Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Distributed Computing

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-03-2012, 10:40 AM   #1
Markfw900
Super Moderator
Elite Member
CPUs & Overclocking
Video Cards & Graphics
 
Markfw900's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 12,874
Default Odd error on F@H using virtualbox

So I successfully finally get a unit done, then the below right after. How do I start from scratch, and wupte the old work directory and unit ?:

[14:30:34] - Calling './FahCore_a5.exe -dir work/ -nice 19 -suffix 00 -np 12 -checkpoint 15 -verbose -lifeline 864 -version 634'

[14:30:34]
[14:30:34] *------------------------------*
[14:30:34] Folding@Home Gromacs SMP Core
[14:30:34] Version 2.27 (Thu Feb 10 09:46:40 PST 2011)
[14:30:34]
[14:30:34] Preparing to commence simulation
[14:30:34] - Looking at optimizations...
[14:30:34] - Created dyn
[14:30:34] - Files status OK
[14:30:34] Error: Missing work file=<>
[14:30:34]
[14:30:34] Folding@home Core Shutdown: MISSING_WORK_FILES
[14:30:35] CoreStatus = 74 (116)
[14:30:35] The core could not find the work files specified. Removing from queue
[14:30:35] Deleting current work unit & continuing...
[14:30:35] Trying to send all finished work units
[14:30:35] + No unsent completed units remaining.
[14:30:35] - Preparing to get new work unit...
[14:30:35] Cleaning up work directory
[14:30:35] + Attempting to get work packet
[14:30:35] Passkey found
[14:30:35] - Will indicate memory of 8005 MB
[14:30:35] - Connecting to assignment server
[14:30:35] Connecting to http://assign.stanford.edu:8080/
[14:30:35] Posted data.
[14:30:35] Initial: ED82; - Successful: assigned to (130.237.232.237).
[14:30:35] + News From Folding@Home: Welcome to Folding@Home
[14:30:35] Loaded queue successfully.
[14:30:35] Sent data
[14:30:35] Connecting to http://130.237.232.237:8080/
[14:30:35] Posted data.
[14:30:35] Initial: 0000; - Receiving payload (expected size: 512)
[14:30:35] Conversation time very short, giving reduced weight in bandwidth avg
[14:30:35] - Downloaded at ~1 kB/s
[14:30:35] - Averaged speed for that direction ~1 kB/s
[14:30:35] + Received work.
[14:30:35] + Closed connections
[14:30:40]
[14:30:40] + Processing work unit
[14:30:40] Core required: FahCore_a5.exe
[14:30:40] Core found.
[14:30:40] Working on queue slot 01 [May 3 14:30:40 UTC]
[14:30:40] + Working ...
[14:30:40] - Calling './FahCore_a5.exe -dir work/ -nice 19 -suffix 01 -np 12 -checkpoint 15 -verbose -lifeline 864 -version 634'

[14:30:41]
[14:30:41] *------------------------------*
[14:30:41] Folding@Home Gromacs SMP Core
[14:30:41] Version 2.27 (Thu Feb 10 09:46:40 PST 2011)
[14:30:41]
[14:30:41] Preparing to commence simulation
[14:30:41] - Looking at optimizations...
[14:30:41] - Created dyn
[14:30:41] - Files status OK
[14:30:41] Couldn't Decompress
[14:30:41] Called DecompressByteArray: compressed_data_size=0 data_size=0, decompressed_data_size=0 diff=0
[14:30:41] -Error: Couldn't update checksum variables
[14:30:41] Error: Could not open work file
[14:30:41]
[14:30:41] Folding@home Core Shutdown: FILE_IO_ERROR
[14:30:41] CoreStatus = 75 (117)
[14:30:41] Error opening or reading from a file.
[14:30:41] Deleting current work unit & continuing...
[14:30:41] Trying to send all finished work units
[14:30:41] + No unsent completed units remaining.
[14:30:41] - Preparing to get new work unit...
[14:30:41] Cleaning up work directory
[14:30:41] + Attempting to get work packet
[14:30:41] Passkey found
[14:30:41] - Will indicate memory of 8005 MB
[14:30:41] - Connecting to assignment server
[14:30:41] Connecting to http://assign.stanford.edu:8080/
[14:30:41] Posted data.
[14:30:41] Initial: ED82; - Successful: assigned to (130.237.232.237).
[14:30:41] + News From Folding@Home: Welcome to Folding@Home
__________________
I7 3930k @ 4500 on Asrock Extreme 7, 24 gig ram w 2 x 660ti
I7 920 @ 3800 on X58 extreme w 2 x GTX 460
2 x I7 950's@4080 on UD3R w 2 x GTX 470 + 2 x 560ti
KGPE-D16 + 2 6234 Opterons w 2 x GTX 460
2600k @ 4.4 ghz 1.35 vcore w 2 x GTX 460
2 x Xeon 5639@2.8 on SR-2
2 x Xeon E5660's@2.8
My RX-8
Markfw900 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 09:58 PM   #2
Markfw900
Super Moderator
Elite Member
CPUs & Overclocking
Video Cards & Graphics
 
