Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > CPUs and Overclocking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-02-2012, 07:17 PM   #51
Maximilian
Lifer
 
Maximilian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 11,322
Default

lol ^
__________________
Most unbalanced rig ever: Core i7 3930k // Asus P9X79PRO // 8GB DDR3 // Radeon 5850 // Phanteks PH-TC14PE 2x TY141 // Xonar Essence STX // WD 500GB HDD // Antec HCP 1200 // Silverstone FT02
Lappy: 13" Asus UL30A
Server: Core i5 4570 // Noctua NH U12PSE2 1x NF-F12// Asus H87 M-E // 4GB DDR3 // 4x1.5TB Samsung F2 // 128GB Crucial M4 SSD // Antec 300 // Seasonic X460 FL HTPC:Raspberry pi
Maximilian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 10:43 PM   #52
soccerballtux
Diamond Member
 
soccerballtux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 9,761
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lau808 View Post
i wanna see the 8150 ran as a 4m/4t at max oc (maybe it clocks higher than 4.8/4.9) vs a phenom x4 at max oc. maybe someone else could provide the phenom benches to compare...
+1. I can do Phenom2 x4 at 4ghz. When you limit to 4 threads it shouldn't be any worse than Phenom2.
__________________
HOW TO nested quote
Install this into Firefox then click this, then click "quote" as usual, then click "Nested Quote" to the right of the title bar.
4.0Ghz&2.6Ghz-CPU-NB Ph2-965BE || GA790X-UD4P 8GB DDR800 || Gigabyte GTX670 || Soyo 24" PMVA Heatware
soccerballtux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 04:32 AM   #53
lau808
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Pukalani Maui
Posts: 217
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by soccerballtux View Post
+1. I can do Phenom2 x4 at 4ghz. When you limit to 4 threads it shouldn't be any worse than Phenom2.
thank you
__________________
Main: Athlon II X2 3.0Ghz/4gb ddr3/500GB HDD
Work:I5-2400/4 GB ddr3/500GB HDD
Laptop: Asus A53U-E-450/750GB HDD/4GB DDR3
Next Rig: FX8350/NH-D14/Sabertooth 990FX/8GB 1866/OCZ Vector 128GB/HD7850/Antec 302/HCG-620
lau808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 03:46 PM   #54
polyzp
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 156
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by soccerballtux View Post
+1. I can do Phenom2 x4 at 4ghz. When you limit to 4 threads it shouldn't be any worse than Phenom2.


Awesome man! I have a few requests for you then!

CPUMark99
Fritz Chess 4.3 - 1 core performance
Cinebench 10 - 1 core performance
Cinebench 11.5 - 1 core performance
TechARP x264 HD - first pass

would love to see how a single 4.9 ghz FX thread goes up against a 4.0 Ghz phenom II thread!

Thanks again man! Ill use your results in my next post! ^^
__________________
http://AMDFX.blogspot.com - My AMD FX 8150 @ 4.8 Ghz / 6990 Review

Join the Discussion here at Anandtech.com

http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?t=2225753
polyzp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 04:16 PM   #55
Ferzerp
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: B̿̄ͬͮͦ͐̐̂̌̂͛̓̃̔̈́̓
Posts: 5,105
Default

And there is the daily bump to make sure it never falls off the first page, just like clockwork!
Ferzerp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 04:17 PM   #56
boxleitnerb
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,452
Default

Paid by AMD, for sure. But hey, this way we will never forget what a lame duck bulldozer is.
boxleitnerb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 04:21 PM   #57
Maximilian
Lifer
 
Maximilian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 11,322
Default

Ye this guys been a joke since day 1.
__________________
Most unbalanced rig ever: Core i7 3930k // Asus P9X79PRO // 8GB DDR3 // Radeon 5850 // Phanteks PH-TC14PE 2x TY141 // Xonar Essence STX // WD 500GB HDD // Antec HCP 1200 // Silverstone FT02
Lappy: 13" Asus UL30A
Server: Core i5 4570 // Noctua NH U12PSE2 1x NF-F12// Asus H87 M-E // 4GB DDR3 // 4x1.5TB Samsung F2 // 128GB Crucial M4 SSD // Antec 300 // Seasonic X460 FL HTPC:Raspberry pi
Maximilian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 05:27 PM   #58
ShintaiDK
Diamond Member
 
