Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > *nix Software

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-01-2012, 12:38 AM   #51
theevilsharpie
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,320
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theevilsharpie View Post
Another annoyance: No launch feedback

In Windows, if you start a program, the mouse cursor will change into an hourglass to let you know that you've launched an app. KDE has its hyperactive bouncy mini-launcher icon combined with an animated mouse cursor.

Unity? Nothing. I clicked on the Ubuntu Software Center icon, and thought that maybe I'd missed the icon, only to have it launch several seconds later.

Everyone on the Unity development team must have SSDs or something
Just wanted to follow up on this.

Apparently Unity does have launch feedback: the launcher icon for the app you opened will lightly throb while the app is loading. I could've sworn that wasn't there before. I have had some graphical glitches with it (particularly with dual monitors enabled), so perhaps it's impacted by experience in a functional way.

Oh well. I just wanted to set the record straight.
theevilsharpie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 01:07 AM   #52
theevilsharpie
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,320
Default

From the official Ubuntu documentation:
Quote:
Anti-virus software does exist for Linux, but you probably don't need to use it. Viruses that affect Linux are still very rare. Some argue that this is because Linux is not as widely used as other operating systems, so no-one writes viruses for it. Others argue that Linux is intrinsically more secure, and security problems that viruses could make use of are fixed very quickly.

Whatever the reason, Linux viruses are so rare that you don't really need to worry about them at the moment.
From Ubuntu's official website on reasons to use Ubuntu:
Quote:
No viruses
Life's too short to spend it worrying about viruses.
theevilsharpie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 03:07 AM   #53
beginner99
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,199
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VinDSL View Post
Heh! I'm done with 12.04...

All hail Ubuntu 12.10 (toolchain). LoL!

How or where can you get or set that "info bar" at the right side of your desktop?
beginner99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 10:18 AM   #54
Jodell88
Diamond Member
 
Jodell88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sweet T&T
Posts: 6,930
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by beginner99 View Post
How or where can you get or set that "info bar" at the right side of your desktop?
conky

Check out this thread for some inspiration.
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=39906&p=1
__________________
“Defend the weak, protect both young and old, never desert your friends. Give justice to all, be fearless in battle and always ready to defend the right." - The law of Badger Lords
Jodell88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 11:54 AM   #55
VinDSL
Diamond Member
 
VinDSL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Arizona Uplands Intelligence (IQ): 138+
Posts: 4,861
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jodell88 View Post
conky

Check out this thread for some inspiration.
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=39906&p=1
Here's a write-up, on Ubu Forums, specific to my Conky script:
[other] HOWTO: VinDSL Conky Script
Also, it's an excellent general tutorial on what makes Conky tick...
__________________
.:: ABL² | Vin's Place | Vin's AnandTech Search | Vin's System Rig
Listen to people who fail. They know what they're talking about.
VinDSL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 12:11 PM   #56
VinDSL
Diamond Member
 
VinDSL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Arizona Uplands Intelligence (IQ): 138+
Posts: 4,861
Default

BTW, Linux 3.4 is now available in the Quantal repos (pick your platform):
“linux” 3.4.0-1.2 source package
Should work fine in Ubu PP, since Quantal & Precise are still very similar, at this juncture, but no guarantees.

All they're doing, at the moment, is sync'ing up with the Debian repos.

I must have upgraded 400+ packages, in the past few days (only 1 borkage - libxfont). LoL!
X doesn't load in Quantal, downgrading libxfont1 to Precise version fixes it

Here's a screenie, showing me purging the "old" RCs...


Onward & upward...
__________________
.:: ABL² | Vin's Place | Vin's AnandTech Search | Vin's System Rig
Listen to people who fail. They know what they're talking about.
VinDSL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 01:09 PM   #57
VinDSL
Diamond Member
 
VinDSL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Arizona Uplands Intelligence (IQ): 138+
Posts: 4,861
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theevilsharpie View Post
From the official Ubuntu documentation:

From Ubuntu's official website on reasons to use Ubuntu:
Never hurts to be a *little* paranoid (like when a Winders user sends you something).

My "pick" is avast!:
avast! Linux Home Edition

Works great on Ubu, but you have to bump up the kernel.shmmax blocks:
[ubuntu] Avast Anti Virus ~ VinDSL Fix


As an aside, I never have figured out why (almost) all distros set the shmmax blocks so low.

