Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Power Supplies

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-01-2012, 08:53 PM   #1
Grey!matter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 85
Default gtx 680 on a 650watt psu?

Hey

My question is simple, will a gtx 680 run fine with the psu in my sig? I just recently bought the 560ti but i have enough to do the step up so im just making sure my bases are covered.

thanks
__________________
i5 2500k@4.5 1.35v
Asus p8p67
Antec 650 truepower new
Evga GTX670 FTW edition
8gb of Gskill ram@1600
Corsair H100/500r/force 3 120g ssd
Grey!matter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 09:20 PM   #2
dac7nco
Senior Member
 
dac7nco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Santa Rosa, CA.
Posts: 756
Default

Yes
__________________
1: 2x 2697v2- 384GB Kingston ECC.Reg. - X9DR3 - PNY Quadro K6000 - 2x Benq 32" - Intel X540-T2
2: 4771 - ASRock Z87-ITX - 16GB Mushkin - GTX 770, LG 47"
3: Thecus N8850 - 16TB RAID-10 - 3TB USB3.0 - Intel X540-T1
4: Thecus N8850 - 16TB RAID-10, Intel X540-T1
dac7nco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 09:30 PM   #3
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 26,007
Default

should work fine. Antec TP New is a good PSU, think perhaps Seasonic-based. At least I know it has Japanese caps.
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec
VirtualLarry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 10:04 PM   #4
Halogen23
Member
 
Halogen23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 151
Default

I run a 7970 overclocked with a 550W XFX power supply. Since GTX680 uses less power than that, you should be fine.
__________________
:: 2550k 4500MHz :: TRUE Antec TrueQuiet Pro 120 P/P :: MSI 7970 1050c1440m AC Accelero Extreme ::
:: ASRock Extreme3 Gen3 :: 16GB Samsung 30nm 1600 8.8.8.24 1T :: XFX 550w ::
:: Samsung 840 Pro 256GB :: ST3000DM001 :: Silverstone FT02-S ::

http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=72709
Halogen23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 12:13 AM   #5
lehtv
Diamond Member
 
lehtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9,930
Default

You could run GTX 680 SLI on a 650W PSU.
__________________
System specs
lehtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 12:20 PM   #6
Halogen23
Member
 
Halogen23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lehtv View Post
You could run GTX 680 SLI on a 650W PSU.
Short term for a month or two? Probably. Long term? Probably not. IMO you'd need a solid 750w to run that over a decent amount of time and have some room to spare as the PSU degrades over time.
__________________
:: 2550k 4500MHz :: TRUE Antec TrueQuiet Pro 120 P/P :: MSI 7970 1050c1440m AC Accelero Extreme ::
:: ASRock Extreme3 Gen3 :: 16GB Samsung 30nm 1600 8.8.8.24 1T :: XFX 550w ::
:: Samsung 840 Pro 256GB :: ST3000DM001 :: Silverstone FT02-S ::

http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=72709
Halogen23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 12:28 PM   #7
Upgrade_Itch
Banned
 
Upgrade_Itch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 236
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lehtv View Post
You could run GTX 680 SLI on a 650W PSU.
It "might" be possible...but not recommended.....Especially if you oc the cpu + gpu's.
Upgrade_Itch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 01:30 PM   #8
lehtv
Diamond Member
 
lehtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9,930
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Halogen23
Short term for a month or two? Probably. Long term? Probably not. IMO you'd need a solid 750w to run that over a decent amount of time and have some room to spare as the PSU degrades over time.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Upgrade_Itch View Post
It "might" be possible...but not recommended.....Especially if you oc the cpu + gpu's.
I mean you can run it with zero issues in the long term, of course provided your PSU has a strong +12V rail and is reliable all-round.

http://www.guru3d.com/article/geforc...0-sli-review/4
Quote:
Measured power consumption two cards in SLI
  1. System in IDLE = 155W
  2. System Wattage with GPU in FULL Stress = 473W
  3. Difference (GPU load) = 318W
  4. Add average IDLE wattage ~20W
  5. Subjective obtained GPU power consumption = ~ 338 Watts
473W / 650W * 100% = 73%, nothing to sweat over. The CPU is an i7 965 @ 3.75GHz, so with a modern and moderately overclocked Sandy/Ivy, the overall power consumption is going to be lower.

http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/A...80_SLI/21.html
Quote:
Peak: Crysis 2 at 1920x1200, Extreme profile, representing a typical gaming power draw. Highest single reading during the test.
The Peak graph shows 360W for GTX680 SLI (GPU only power consumption). Slightly higher than Guru's estimate which is understandable as it's a peak reading.

