process. OP, I'm not trying to pick on you. I just want people to understand what they're doing.
ponyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.