Anyway, if you feel the *need*, that's what I use/recommend. All the other Linux AV proggies are kinda sucky!
__________________
.:: ABL² | Vin's Place | Vin's AnandTech Search | Vin's System Rig
Listen to people who fail. They know what they're talking about.
VinDSL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 03:35 PM   #58
Gs dewd
Senior Member
 
Gs dewd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 235
Default

All hail Cinnamon sprinkled on top.

Gs dewd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 10:12 PM   #59
theevilsharpie
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,320
Default

I need to start a program with gksudo, but there doesn't seem to be an easy way of doing so with a launcher. I've modified the application's launcher file, and I get prompted to input my password, but the program never actually launches. If I run the very same command in a terminal, it works fine.

*grumble*

Last edited by theevilsharpie; 05-05-2012 at 10:22 PM.
theevilsharpie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 10:35 PM   #60
Kwatt
Golden Member
 
Kwatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 1,130
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gs dewd View Post
all hail cinnamon sprinkled on top.
Thanks for that screen shot. I have been looking for relief from the top taskbar of 1204. I think I just found it! Cinnamon !

I would like to see your .conkyrc and weather.sh (if used). I am mostly happy with mine but I like the way your weather is laid out.




.
__________________
When they took the fourth amendment, I was quiet because I didn't deal drugs.
When they took the sixth amendment, I was quiet because I was innocent.
When they took the second amendment, I was quiet because I didn't own a gun.
Now they've taken the first amendment, and I can say nothing about it.
National ID ?
Kwatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 07:48 AM   #61
Gs dewd
Senior Member
 
Gs dewd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 235
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kwatt View Post
Thanks for that screen shot. I have been looking for relief from the top taskbar of 1204. I think I just found it! Cinnamon !

I would like to see your .conkyrc and weather.sh (if used). I am mostly happy with mine but I like the way your weather is laid out.




.
I just use screenlets, and that the free weather plugin for it. I also use system monitor as the other plugin.
Gs dewd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 06:17 PM   #62
Gonad the Barbarian
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 8,963
Default

I'm new to the whole Linux thing but Ubuntu with cinnamon is my new favorite thing.
__________________
Say No to job-killing regulations and Yes to people-killing jobs!
Gonad the Barbarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 03:13 PM   #63
nyker96
Diamond Member
 
nyker96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5,575
Default

I really hated Unity in 11.04 but I install it on a Vbox. Now with Gnome 3 been shitty, I am slowly forcing myself to learn 12.04 Unity. Seems improved somewhat. but functionality-wise just not up to the older unix IFs. I guess these GUI needs some time to mature, but god it feels a step backwards.
__________________
Windows 7 64 bit || 2500K@4.2 with Mugen 2 || Biostar TZ68K+ || MSI HD 7790 1GB || G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x4GB DDR3 1600 || Samsung F3 1TB || HAF 932 || Enhance 5150GH 500W PSU || BenQ FP91G+
My Rig: All Niter
----
buyer/seller references: ebay
nyker96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 03:41 PM   #64
zokudu
Diamond Member
 
zokudu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,253
Default

I honestly think I prefer GNOME3 to Unity. I have no qualms about it after using it a little bit. I think I like it better than my KDE experiment and I don't like it any less than old GNOME2. Could just be me though.
__________________
AMD FX-8320 | XFX Radeon HD7970 | Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 | 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws | Crucial m4 128 GB | Windows 8 x64 Professional
13" Retina Macbook Pro | i5-4258U | 8GB RAM | 256GB SSD
Steam | Xbox | last.fm | Heat
I like my women how I like my filesystems...FAT and 16
zokudu is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 11:14 AM   #65
ultimatebob
Lifer
 
ultimatebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Connecticutistan
Posts: 16,784
Default

I just tried upgrading my system from Ubuntu 11.04 to 12.04, and the process failed horribly. I checked the console output as it was near completion, and it showed a 10 page long list of packages that failed to install, the last line being that "The installation encountered too many errors to continue". Amusingly, the GUI made it look like everything was successful.

After I rebooted, I was dropped at a blank black desktop after logging on to a totally broken logon screen with missing icons. I dropped to the console and did quick check of the system just to see how badly the system got screwed up, and I could tell that it was still running on the old Ubuntu 11 kernel. It sure removed a lot of stuff, but it didn't seem to successfully upgrade anything.

