Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > All Things Apple

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-01-2012, 10:21 AM   #1
GWestphal
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,113
Default Since ATT killed cheap pay as you go data, how can I do pay as you go iPhone now?

I just tried to refill my pay as you go data only to find they had changed there policies and the .10/min plan is no longer eligible for data. Well, I guess I had a good run of 9 months and only spending $200 for an iPhone.

The question now is, can I get a similar plan somewhere else now? I suppose Tmobile and boost are the only other GSM carriers I know of, but I didn't see pay as you go mobile on either?
GWestphal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 11:00 AM   #2
Tyranicus
Senior Member
 
Tyranicus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 828
Default

You can get a SIM from Straight Talk. Unlimited data, talk, and text for $45/month.
__________________
MacBook Pro - 2.6GHz i7 - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 768GB SSD - GT 650M 1GB - 15.4" 2880x1800 Screen - OS X 10.9 / Windows 8.1

Desktop - Gigabyte X58A-UD3R - 3.1GHz i7 950 - 12GB (6x2GB) DDR3 1600 - 17.25TB Combined HDD - GTX 670 4GB - OS X 10.9 / Windows 8.1 - Gateway FHD2400 24" 1920x1200 Display - Razer Black Widow Mechanical Keyboard - Logitech Performance MX Mouse
Tyranicus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 12:32 PM   #3
bearxor
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 6,484
Default

Probably what I would do.
__________________
This post paid for by the committee to re-invade Vietnam.
bearxor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 12:51 PM   #4
Toasthead
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 6,619
Default

data NOT unlimited on ST. more like 1-2 GB
__________________
People pay more attention to you when they think you're up to something. - Calvin

The attacker must vanquish, the defender need only survive







Official Member of the ATOT Neffing @ Work Crew
Toasthead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 12:52 PM   #5
GWestphal
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,113
Default

Ah man, that's over double what I was paying per month before! No providers have monthly data that you can buy with a pay by the minute plan?

Supposedly ATT sent a text about the policy change, but I never received anything. I'm very disgruntled.
GWestphal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 12:57 PM   #6
TheStu
Moderator
Mobile Devices & Gadgets
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New Cumberland, PA
Posts: 11,201
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GWestphal View Post
Ah man, that's over double what I was paying per month before! No providers have monthly data that you can buy with a pay by the minute plan?

Supposedly ATT sent a text about the policy change, but I never received anything. I'm very disgruntled.
The whole thing is $45/mo. You were paying less than half of that before?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfenn View Post
The 6770M can play Crysis 2, for suitably small values of play
TheStu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 01:34 PM   #7
GWestphal
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,113
Default

Since I still have $26 in my account, I spent $174 for cell service over the course of 9 full months (9/1/2011- Present), with voice (0.10/min), unlimited texts (google voice), and pay as you go bandwidth as needed ($25 for 500 MB which would typically last me 2-3 months, $5 for 10 MB too keep the data rolling over). So, $174/9 = $19.33 on average, but as long as I had bandwidth it was closer to $5-10/month (basically just data rollover cost plus a few minutes of calls).
GWestphal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 01:59 PM   #8
rsutoratosu
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2,306
Default

yeah, in the same boat.. i end up changing to the 25/month plan and getting the 1gb for 25, basically 50 a month..

I figure the 25/month voice isn't bad, almost a dollar a day. I get quite a few calls, so 25/month isn't bad, im heavy on the data side, the 500mb last about 20 days, so having 1gb for 25 isn't bad, i usually would buy 2 - 500mb packs a month
rsutoratosu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 02:10 AM   #9
sportage
Diamond Member
 
sportage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Im right behind you. BOO!
Posts: 4,344
Default

Yeah they are ripping us off, all of them, big time for data. We know that. So do they.
I still have the unlimited plan but constantly get warning texts that they will reduce "speed" if data goes beyond 3gb, even though I do have unlimited. Even though my unlimited was grandfathered in, I expect unlimited even for grandfathered customers to end soon. You know it's coming...
sportage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 05:48 PM   #10
pcslookout
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 8,469
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sportage View Post
Yeah they are ripping us off, all of them, big time for data. We know that. So do they.
I still have the unlimited plan but constantly get warning texts that they will reduce "speed" if data goes beyond 3gb, even though I do have unlimited. Even though my unlimited was grandfathered in, I expect unlimited even for grandfathered customers to end soon. You know it's coming...
Yep
pcslookout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 06:00 PM   #11
vailr
Diamond Member
 