ShintaiDK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 9,552
Default

I wonder what cost him more by now. His faildozer or the powerbill it creates
ShintaiDK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 05:54 PM   #59
Hatisherrif
Senior Member
 
Hatisherrif's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Serbia
Posts: 226
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShintaiDK View Post
I wonder what cost him more by now. His faildozer or the powerbill it creates
Well, at least he can always count on his heart being warmed by the heat of your Ivy
__________________
i5 2500K - 4.5GHz @ 1.320V|CM Hyper212 EVO|MSI P67A-C43 (B3)|8GB Kingston HyperX - 1600MHz 9-9-9-24|AMD Gigabyte HD 7950 - GPU:1150MHz GDDR5:1600MHz|CM Centurion|CM 500W|DVD-W/R|Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB|
Hatisherrif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 06:04 PM   #60
lau808
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Pukalani Maui
Posts: 217
Default

polyzp: maybe u can run 4m/4t at max oc and at 4ghz to compare vs the phenom x4?
__________________
Main: Athlon II X2 3.0Ghz/4gb ddr3/500GB HDD
Work:I5-2400/4 GB ddr3/500GB HDD
Laptop: Asus A53U-E-450/750GB HDD/4GB DDR3
Next Rig: FX8350/NH-D14/Sabertooth 990FX/8GB 1866/OCZ Vector 128GB/HD7850/Antec 302/HCG-620
lau808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 12:41 AM   #61
polyzp
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 156
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lau808 View Post
polyzp: maybe u can run 4m/4t at max oc and at 4ghz to compare vs the phenom x4?
Yes Im open to this idea. Im mostly interested in comparing single thread performance for this comparison.
__________________
http://AMDFX.blogspot.com - My AMD FX 8150 @ 4.8 Ghz / 6990 Review

Join the Discussion here at Anandtech.com

http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?t=2225753
polyzp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 02:52 AM   #62
lau808
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Pukalani Maui
Posts: 217
Default

thx
__________________
Main: Athlon II X2 3.0Ghz/4gb ddr3/500GB HDD
Work:I5-2400/4 GB ddr3/500GB HDD
Laptop: Asus A53U-E-450/750GB HDD/4GB DDR3
Next Rig: FX8350/NH-D14/Sabertooth 990FX/8GB 1866/OCZ Vector 128GB/HD7850/Antec 302/HCG-620
lau808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 10:53 AM   #63
Revolution 11
Senior Member
 
Revolution 11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 633
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rvenger View Post
Put Balla, Chiropteran, and Axel in a room. Who will come out alive?
It would take an act of God to make it happen in the first place.
Revolution 11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 11:01 AM   #64
nyker96
Diamond Member
 
nyker96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5,565
Default

the single core ipc for BD v Ivy in cinebench is at a 40% deficit running at about same speed. That's crazy poor.
__________________
Windows 7 64 bit || 2500K@4.2 with Mugen 2 || Biostar TZ68K+ || MSI HD 7790 1GB || G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x4GB DDR3 1600 || Samsung F3 1TB || HAF 932 || Enhance 5150GH 500W PSU || BenQ FP91G+
My Rig: All Niter
----
buyer/seller references: ebay
nyker96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 01:06 PM   #65
Chiropteran
Diamond Member
 
Chiropteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Arlington VA
Posts: 7,843
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nyker96 View Post
the single core ipc for BD v Ivy in cinebench is at a 40% deficit running at about same speed. That's crazy poor.
But Ivy is at a 50% deficit on number of cores, so BD is actually faster when 8 threads are used. See how useless "ipc per core" is as a number?
__________________
http://writeangry.blogspot.com/
Chiropteran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 01:40 PM   #66
Phynaz
Diamond Member
 
Phynaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6,068
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chiropteran View Post
But Ivy is at a 50% deficit on number of cores, so BD is actually faster when 8 threads are used.
BS.
Phynaz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 02:34 PM   #67
Maximilian
Lifer
 
Maximilian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 11,322
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phynaz View Post
BS.
x2
__________________
Most unbalanced rig ever: Core i7 3930k // Asus P9X79PRO // 8GB DDR3 // Radeon 5850 // Phanteks PH-TC14PE 2x TY141 // Xonar Essence STX // WD 500GB HDD // Antec HCP 1200 // Silverstone FT02
Lappy: 13" Asus UL30A
Server: Core i5 4570 // Noctua NH U12PSE2 1x NF-F12// Asus H87 M-E // 4GB DDR3 // 4x1.5TB Samsung F2 // 128GB Crucial M4 SSD // Antec 300 // Seasonic X460 FL HTPC:Raspberry pi
Maximilian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 02:38 PM   #68
Chiropteran
Diamond Member
 
Chiropteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Arlington VA
Posts: 7,843
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phynaz View Post
BS.
Which part? Do you dispute that bulldozer is 8 cores, or do you dispute that 4 is 50% of 8? Or do you disagree that bulldozer is 40% slower for a single core IPC?
__________________
http://writeangry.blogspot.com/
Chiropteran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 04:03 PM   #69
Dkcode
Senior Member
 
Dkcode's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 990
Default

That is one sexy board
Dkcode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 05:13 PM   #70
polyzp
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 156
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chiropteran View Post
Which part? Do you dispute that bulldozer is 8 cores, or do you dispute that 4 is 50% of 8? Or do you disagree that bulldozer is 40% slower for a single core IPC?
Scaling for bulldozer isnt double the 2600k, but neither is IPC of ivy over FX (although in some cases it might be, generally it is not). When all threads are used it just about makes up for lost IPC per thread. FX is seen to fail most when all 8 threads arent taken advantage of.
__________________
http://AMDFX.blogspot.com - My AMD FX 8150 @ 4.8 Ghz / 6990 Review

Join the Discussion here at Anandtech.com

http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?t=2225753
polyzp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 05:24 PM   #71
LOL_Wut_Axel
Diamond Member
 
LOL_Wut_Axel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: San Juan, PR
Posts: 4,268
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chiropteran View Post
But Ivy is at a 50% deficit on number of cores, so BD is actually faster when 8 threads are used. See how useless "ipc per core" is as a number?
Incorrect. I guess you suddenly forgot that Hyper-Threading is a 20% improvement in MT.

And Cinebench is mostly floating-point code, and Bulldozer has four FPUs.
__________________
Core i7-3770K | ASRock P67 Extreme4 Gen3 | OCZ Vertex 3 120GB, Seagate Barracuda 3TB | HIS Radeon HD 7950 IceQ X, EVGA GeForce GTX 560 Ti | 16GB Kingston HyperX Genesis DDR3-1600 | Corsair TX750 V2 | Corsair Carbide 400R

Phenom II X6 1100T | Gigabyte 78LMT-USB3 | Samsung 840 120GB, Seagate Barracuda 1TB | EVGA GeForce GTX 570 | 8GB Crucial Ballistix DDR3 | Antec NEO ECO 620C | SilverStone TJ08-E
LOL_Wut_Axel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 10:31 PM   #72
soccerballtux
Diamond Member
 
soccerballtux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 9,761
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by polyzp View Post
Awesome man! I have a few requests for you then!

CPUMark99
Fritz Chess 4.3 - 1 core performance
Cinebench 10 - 1 core performance
Cinebench 11.5 - 1 core performance
TechARP x264 HD - first pass

would love to see how a single 4.9 ghz FX thread goes up against a 4.0 Ghz phenom II thread!