Geez... Isn't Ubuntu supposed to be geared towards Linux newbies? Good luck getting an average computer to clean up that mess. Personally, I'm just going to overwrite the existing installation with a fresh copy of some other Linux distribution at this point.
ultimatebob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 11:22 AM   #66
lxskllr
Lifer
 
lxskllr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 38,435
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ultimatebob View Post

Geez... Isn't Ubuntu supposed to be geared towards Linux newbies? Good luck getting an average computer to clean up that mess. Personally, I'm just going to overwrite the existing installation with a fresh copy of some other Linux distribution at this point.
11.04-12.04 isn't a supported upgrade path. You either have to do an intermediate upgrade to 11.10, or a clean install. People have complained about Ubuntu upgrades, but I never had trouble going from LTS to LTS.
lxskllr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 03:31 PM   #67
stuartl89
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NorCal
Posts: 27
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ultimatebob View Post
I just tried upgrading my system from Ubuntu 11.04 to 12.04, and the process failed horribly. I checked the console output as it was near completion, and it showed a 10 page long list of packages that failed to install, the last line being that "The installation encountered too many errors to continue". Amusingly, the GUI made it look like everything was successful.

After I rebooted, I was dropped at a blank black desktop after logging on to a totally broken logon screen with missing icons. I dropped to the console and did quick check of the system just to see how badly the system got screwed up, and I could tell that it was still running on the old Ubuntu 11 kernel. It sure removed a lot of stuff, but it didn't seem to successfully upgrade anything.

Geez... Isn't Ubuntu supposed to be geared towards Linux newbies? Good luck getting an average computer to clean up that mess. Personally, I'm just going to overwrite the existing installation with a fresh copy of some other Linux distribution at this point.
http://www.ubuntu.com/download/desktop/upgrade

please read and take special note of the top of the page about upgrading from versions earlier than 11.10.


-S
stuartl89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 03:37 PM   #68
ultimatebob
Lifer
 
ultimatebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Connecticutistan
Posts: 16,784
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lxskllr View Post
11.04-12.04 isn't a supported upgrade path. You either have to do an intermediate upgrade to 11.10, or a clean install. People have complained about Ubuntu upgrades, but I never had trouble going from LTS to LTS.
Why did the desktop upgrade utility give me the option to do it, then? That's just asking for trouble.

Oh the bright side, CentOS 6.2 works great on this system

Last edited by ultimatebob; 05-10-2012 at 03:45 PM.
ultimatebob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 12:58 AM   #69
theevilsharpie
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,320
Default

Thus endeth my adventure into Ubuntu 12.04.

Onto Kubuntu!
theevilsharpie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 01:03 AM   #70
theevilsharpie
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,320
Default

So while Kubuntu asks you for the system information (username, hostname, timezone, etc.), it installs in the background.

I'm impressed already. And the install was quite fast.

Edit: Too bad it crashed on shutdown. Baby steps

Last edited by theevilsharpie; 05-12-2012 at 01:05 AM.
theevilsharpie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 09:38 AM   #71
Jodell88
Diamond Member
 
Jodell88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sweet T&T
Posts: 6,930
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theevilsharpie View Post
Edit: Too bad it crashed on shutdown. Baby steps
Standard KDE behaviour in my experience. However, nothing that crashes seems to bring the system to a halt.
__________________
“Defend the weak, protect both young and old, never desert your friends. Give justice to all, be fearless in battle and always ready to defend the right." - The law of Badger Lords
Jodell88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 04:27 PM   #72
theevilsharpie
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,320
Default

I see some things haven't changed much with KDE since the last time I used it.

A million different options, yet I can never quite get it to work the way I want
theevilsharpie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 04:59 PM   #73
theevilsharpie
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,320
Default

Considering KDE's approach toward maximum configurability/flexibility, I'm disappointed at the extremely basic nature of Kubuntu's Muon software center. I also hate the fact that it takes you back to the main menu anytime you install an application

Thankfully, you can use the Muon software center to install the Ubuntu software center
theevilsharpie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 05:01 PM   #74
theevilsharpie
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,320
Default

Mono-based applications look like absolute ass on Kubuntu. Even the mouse cursor looks weird.
theevilsharpie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 11:13 AM   #75
Gs dewd
Senior Member
 
Gs dewd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 235
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theevilsharpie View Post
Mono-based applications look like absolute ass on Kubuntu. Even the mouse cursor looks weird.
LOL I have noticed some linux based things take some getting use to.
Gs dewd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.