If you decided to overclock both GPUs then yes you might run into longevity issues, but it's not like 680 SLI needs any overclocking. Better off with lower noise/thermals.
__________________
System specs
lehtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 01:59 PM   #9
aaksheytalwar
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3,137
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lehtv View Post
You could run GTX 680 SLI on a 650W PSU.
No
__________________
3770k @ 4.3 with H100i, Asus Z77 Deluxe, Samsung 30nm 4x4gb ddr3 @ 1866 9-9-9-28 1T, MSI R9 290 Gaming 4G, Coolermaster Silent Pro Hybrid 1300 watts, Crucial M4 512gb, 3x Seagate 7200.14 3TB each
aaksheytalwar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 02:00 PM   #10
TemjinGold
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,433
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aaksheytalwar View Post
No
Yes
__________________
Antec P182 | Seasonic X-660 | Cyberpower 1000PFCLCD |
Intel i5 2500k @4.2 w/ Corsair H55 | ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z |
16gb G.SKILL DDR3 1600 | ASUS GTX580 |
Sharp AQUOS LC-32LE700UN 32" LED HDTV | 1x 960 gb Crucial M500 |
1x 1TB Samsung F3 | Samsung SATA DVD Burner | Logitech Z-5500
TemjinGold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 06:31 PM   #11
kevinsbane
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 667
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lehtv View Post
473W / 650W * 100% = 73%, nothing to sweat over. The CPU is an i7 965 @ 3.75GHz, so with a modern and moderately overclocked Sandy/Ivy, the overall power consumption is going to be lower
Actually that's more like 65% capacity; the 473W is from the wall, so once you apply efficiency, you're talking closer to 425W system draw.
kevinsbane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 06:53 PM   #12
lehtv
Diamond Member
 
lehtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9,930
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinsbane View Post
Actually that's more like 65% capacity; the 473W is from the wall, so once you apply efficiency, you're talking closer to 425W system draw.
Good point.
__________________
System specs
lehtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 07:38 PM   #13
fffblackmage
Platinum Member
 
fffblackmage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,539
Default

The GTX680 is a lot less power hungry compared to past Nvidia GPUs. Plus, most people buy more wattage than they really need. I could definitely see an excellent 650W PSU powering a GTX680 SLI config (long-term, even after some degradation). This is why a good PSU is often recommended over higher-powered PSUs from questionable brands/manufactuters (along with other reasons).
fffblackmage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 05:19 AM   #14
thejunglegod
Senior Member
 
thejunglegod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 950
Default

im using an Antec EA650 Earthwatts with my 680. You should be fine OP.
__________________
i7-2600K + H100 | P8Z68-VPro/Gen3 | Galaxy GTX 680 2GB | 8GB GSkill Ripjaws | Antec Earthwatts EA650 | 2 X 1 TB HDD Seagate| Corsair Obsidian 800D
thejunglegod is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 07:04 AM   #15
aaksheytalwar
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3,137
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fffblackmage View Post
The GTX680 is a lot less power hungry compared to past Nvidia GPUs. Plus, most people buy more wattage than they really need. I could definitely see an excellent 650W PSU powering a GTX680 SLI config (long-term, even after some degradation). This is why a good PSU is often recommended over higher-powered PSUs from questionable brands/manufactuters (along with other reasons).
You might scrape through with a stock CPU (SB only) with 680 SLI stock with a single HDD and not many fans etc.

But if you wish to go for high OCs, want room, several HDDs etc then the minimum recommended is a quality 800+ watts at the bare minimum.

For a single 680 with a high quality PSU and moderately high ocs on CPU (assuming non AMD assuming non SB E) and GPU, with a few HDDs, he will be okay. But just about. And expect the PSU to get noisy very often.
__________________
3770k @ 4.3 with H100i, Asus Z77 Deluxe, Samsung 30nm 4x4gb ddr3 @ 1866 9-9-9-28 1T, MSI R9 290 Gaming 4G, Coolermaster Silent Pro Hybrid 1300 watts, Crucial M4 512gb, 3x Seagate 7200.14 3TB each
aaksheytalwar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 07:12 AM   #16
kevinsbane
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 667
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aaksheytalwar View Post
For a single 680 with a high quality PSU and moderately high ocs on CPU (assuming non AMD assuming non SB E) and GPU, with a few HDDs, he will be okay. But just about. And expect the PSU to get noisy very often.
No, it's not "just about ok". I run the exact system you describe (a highly overclocked 45 nm CPU and overclocked GTX 680) and you know what? My Seasonic x650 fan doesn't even turn on.
kevinsbane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 07:39 AM   #17
aaksheytalwar
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3,137
Default

Full system config? Furmark testing wattage?
__________________
3770k @ 4.3 with H100i, Asus Z77 Deluxe, Samsung 30nm 4x4gb ddr3 @ 1866 9-9-9-28 1T, MSI R9 290 Gaming 4G, Coolermaster Silent Pro Hybrid 1300 watts, Crucial M4 512gb, 3x Seagate 7200.14 3TB each
aaksheytalwar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 07:43 AM   #18
TemjinGold
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,433
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aaksheytalwar View Post
You might scrape through with a stock CPU (SB only) with 680 SLI stock with a single HDD and not many fans etc.

But if you wish to go for high OCs, want room, several HDDs etc then the minimum recommended is a quality 800+ watts at the bare minimum.