vailr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 4,374
Default

Might look into PagePlus.com, which is a Verizon access reseller.
They're CDMA only, so you'd need to acquire a compatible CDMA IPhone.
Their "voice only" plans can be very economical, but not sure how well their voice + data plan would compete with a regular Verizon account.
__________________



vailr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 10:27 PM   #12
nitrous9200
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 263
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toasthead View Post
data NOT unlimited on ST. more like 1-2 GB
Good enough at that price.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vailr View Post
Might look into PagePlus.com, which is a Verizon access reseller.
They're CDMA only, so you'd need to acquire a compatible CDMA IPhone.
Their "voice only" plans can be very economical, but not sure how well their voice + data plan would compete with a regular Verizon account.
I've heard that iPhones aren't supported on Page Plus, as in they're not allowed to be activated (but sometimes you can get lucky, slip through the cracks and get one activated).
I've been running the TnT 1200 plan for a year now, which is $30/month for 1200 minutes, 3000 texts and 100MB of data. There's also a $55 plan with "unlimited" minutes and texting and 1GB of data.
nitrous9200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 06:40 AM   #13
jalaram
Lifer
 
jalaram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Toronto, CANADA
Posts: 12,904
Default

Although it's not 3g and you'll have to unlock your phone, there's a $30/mo T-Mo plan with 100min and unl. data/text.

Before anyone picks a nit, data is capped at 5gb for 3g which is moot on a iPhone.
__________________
Take care,
JC

"My friends call me Keith, but you can call me John."-Keith Moon
Heatware: 2xx-0-0
jalaram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 11:30 PM   #14
GWestphal
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,113
Default

So we T-Mobile, you only get edge speed, right? Better than nothing I suppose. Do you just need to get a SIM and then pop it in and connect to itunes to unlock or is there some shenanigans I need to do to unlock it. IIRC they were unlocking out of contract phones...
GWestphal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 08:13 AM   #15
Tyranicus
Senior Member
 
Tyranicus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 828
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GWestphal View Post
So we T-Mobile, you only get edge speed, right? Better than nothing I suppose. Do you just need to get a SIM and then pop it in and connect to itunes to unlock or is there some shenanigans I need to do to unlock it. IIRC they were unlocking out of contract phones...
If the phone is out of contract, you can call AT&T to unlock it.
__________________
MacBook Pro - 2.6GHz i7 - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 768GB SSD - GT 650M 1GB - 15.4" 2880x1800 Screen - OS X 10.9 / Windows 8.1

Desktop - Gigabyte X58A-UD3R - 3.1GHz i7 950 - 12GB (6x2GB) DDR3 1600 - 17.25TB Combined HDD - GTX 670 4GB - OS X 10.9 / Windows 8.1 - Gateway FHD2400 24" 1920x1200 Display - Razer Black Widow Mechanical Keyboard - Logitech Performance MX Mouse
Tyranicus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 02:07 PM   #16
GWestphal
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,113
Default

I ended my formal iphone service with ATT last August and started using the pay as you go service. I called about the unlock, but they said my phone doesn't have an unlock code because I don't have current service. It's a 3GS with 5.16.05 baseband, so am I just SOL here? Time to get a new phone?
GWestphal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 02:26 PM   #17
Ns1
Lifer
 
Ns1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: A Warm Place
Posts: 42,233
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GWestphal View Post
So we T-Mobile, you only get edge speed, right? Better than nothing I suppose. Do you just need to get a SIM and then pop it in and connect to itunes to unlock or is there some shenanigans I need to do to unlock it. IIRC they were unlocking out of contract phones...
E on an iPhone IS nothing. My parents have iPhones on TMO and srsly, why bother? Can't even look at their mobile security camera software cuz the network is too damn slow.
__________________
Racing KT to NoLifer...a true race to the bottom. I WILL NEVER CONCEDE TO A CANUCK.


Rule 813 bro
Ns1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 02:36 PM   #18
alent1234
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,915
Default

t-mo is deploying hspa+ on 1900MHz bands. i think phoenix is already up and running. other markets by the end of the year
alent1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 03:35 PM   #19
GWestphal
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,113
Default

Yeah, I was wanting to run the phone I Tmobile because of that announcement, and the $30 unlimited data plan. But looks like my 3GS has basically become and iTouch now since ATT won't unlock it. F*ck ATT.
GWestphal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.