Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Operating Systems

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-02-2012, 01:43 PM   #1
okalex
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 37
Default Win 7 upgrade from a broken XP installation?

I read that Windows 7 upgrade media will install a fully functional OS only on machines with some previous version of windows installed, but does that installation have to be a functioning one?

I am wondering if I first need to fix things that don't work in an existing XP installation before I can make a clean install (there is no data I need to keep there) using a win 7 upgrade DVD, or if the installation should work as long as the win 7 installation process can detect a previous OS.

What kind of problem in the old OS (except, obviously, not being a genuine/licensed installation) could prevent successful installation of Windows 7 using a Win 7 upgrade CD?
okalex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 02:48 PM   #2
mikeymikec
Diamond Member
 
mikeymikec's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 4,323
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by okalex View Post
I read that Windows 7 upgrade media will install a fully functional OS only on machines with some previous version of windows installed, but does that installation have to be a functioning one?
Not true, at least in my experience. I've installed a Win7 upgrade licence on a blank disk via the DVD without it acting any differently to a normal install.

You wouldn't be able to do an 'upgrade' from XP to Win7 anyway AFAIK, and my certainty increases if we're talking from 32-bit XP to 64-bit Win7.
mikeymikec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 11:28 PM   #3
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 25,950
Default

Just do the double-install trick, and blow away the buggy XP install.

However, you can leave it on there, and select "Custom" (not "Upgrade"), and delete the partition and re-create it when you install Win7.
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec
VirtualLarry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 01:48 AM   #4
okalex
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 37
Default

Thanks for your answers. I am asking this question because the upgrade information by Microsoft says the following:

Quote:
Windows 7 upgrade media was designed to be used on a computer that has Windows XP or Windows Vista installed on it.
You can use upgrade media to install Windows 7 on a computer that doesn't have Windows XP, Windows Vista, or any version of Windows installed on it by starting (or booting) your computer from the Windows 7 upgrade installation disc or a USB flash drive and performing a custom installation. However, you won't be able to activate Windows 7, which validates that you have a genuine copy of Windows and allows you access to all the features.
We recommend that you install Windows XP or Windows Vista before installing Windows 7 using upgrade media. Before you attempt to install Windows 7 using upgrade media on a computer that doesn't have Windows on it, see Installing and reinstalling Windows 7.
From which it seems that the upgrade media must be able to detect the installation of the old OS for the installation to succeed, so maybe something wrong with the old OS might make it see to the installation process that the old OS is not present.
okalex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 12:24 PM   #5
mikeymikec
Diamond Member
 
mikeymikec's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 4,323
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VirtualLarry View Post
Just do the double-install trick, and blow away the buggy XP install.

However, you can leave it on there, and select "Custom" (not "Upgrade"), and delete the partition and re-create it when you install Win7.
I don't think I even had to do the double-install trick, though admittedly I would have blown partitions away first (don't forget to back up... duh ). Can't definitely remember. Though I am fairly sure that it has been years since I last had to do double-install Vista install tricks, and I did a WIn7 'upgrade' less than a year ago.

Last edited by mikeymikec; 05-03-2012 at 12:26 PM.
mikeymikec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 01:57 PM   #6
grss1982
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by okalex View Post
I read that Windows 7 upgrade media will install a fully functional OS only on machines with some previous version of windows installed, but does that installation have to be a functioning one?

I am wondering if I first need to fix things that don't work in an existing XP installation before I can make a clean install (there is no data I need to keep there) using a win 7 upgrade DVD, or if the installation should work as long as the win 7 installation process can detect a previous OS.

What kind of problem in the old OS (except, obviously, not being a genuine/licensed installation) could prevent successful installation of Windows 7 using a Win 7 upgrade CD?
If you have a working O.S.: http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials...p-desktop.html

If you don't have a working O.S.: http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials...7-version.html
grss1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
upgrade, windows 7

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.