Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Networking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-01-2012, 07:50 PM   #1
ericgartin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
Question Extending Wifi coverage

Hello everyone. I would like to extend the range of my wireless router, a D-link DIR-825. The problem is I get a low signal at the opposite end of our house. Would it be better to upgrade both antenna or add a device?

I have a DIR-825 has my router. I also have lying around not being used a DIR-655 Router, Belkin F5D8236-4 v3 Router and a DAP-1522 Wireless Bridge/Access Point.

What be the easiest and cheapest route to extend my wireless coverage? Thanks for an info.
ericgartin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 03:59 PM   #2
lid73
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 38
Default

If you have a newer house, your phone outlets will be wired with Cat 5 cable. What I did was to find which outlet was connected at the junction box, and then hard wired my internet connection to an access point using a switch at the junction box. The access point is centrally located and gives a great signal all over the house.

Otherwise, you can buy a router to act as a repeater (I have the WNDR 3700). I tried this for a while, but got nowhere near the results I have with the hardwired access point.
lid73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 04:12 PM   #3
lid73
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 38
Default

Also, you can easily use one of your routers as the access point.
lid73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 04:24 PM   #4
Lemon law
Lifer
 
Lemon law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 20,991
Default

It may depend on the construction materials in your house, thin drywall may not be a deal killer but anything stone or even foil backed insulation can be a deal killer. LOS is always best, and even adding some metal reflector can help. You already have a N capable device but how far do you have to beam the signal?And how many jigs and jogs does it have to take off LOS?

But as a previous poster said, hardwired is always best.
Lemon law is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.