Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Memory and Storage

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-03-2012, 03:34 AM   #1
Psyside
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 108
Default System get very slow during big program/games installation (C300)

Dunno if this is normal or not, but...

When i install some big games/programs, , my "SSD" or something else, not sure.....start to acting strange during the installation. If i try to launch any the other programs during the installation, launch time is about 2x to 5x slower, (not always but often) and im getting the cursor loading thing.

Also during winrar extracting of files, (about 4GB) i get strange pauses, or in other way, the progress bar the green one which is showing how long is left for extraction go end, is kinda slowly going, like it pauses, then it goes....on and again pause...something like stutter.

Sometimes the programs launch slower, but sometime they dont even start or even 1 time crashed.....there is like 10 seconds loading cursor in some cases....mind you this is only during installation...now the question is, was this supposed to be like that? i mean maybe because the programs and games are large and C300 has around 130-140mb/s sequential writes as max it goes slow? i also heard that during the installation process windows it self focus all of the resource-I/O on that process, do you guys get the same thing? for example if you installing some game 5/6GB, during the installation is your commends fast/snappy like before or there is some delays?

Thanks in advance.

Oh btw, latest RST, Latest Chipset, almost latest BIOS (2302) registry tweak (C300 done), high performance power plan activated (hard disk never turn off) constant 5.0GHZ freq, 8GB ram etc.

Also AS-SSD score is great, i only lost 18mb/s of sequential writes, everything else is great.
Psyside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 07:52 AM   #2
Psyside
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 108
Default

Anyone?
Psyside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 08:15 AM   #3
piasabird
Lifer
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 14,984
Default

This could have different causes. Some people sometimes complain about slow file reading and what not when online. It might be microsoft win7 or add-ons to web browsers or something like an antivirus trying to scan your files. Or your SSD could have issues also.
__________________
Asus Memo Pad 7 HD. Quad Core Tablet.
piasabird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 08:23 AM   #4
piasabird
Lifer
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 14,984
Default

I have noticed quite often when I initially go online or start certain process after a period of inactivity that my computer takes longer than it should to start up. I wonder if win7 or vista or both do things like park cpu's to save power.
__________________
Asus Memo Pad 7 HD. Quad Core Tablet.
piasabird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 04:18 PM   #5
Psyside
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 108
Default

Thanks for the replay dude.

I have all of the power savings turned off, totally..

It might be Kaspersky, its a logic idea, i tought on that one 2, also one more thing could be windows write cache buffer flushingi turned it off, i cant try to reproduce that issues atm, its late and im to tired, will get back yo you tomorrow guys, gn.

Last edited by Psyside; 05-03-2012 at 04:20 PM.
Psyside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 04:44 PM   #6
kbp
Senior Member
 
kbp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Northern Lower Peninsula
Posts: 568
Default

Are you sure TRIM is enabled?
Log off a few days and let it idle all night long. Make sure the SSD does not go to sleep.
__________________

kbp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 02:21 AM   #7
Psyside
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 108
Default

How to make sure that TRIM is really enabled?
Psyside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 03:51 AM   #8
Rackmountsales
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 147
Default

To see if TRIM is enabled, open up a command prompt by clicking on the Start orb and typing “cmd” into the search bar. Right-click on the first result (“cmd”) and click Run as administrator Next, type in the command “Fsutil behavior query disabledeletenotify”. Hit Enter. If this returns the result “= 0″, you’re good to go! Otherwise, TRIM isn’t supported and needs to be enabled. Try entering the command “fsutil behavior set DisableDeleteNotify 0″. If that doesn’t help, a firmware upgrade might be necessary to enable TRIM.
Rackmountsales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 04:24 AM   #9
Psyside
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 108
Default

As far as i know that's not the way you can tell, that is only command that the system does support TRIM, but it does not show you if it really pass trough.
Psyside is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.