Thanks again man! Ill use your results in my next post! ^^
cb10-- 4275 1 core
4 core 15704

cb11.5-- 4.50

Results for x264.exe v0.58.747
encoded 1442 frames, 76.16 fps, 3904.67 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 75.59 fps, 3904.67 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 76.79 fps, 3904.67 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 77.39 fps, 3904.67 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 20.90 fps, 3952.97 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 20.71 fps, 3952.97 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 20.76 fps, 3952.97 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 20.94 fps, 3952.97 kb/s

Results for x264.exe v0.59.819M
encoded 1442 frames, 77.99 fps, 3889.34 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 78.29 fps, 3889.34 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 78.15 fps, 3889.34 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 78.14 fps, 3889.34 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 22.41 fps, 3962.75 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 22.11 fps, 3962.75 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 22.14 fps, 3962.75 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 22.06 fps, 3962.74 kb/s

Winrar-1855KB/s

I'm running 15.5x260 = 4,030mhz
__________________
HOW TO nested quote
Install this into Firefox then click this, then click "quote" as usual, then click "Nested Quote" to the right of the title bar.
4.0Ghz&2.6Ghz-CPU-NB Ph2-965BE || GA790X-UD4P 8GB DDR800 || Gigabyte GTX670 || Soyo 24" PMVA Heatware

Last edited by soccerballtux; 05-04-2012 at 11:19 PM.
soccerballtux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 12:23 AM   #73
Yuriman
Platinum Member
 
Yuriman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,287
Default

Power is only of no concern when money is not an object, and I would not get a bulldozer chip if money were not an object, unless it was to do a very specific workload that bulldozer excels in.

Unfortunately money typically is an object for most people, and even if BD is faster in a particular workload, it might be more cost effective over time to pony up for a dual Intel system.

I dislike the thought of Intel being able to sell their server chips at a much higher price despite having smaller dies, because companies will still save money over the product's lifetime compared with AMD chips.

Last edited by Yuriman; 05-05-2012 at 12:28 AM.
Yuriman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 04:46 PM   #74
polyzp
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 156
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by soccerballtux View Post
cb10-- 4275 1 core
4 core 15704

cb11.5-- 4.50

Results for x264.exe v0.58.747
encoded 1442 frames, 76.16 fps, 3904.67 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 75.59 fps, 3904.67 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 76.79 fps, 3904.67 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 77.39 fps, 3904.67 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 20.90 fps, 3952.97 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 20.71 fps, 3952.97 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 20.76 fps, 3952.97 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 20.94 fps, 3952.97 kb/s

Results for x264.exe v0.59.819M
encoded 1442 frames, 77.99 fps, 3889.34 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 78.29 fps, 3889.34 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 78.15 fps, 3889.34 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 78.14 fps, 3889.34 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 22.41 fps, 3962.75 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 22.11 fps, 3962.75 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 22.14 fps, 3962.75 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 22.06 fps, 3962.74 kb/s

Winrar-1855KB/s

I'm running 15.5x260 = 4,030mhz

Thanks man, is that tech arp x264 HD? the scores seem off

heres a link

http://www.techarp.com/showarticle.aspx?artno=520

and whats your single core performance in cb11.5?
__________________
http://AMDFX.blogspot.com - My AMD FX 8150 @ 4.8 Ghz / 6990 Review

Join the Discussion here at Anandtech.com

http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?t=2225753
polyzp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 06:24 PM   #75
soccerballtux
Diamond Member
 
soccerballtux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 9,761
Default

apparently not redownloaded and ran--

Pass 1
------
encoded 1442 frames, 103.23 fps, 3912.32 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 105.09 fps, 3912.32 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 105.57 fps, 3912.32 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 105.02 fps, 3912.32 kb/s

Pass 2
------
encoded 1442 frames, 25.10 fps, 3961.76 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 25.14 fps, 3961.07 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 25.22 fps, 3961.36 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 25.16 fps, 3961.01 kb/s
__________________
HOW TO nested quote
Install this into Firefox then click this, then click "quote" as usual, then click "Nested Quote" to the right of the title bar.
4.0Ghz&2.6Ghz-CPU-NB Ph2-965BE || GA790X-UD4P 8GB DDR800 || Gigabyte GTX670 || Soyo 24" PMVA Heatware
soccerballtux is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.