For a single 680 with a high quality PSU and moderately high ocs on CPU (assuming non AMD assuming non SB E) and GPU, with a few HDDs, he will be okay. But just about. And expect the PSU to get noisy very often.
Post some proof. Show us a reputable source that echoes this.
__________________
Antec P182 | Seasonic X-660 | Cyberpower 1000PFCLCD |
Intel i5 2500k @4.2 w/ Corsair H55 | ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z |
16gb G.SKILL DDR3 1600 | ASUS GTX580 |
Sharp AQUOS LC-32LE700UN 32" LED HDTV | 1x 960 gb Crucial M500 |
1x 1TB Samsung F3 | Samsung SATA DVD Burner | Logitech Z-5500
TemjinGold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 08:00 AM   #19
kevinsbane
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 667
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aaksheytalwar View Post
Full system config? Furmark testing wattage?
Full system config is an i5-750 at 3.8 GHz, running 1.325V, GA-P55A-UD3 motherboard, GTX 680 at 132% power, +75 core, +150 mem, 8GB ram, 160G Intel SSD, 1TB Samsung F3, 4x AP-13 (equivalent) fans, fan controller, PCIe Wireless card, Seasonic X650 power supply.

Don't know my Furmark wattage offhand, I just know the absolute maximum I've ever managed to pull is 350W. From the wall.
kevinsbane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 09:33 AM   #20
fffblackmage
Platinum Member
 
fffblackmage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,539
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinsbane View Post
Don't know my Furmark wattage offhand, I just know the absolute maximum I've ever managed to pull is 350W. From the wall.

The most I managed to pull from the wall was about 500W (Furmark+Prime95, tested with a Kill-A-Watt meter), and assuming my PSU is roughly 80% efficient, I'm actually using about 400W of my Antec NeoHE 500W's capacity. That was not a typical load, since I had my Phenom II X4 (C2) overclocked at 3.6GHz at 1.5V and my single 5870 overclocked just past 1GHz with insane voltage (don't remember what voltage exactly, but it was something I wasn't going to use for 24/7 operation). My PSU is normally very quiet (with the gfx card making the most noise), but for once, I actually heard my PSU fan working hard.
fffblackmage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 09:35 PM   #21
kevinsbane
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 667
Default

Ok, tested my Furmark + Prime95 wattage.

430W at the wall. So closer to 387W from the power supply itself, or a little less than 60% capacity. Yes, my power supply fan turned on (finally). I could barely tell, I had to crawl up to my power supply grill and feel for airflow through the thing.

GTX 680 + overclocked quad core on a decent 650W supply? Sure can do. SLI? You're pushing it with high overclocks, but still very doable on a quality 650 watter (like Seasonic X650, Antec Earthwatts 650W, Corsair TX650)

As long as the 650 watter is actually capable of putting out 650W, and isn't overrated a la Sunbeam "580W" or the even worse Diablotek "1050W", then that PSU will run an overclocked quad core + overclocked GTX 680 with ease.

Edit: For comparison, at all stock settings, I was running 330W.

Last edited by kevinsbane; 05-07-2012 at 09:51 PM.
kevinsbane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 02:34 AM   #22
lehtv
Diamond Member
 
lehtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9,930
Default

My system with i7-920 @ 3.2Ghz/1.2V and 560 Ti @ 960Mhz/0.95V pulls 480W from the wall, 430W adjusted for efficiency. I would probably be able to run 560 Ti SLI on this PSU - even in Furmark/Prime95, it'd be under rated wattage. In gaming, it wouldn't be anywhere close to rated wattage. Not the most comfy long-term solution but it'd work OK.
__________________
System specs
lehtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 06:59 AM   #23
TemjinGold
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,433
Default

So where did Mr. 800watts go? And where's his proof to back his claims?
__________________
Antec P182 | Seasonic X-660 | Cyberpower 1000PFCLCD |
Intel i5 2500k @4.2 w/ Corsair H55 | ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z |
16gb G.SKILL DDR3 1600 | ASUS GTX580 |
Sharp AQUOS LC-32LE700UN 32" LED HDTV | 1x 960 gb Crucial M500 |
1x 1TB Samsung F3 | Samsung SATA DVD Burner | Logitech Z-5500
TemjinGold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 10:20 AM   #24
StarvinMarvin22
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 72
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TemjinGold View Post
So where did Mr. 800watts go? And where's his proof to back his claims?
he's too busy posting "this" 5x in every thread he comes across
__________________
Asrock Extreme3 Gen3 | Intel 2500k @ 4.2 GHz 1.205v | CM 212+ | 2x 4GB G.Skill 1333 | MSI R6870 | Crucial M4 128GB | 2x Samsung 1TB | Seasonic x650 | Lancool PC-K62R1 | Win 7 Pro x64
StarvinMarvin22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 01:42 PM   #25
aaksheytalwar
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3,137
Default

I prefer to use a psu at 50% of rated power. Also you have a single 560 ti not sli
__________________
3770k @ 4.3 with H100i, Asus Z77 Deluxe, Samsung 30nm 4x4gb ddr3 @ 1866 9-9-9-28 1T, MSI R9 290 Gaming 4G, Coolermaster Silent Pro Hybrid 1300 watts, Crucial M4 512gb, 3x Seagate 7200.14 3TB each
aaksheytalwar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.