Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Computer Help

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-12-2012, 04:58 PM   #1
lenjack
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 2,473
Question Left click in Google not working

WXP, SP3, IE8, all updates. When I'm logged in to Google, anything I left click on doesn't work. I need to right click and choose "open" or "open in new window" to get results. When I'm NOT logged in to Google, left click works fine. Any ideas?
__________________
Any computer problem can be fixed with a big enough hammer!
lenjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 09:12 PM   #2
denis280
Platinum Member
 
denis280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Shawinigan Québec Canada
Posts: 2,759
Default

Don't know about google.but did you try looking into IE8 option setting.
denis280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 11:58 PM   #3
corkyg
Moderator
Peripherals
 
corkyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 24,128
Default

Have you tried it with a different mouse?
__________________
CorkyG - Tucson, AZ

In my view you cannot claim to have seen something until you have photographed it.... Emile Zola
corkyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2012, 08:36 AM   #4
lenjack
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 2,473
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by denis280 View Post
Don't know about google.but did you try looking into IE8 option setting.
Could you be more specific?
__________________
Any computer problem can be fixed with a big enough hammer!
lenjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2012, 08:37 AM   #5
lenjack
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 2,473
Default

Will try another.
__________________
Any computer problem can be fixed with a big enough hammer!
lenjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 05:20 PM   #6
lenjack
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 2,473
Default

Different mouse, different trackball. Removed IE8 which left IE6...same deal. Reinstalled IE8...no joy.

I can live with this, but it's slightly annoying.
__________________
Any computer problem can be fixed with a big enough hammer!
lenjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 05:43 PM   #7
AnonymouseUser
Diamond Member
 
AnonymouseUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 8,399
Default

Do you have any other Google products installed? eg, Google Toolbar, Earth, Desktop?

Can you try another browser?

Have you changed any ActiveX settings recently?

Can you create a new user in Windows, log in to that account, and test it there?
__________________
NSA Homeland Security PRISM Denial of service Malware Trojan Keylogger Cyber Command
2600 Backpack Phishing Rootkit Agro Eco ISIL Conventional weapon
Target Weapons grade Dirty bomb Enriched Nuclear Chemical Biological weapon Black out
Pressure Cooker Grid Power Smart Body scanner Electric ISIS Ammonium nitrate Brown Out
Bridge Organized crime National security State Liberation Security Breach Threat Standoff
SWAT Screening Virus Environmental Terrorist Dock
AnonymouseUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 05:53 PM   #8
lenjack
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 2,473
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anonymouseuser View Post
do you have any other google products installed? Eg, google toolbar, earth, desktop? No

can you try another browser? Safari and chrome work fine

have you changed any activex settings recently? No

can you create a new user in windows, log in to that account, and test it there?
don't know how.
__________________
Any computer problem can be fixed with a big enough hammer!
lenjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 06:05 PM   #9
AnonymouseUser
Diamond Member
 
AnonymouseUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 8,399
Default

Guide: How to Create a New User Account in Windows XP

After that, log out or switch user and you'll have the option to log in to either user account. Open IE8, log in to Google, test left-click.
__________________
NSA Homeland Security PRISM Denial of service Malware Trojan Keylogger Cyber Command
2600 Backpack Phishing Rootkit Agro Eco ISIL Conventional weapon
Target Weapons grade Dirty bomb Enriched Nuclear Chemical Biological weapon Black out
Pressure Cooker Grid Power Smart Body scanner Electric ISIS Ammonium nitrate Brown Out
Bridge Organized crime National security State Liberation Security Breach Threat Standoff
SWAT Screening Virus Environmental Terrorist Dock
AnonymouseUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 07:02 PM   #10
lenjack
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 2,473
Default

Thanks. I'll try it sometime this week...too busy right now.
__________________
Any computer problem can be fixed with a big enough hammer!
lenjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 10:11 AM   #11
lenjack
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 2,473
Default

New user account solved the problem, but to use this account, I would need to reinstall everything from my regular account, unless there is a better way to do it.
__________________
Any computer problem can be fixed with a big enough hammer!
lenjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 11:12 AM   #12
AnonymouseUser
Diamond Member
 
AnonymouseUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 8,399
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lenjack View Post
New user account solved the problem, but to use this account, I would need to reinstall everything from my regular account, unless there is a better way to do it.
OK, then there is definitely a problem not with IE8 itself, but with the personalized settings with your normal user. I recommend exporting your bookmarks to a file so you can import them to the new profile later, then reset your Internet Explorer settings. Verify that the problem is gone, then import your bookmarks back and you're done.
__________________
NSA Homeland Security PRISM Denial of service Malware Trojan Keylogger Cyber Command
2600 Backpack Phishing Rootkit Agro Eco ISIL Conventional weapon
Target Weapons grade Dirty bomb Enriched Nuclear Chemical Biological weapon Black out
Pressure Cooker Grid Power Smart Body scanner Electric ISIS Ammonium nitrate Brown Out
Bridge Organized crime National security State Liberation Security Breach Threat Standoff
SWAT Screening Virus Environmental Terrorist Dock
AnonymouseUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 11:46 AM   #13
lenjack
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 2,473
Default

SOLVED!! Reset popup blocker from high to medium and all is well.
__________________
Any computer problem can be fixed with a big enough hammer!
lenjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.