Markfw900's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 12,874
Default

I can re-create the virtualbox client, can someone tell me the procedure ? I am down 125k ppd until I get this fixed. I have the files, I just can't find the link to create a new client (hoping it fixes this problem)
__________________
I7 3930k @ 4500 on Asrock Extreme 7, 24 gig ram w 2 x 660ti
I7 920 @ 3800 on X58 extreme w 2 x GTX 460
2 x I7 950's@4080 on UD3R w 2 x GTX 470 + 2 x 560ti
KGPE-D16 + 2 6234 Opterons w 2 x GTX 460
2600k @ 4.4 ghz 1.35 vcore w 2 x GTX 460
2 x Xeon 5639@2.8 on SR-2
2 x Xeon E5660's@2.8
My RX-8
Markfw900 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 07:01 AM   #3
biodoc
Diamond Member
 
biodoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,297
Default

http://linuxforge.net/docs/crunching/fah-virtualbox.php

There's a link there to the installation guide.
__________________
Crunch for TeAm AnandTech!!

2600K, GTX780Ti, Linux
3930K, GTX980, Linux, Win8 dual boot
Q9550, GTX660Ti, Linux
1090T, GTX570, Linux
biodoc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 10:34 AM   #4
Markfw900
Super Moderator
Elite Member
CPUs & Overclocking
Video Cards & Graphics
 
Markfw900's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 12,874
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by biodoc View Post
http://linuxforge.net/docs/crunching/fah-virtualbox.php

There's a link there to the installation guide.
I tried that, and it started at 63% ???? Even more odd, since I was at 0% And it has a 10. IP address, which no other time has my virtualbox had that, and where did it get that from ? and now I can't use that to monitor its progress.
__________________
I7 3930k @ 4500 on Asrock Extreme 7, 24 gig ram w 2 x 660ti
I7 920 @ 3800 on X58 extreme w 2 x GTX 460
2 x I7 950's@4080 on UD3R w 2 x GTX 470 + 2 x 560ti
KGPE-D16 + 2 6234 Opterons w 2 x GTX 460
2600k @ 4.4 ghz 1.35 vcore w 2 x GTX 460
2 x Xeon 5639@2.8 on SR-2
2 x Xeon E5660's@2.8
My RX-8
Markfw900 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 02:29 PM   #5
blckgrffn
Diamond Member
 
blckgrffn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Blaine, MN
Posts: 6,639
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Markfw900 View Post
I tried that, and it started at 63% ???? Even more odd, since I was at 0% And it has a 10. IP address, which no other time has my virtualbox had that, and where did it get that from ? and now I can't use that to monitor its progress.
Are you using a bridged/direct network connection? I am guessing it is using NAT and that will keep you from accessing from the rest of your network.
__________________
Crunch/Fold for the TeAm! http://forums.anandtech.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15

3930k @ 4.2 - GA-UP4 - 2x MSI TF3 7950 - 32GB EL RAM - Seasonic X650 - 840 250GB - U2913WM
blckgrffn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.